Switch Theme:

Can You Multicharge With A Single Model?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

Such as with an Imperial Knight, or in Kill Teams.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

Well this is a fun one. By the strictest reading of the rules, no.
This is because you must move the closest model in the straightest way possible to make contact with your primary target. Then you may direct "other models" in your unit to engage any secondary target.
While it is mathematically possible to "touch" more than 1 model in your initial move, the likelihood of it is so drastically improbable, that to try is to invite an argument. This is reinforced by the engaging of secondary targets being achieved only once the primary target is engaged. I believe it specifies "after" meaning that you cannot engage secondary targets "at the same time", nor does it allows the model to "swivel" to touch another unit once it has reached base to base with the primary target.

Where it gets really interesting is that the draft FAQ says it's possible, but fails to address how to achieve such a feat.

So, as usually, just talk with your opponent about it pre-game.
Personally, I would not have allowed it pre-draft FAQ, but now, I'd be fine with it. We would just move the model so it touches both units

-

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/10/03 18:24:25


   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

Can you provide a link to the specific FAQ? Thanks very much!

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

https://www.facebook.com/1575682476085719/photos/pcb.1610528622601104/1610527122601254/?type=3&theater

You're gonna have to scroll to the section about the Assault Phase. The question is literally just this:
"Q: Can a single model make a disordered charge against two or more enemy units?
A: Yes."

Thanks GeeDubs, care to expand on how?

-

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/10/03 18:50:26


   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

Thank you again, Galef. You're the bomb.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Galef wrote:
Well this is a fun one. By the strictest reading of the rules, no.
This is because you must move the closest model in the straightest way possible to make contact with your primary target. Then you may direct "other models" in your unit to engage any secondary target.
While it is mathematically possible to "touch" more than 1 model in your initial move, the likelihood of it is so drastically improbable, that to try is to invite an argument. This is reinforced by the engaging of secondary targets being achieved only once the primary target is engaged. I believe it specifies "after" meaning that you cannot engage secondary targets "at the same time", nor does it allows the model to "swivel" to touch another unit once it has reached base to base with the primary target.

There is also that nagging rule in bold for "Move Initial Charger"
That said, a charging model is not permitted to move into base contact with a model in a secondary target, unless it cannot move into base contact with an unengaged model in the primary target.

Emphasis theirs.

Then combine that with:
Once Overwatch is resolved, find the initial charger for the primary assault (the model in the charging unit closest to the primary target) and attempt to move it into base contact with the primary target, just as you would against a single target. If his charge fails, the charging unit doesn’t move at all.

And we get a situation where a lone Charger can only move in to base contact with a secondary target if it fails the Charge, but if it fails the Charge, they cannot move at all.

So, as you said, Galef, how the are we supposed to do that?

Do keep in mind, JNAProductions, that this FAQ Galef referred to is still under revision and has not been released as a final product, as far as I know. This incongruence has been brought up with them, but no further feedback from GW has been provided.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

 Charistoph wrote:
....this FAQ Galef referred to is still under revision and has not been released as a final product, as far as I know. This incongruence has been brought up with them, but no further feedback from GW has been provided.

Let's hope it's "under revision" and not that they are just waiting to make it seems that way. This draft solved many issues, which is great, but it has brought up some other issues and made others worse.

-

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/10/03 19:09:24


   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: