Switch Theme:

Instant Death and other rules  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ro
Longtime Dakkanaut



Moscow, Russia

Say that Steve the Tyrannid Warrior hits Bubba the Wraithknight with his Bonesword. Steve has S4 and so can't hurt Bubba (who is T8), but his Bonesword gives him Instant Death on a 6. Does Steve still get an Instant Death result on Bubba if he rolls a 6?

Sheila the Toxicrene is also attacking Bubba, bringing him into her seductive tentacular embrace. She is in the Toxic Node formation, which means her attacks ID on 5 and 6. With either her S5 or Poison (2+), she wounds Bubba only on 6s. Does the Hypertoxic rule override this, and so she wounds (and IDs) Bubba on 5s and 6s, or only on 6s?

Thanks!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/09/27 13:56:01


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No. He has to be able to wound, or has to have a rule stating that "causes a wound regardless of toughness"

If she cannot wound on a 5, she cannot cause ID without a rule as above.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

Technically Steve indeed does have the ID rule when he rolls a 6, and Shiela has ID on a roll of a 5 against Bubba.
However, neither of those rolls cause a wound in the first place, so it matter not if they have ID.

It's the same as a Space Marine character with an activated Force Sword. All wounds caused by him will have the ID rule, but str4 cannot wound T8, so it matters not.

-

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/09/27 14:20:09


   
Made in ro
Longtime Dakkanaut



Moscow, Russia

Bone Sword says "any To Wound roll of a 6 causes Instant Death." It doesn't say "any successful Wound from a roll of a 6," hence my confusion.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/09/27 14:23:07


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes. And what does the ID rule require?

An Unsaved Wound

There is NO wound.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

Alcibiades wrote:
Bone Sword says "any To Wound roll of a 6 causes Instant Death." It doesn't say "any successful Wound from a roll of a 6," hence my confusion.

Indeed it DOES cause Instant Death. But that is irrelevant as it has no permission to cause a wound in this situation.
The rule for ID requires an unsaved wound be dealt to apply ID

-

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/09/27 14:41:23


   
Made in ro
Longtime Dakkanaut



Moscow, Russia

Poor Steve. :(
   
Made in es
Screaming Shining Spear





Alcibiades wrote:
Poor Steve. :(


But Steve is a dedicated servant of the hive mind and got upgraded with toxin sacs, now it can wound with his str 4 due poison and any wound will be ID to Bubba.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/09/27 15:47:01


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

Lord Perversor wrote:
Alcibiades wrote:
Poor Steve. :(


But Steve is a dedicated servant of the hive mind and got upgraded with toxin sacs, now it can wound with his str 4 due poison and any wound will be ID to Bubba.

Yep, that would work. Poison wounds on 6 on GMCs, meaning every possible wound Steve does to Bubba will do D3 wounds (cuz GMCs don't suffer ID, but rather take D3 wounds instead)

-

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/09/27 16:07:15


   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Poison: never leave home without it
   
Made in ro
Longtime Dakkanaut



Moscow, Russia

Great, thanks guys.

You're going down, Bubba, to the Bonesword/Toxin Sacs combo. YOU'RE GOIN' DOWN!!!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: