Switch Theme:

Questions about Spawn/Daemon Princes generated from the Chaos Boons Table.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







When the Chaos Codex was first written, a Character could roll on the big Chaos Boon D66 table under one of three conditions:
-When the Character possesses the Champion Of Chaos special rule, and kills an enemy character, be it through shooting, assault, or psychic shenanigans.
-When the Character was targeted by the Boon of Mutation Blessing.
-When the Character bought a Gift of Mutation pre-game.

Of these, the first one has the potential to turn a model into a Spawn or Prince, while the second has the potential to turn a model into a Spawn. Neither of them take place during the Movement Phase.

However, with the advent of Traitor's Hate, the Black Crusade Detachment lets you select any model with the Champion of Chaos and roll on the Chaos Boon table at the start of your player turn.

Questions I have include:
1) If a model is turned into a Spawn or Daemon Prince, is it allowed to move/act/assault normally (depending on the phase the model was affected in??
1a) If yes, can it still act "normally" regardless of whether the Champion in question was part of a unit that Infiltrated on Turn 1?
1b) If yes, can it still act "normally" regardless of whether the Champion in question was embarked in a Transport at the time it was transformed?
2) When a model is transformed, does it remain part of the same formation it was bought for/maintain the same Formation bonuses? For example, if a Warpsmith in a Cult of Destruction was transformed into a Spawn or Daemon Prince, would it still maintain access to Empyronic Guidance Rituals? Technically, these are not "model" special rules, but formation special rules.
2b) If "yes", would any Possessed Champion that became a Daemon Prince count as a valid Daemon Prince for the formation's "Baleful Nexus Of Warp Energies?"

Extra Credit: Technically, the Boon of Mutation blessing can apply to any character, regardless of whether it has the Champion of Chaos special rule. When the model transforms, it must be replaced, and does not retain any wargear, but does not count as being killed unless the new model is killed. Since it is technically a transport and not a mount, what happens when a Character on a Chariot gets transformed into a Spawn?
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





I think the way they decided to word the change is why it's dumb. By the RAW, it's a totally new model with only a tenuous link to the old model it originated from, but only because it has a rule that specifies so. So, by the RAW, this model can act normally regardless of whether the original model Scouted, was in a Transport, or the unit Infiltrated.

Previously I would have said that the model was NOT part of the formation it came from, but GW did seem to indicate that a detachment which spawns a unit has the unit spawned as part of the detachment (Tyranid FAQ, Tervigons). Until they specify otherwise, I take this to mean that the Daemon Prince or Chaos Spawn will still be a part of the formation that created it (in that Black Crusade Detachment this would make it Objective Secured).

For the Possessed formation, "their Daemon Prince" would suggest that this means "the Daemon Prince purchased for this formation", and not "a Daemon Prince that's a part of this formation".

For the Extra Credit, the character and the vehicle it rides upon are all counted as being a single model. Since the model is removed from play, that will include the Chariot too. Now, it doesn't count as slain, but the model is still removed.


-----------------------

That all said, RAI, I believe GW intended for the model to transform into a Daemon Prince or Spawn, and since these models cannot be part of a squad, they are moved away from them. In this way, I believe GW would intend for the new model to still count as having disembarked from a transport, scouted, or infiltrated. I still believe the answer to 2b would count (this new Daemon Prince is not "their" Daemon Prince), and the Extra Credit answer would remain the same.

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in lu
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought






I agree with everything Yarium said. I wanted to add to that though. What happens if you take a terminator annihilation force with a sorcerer and then you summon a unit with a ranged attack?Say flamers or a herald with a lash of despair. Would they also be part of the formation and thus be able to shoot twice? ad infinitum.
And would those also still part of the formations once transformed into a prince/spawn?
Same question for when the sorcerer or a conjured psyker turns into a greater daemon.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/09/12 22:51:22


 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





Well, that's why I qualified my answer with the Tyranid FAQ merely suggesting that, as it does not outright state it. However, given that, I'd have to say yes. So, yeah, if you Deep Strike in a unit of Flamers, and the model that summoned them was the Terminator Sorcerer, they can immediately make that shooting attack.

It's all very weird, but to me seems to be the way of it.

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







On another sidenote/as an amusing item:

What happens if Abbadon (who has the Mark of Chaos Ascendant) turns into a Spawn or Daemon Prince? Does he?

A: Become an unmarked Spawn/Daemon with no alignment?

Or does he?

B: Become a Spawn with all 4 Marks, or a Daemon with all four "Daemon of" special rules? Which would be hilarious when you combine Daemon of Nurgle and Daemon of Slaanesh with each other. "I add +3 to Run Movement...but I'm Slow and Purposeful!"
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





 MagicJuggler wrote:
On another sidenote/as an amusing item:

What happens if Abbadon (who has the Mark of Chaos Ascendant) turns into a Spawn or Daemon Prince? Does he?

A: Become an unmarked Spawn/Daemon with no alignment?

Or does he?

B: Become a Spawn with all 4 Marks, or a Daemon with all four "Daemon of" special rules? Which would be hilarious when you combine Daemon of Nurgle and Daemon of Slaanesh with each other. "I add +3 to Run Movement...but I'm Slow and Purposeful!"


That's the way I've always played it. His special rule gives him all four Marks of Chaos, so while he loses the special rule (so that the new Daemon Prince will not benefit from the marks), he will still be a Daemon Prince of each of those four gods. If you say that Abbadon's loss of special rules leads to him being unmarked and creating a non-aligned Daemon, then every Daemon Prince would transform into a non-aligned Daemon, as every character's Mark of Chaos is a special rule.

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

I thought Abbadabbadoobadon had a rule preventing him from getting the Spawn or Daemon Prince results.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in lu
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought






You wish, they removed that from the faq and even confirmed that he can suffer those results in the draft faq.
Also, lol.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/09/14 13:45:02


 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Jimsolo wrote:
I thought Abbadabbadoobadon had a rule preventing him from getting the Spawn or Daemon Prince results.


Used to, but they revoked it. :-(

Q: Does Abaddon (or any named HQ character) have to turn into a Daemon Prince or Chaos Spawn if he were to roll Dark Apotheosis or Spawnhood respectively on the Chaos Boon table?

A: Yes.
- Codex: Chaos Space Marine First Draft FAQ

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Got it; my bad.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in gr
Longtime Dakkanaut




Halandri

 Jimsolo wrote:
I thought Abbadabbadoobadon had a rule preventing him from getting the Spawn or Daemon Prince results.
I did read somewhere that it still exists in the dataslate version of abaddon. I have not confirmed if true, though.

Personally I like the idea of quad daemon Abaddon. The rules are slightly confusing, though. He is something like slow and purposeful (nurgle, akak can't run) but can run an extra 3 inches (slaanesh).
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: