Switch Theme:

Drop run rules?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan





Denver, Colorado

So, I recently finished an ork blasta bommer from IA:8. Part of its rules state that it can carry 20 stormboyz, who can deploy from the aircraft using the 'drop run' rules.

Thing is, 'drop run' rules are never referenced again in IA:8. Maybe they were a universal special rule in 5th? I'm not sure.

At any rate, anyone have any idea what drop run rules are? If not, I'd assume using the rules for disembarking from a vendetta or storm raven would be reasonable substitution.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/09/08 22:03:31


"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Drop Run was not a rule from 5ed. It should be somewhere in IA:8
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






It isn't.

I think it might have been in an errata; but that is no longer available(nor is the model). The flyers were not even in the IA apoc books.

I do not have a legitimate copy of IA 8, my pdf is missing the Apoc rules appendices. It could possibly be found there.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




[Imperial Armour Apocalypse II page 104]

Spoiler:
Flying Transports
Models transported in a flyer may disembark only if they are jump infanty in what is called a 'drop run'. This is worked out in the same way as a bombing run, but instead of dropping bombs, any number of transported jump units my Deep Strike choosing a target point anywhere along the bombing corridor (much in the same way as a bomb), and then rolling for scatter. Normally infantry may only embark or disembark from a flyer using the Hover Mode rule (see page 94 of the Apocalypse rulebook).
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan





Denver, Colorado

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
It isn't.

I think it might have been in an errata; but that is no longer available(nor is the model). The flyers were not even in the IA apoc books.

I do not have a legitimate copy of IA 8, my pdf is missing the Apoc rules appendices. It could possibly be found there.


I also do not have a legitimate copy of IA8, but it lets me word search for 'drop run' and it only ever shows up in the description of ork bommers.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
col_impact wrote:
[Imperial Armour Apocalypse II page 104]

Spoiler:
Flying Transports
Models transported in a flyer may disembark only if they are jump infanty in what is called a 'drop run'. This is worked out in the same way as a bombing run, but instead of dropping bombs, any number of transported jump units my Deep Strike choosing a target point anywhere along the bombing corridor (much in the same way as a bomb), and then rolling for scatter. Normally infantry may only embark or disembark from a flyer using the Hover Mode rule (see page 94 of the Apocalypse rulebook).


Ok, thanks! It's odd that it's not anywhere in IA:8, that I can find.

To double check - if it is worked out in the same way as a bombing run, that means they scatter 1D6, not 2D6, correct?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/09/09 18:29:38


"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





No it says you do it via deep strike do it's 2d6
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 CrownAxe wrote:
No it says you do it via deep strike do it's 2d6


From the quote that's provided, it's worked out like a bombing run, except you drop people. If it's 1d6 scatter for the bombing run, then when you work the scatter for the drop run out there's a good argument that, by treating it like a bombing run, it should also be 1d6.scatter.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/09/10 19:07:44


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: