Switch Theme:

New Ta'unar Railgun Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Special rule on the railgun
Mass-induction Targeting: When firing against Super-heavy or Gargantuan targets, roll twice on the Destroyer Weapon Attack table, and pick the higher result.

- If i target a GC or SH but it scatters, onto some other unit, would I still get to roll twice on the D table and pick the higher result - because I fired at the Superheavy or GC.

Sure this is gaming the system and is WAAC but when you bring this guy to a game you're doing it for a reason other than fun.

RAI - No!, RAW - Yes?

Thoughts?

9000
8000
Knights / Assassins 800  
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

I can see how this can be interpreted both ways, although I'm inclined to say no on the basis that the Destroyer rolls aren't being made against SH or GC units.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





As the rules stand now, by RAW you would still get to roll twice. It doesn't matter that it scattered, the rule says if you targeted Super-heavy or Gargantuan targets. I agree that RAI suggests that you wouldn't, though.

It might be something to bring up with FW so they can adjust the wording.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






RAW is absolutely yes.

RAI is iffy.

The way the RAW is written also has the opposite effect; firing at a non-SH/GMC, and then scattering onto one, would result in a regular destroyer table roll.

So from this we could look at it as a targeting the really bigs uses different ammo or sub-routines that up the damage output. This resulting in a more devastating hit.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Ollanius Pius - Savior of the Emperor






Gathering the Informations.

 doctortom wrote:
As the rules stand now, by RAW you would still get to roll twice. It doesn't matter that it scattered, the rule says if you targeted Super-heavy or Gargantuan targets. I agree that RAI suggests that you wouldn't, though.

It might be something to bring up with FW so they can adjust the wording.

There's definitely some interesting wiggle room going on there.

Strictly speaking, it says that "When firing against Super-Heavy or Gargantuan targets" not "When targeting".

"Firing" is the moniker used in the BRB(specifically p30 and 31) to talk about a model that is considered to be using the whole of the Shooting Sequence table to make a Shooting attack. If you scatter off of the SHV or Gargantuans, then you would cease to be using the Shooting Sequence table as of step 4("Roll to Hit").

At least that's the argument I'd make if I were on the receiving end and someone wanted to try that nonsense of "I targeted it, so if it scattered onto infantry it gets its benefit".
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






No, you still very much are using the sequence post step 4 when you scatter off the target and onto a different unit.

To claim that you stop the shooting sequence when scattering onto a different unit would prevent to-wound, allocation, saves, casualties, and even the ability to select another weapon.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Ollanius Pius - Savior of the Emperor






Gathering the Informations.

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
No, you still very much are using the sequence post step 4 when you scatter off the target and onto a different unit.

To claim that you stop the shooting sequence when scattering onto a different unit would prevent to-wound, allocation, saves, casualties, and even the ability to select another weapon.

Since you can't seem to understand the intention of what I wrote, let me add a clarification:
"Firing" is the moniker used in the BRB(specifically p30 and 31) to talk about a model that is considered to be using the whole of the Shooting Sequence table to make a Shooting attack. If you scatter off of the SHV or Gargantuans, then you would cease to be using the Shooting Sequence table as of step 4("Roll to Hit") with regards to the Gargantuan or SHV.


Once you cease to be interacting with a SHV or Gargantuan, the rule ceases to apply. The special rule says nothing about targeting them, it says "FIRING".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/10/14 19:55:22


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Kanluwen wrote:
 Kommissar Kel wrote:
No, you still very much are using the sequence post step 4 when you scatter off the target and onto a different unit.

To claim that you stop the shooting sequence when scattering onto a different unit would prevent to-wound, allocation, saves, casualties, and even the ability to select another weapon.

Since you can't seem to understand the intention of what I wrote, let me add a clarification:
"Firing" is the moniker used in the BRB(specifically p30 and 31) to talk about a model that is considered to be using the whole of the Shooting Sequence table to make a Shooting attack. If you scatter off of the SHV or Gargantuans, then you would cease to be using the Shooting Sequence table as of step 4("Roll to Hit") with regards to the Gargantuan or SHV.


Once you cease to be interacting with a SHV or Gargantuan, the rule ceases to apply. The special rule says nothing about targeting them, it says "FIRING".


But you're still dealing with hitting something you didn't target, and the rule was referring to targets.
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





I think the intent is that if you hit a Super Heavy or Gargantuan that you had also declared as a target, then you get the bonus. The idea being that this thing is doing some special calculations in order to hit weak points in its opponent's armour.

If you scatter off of it into other things, well then the system failed. If you were targeting something else and then scattered into it, then the system was never doing its thing in the first place.

So; RAI, I would say you must target AND hit the Super Heavy you were targeting. Even targeting one Super Heavy and scattering into another wouldn't do it!

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

Naaris wrote:
Special rule on the railgun
Mass-induction Targeting: When firing against Super-heavy or Gargantuan targets, roll twice on the Destroyer Weapon Attack table, and pick the higher result.


This rule doesn't actually say "targeting" so I think some of these above arguments need to be re-thought and rephrased.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Elric Greywolf wrote:
Naaris wrote:
Special rule on the railgun
Mass-induction Targeting: When firing against Super-heavy or Gargantuan targets, roll twice on the Destroyer Weapon Attack table, and pick the higher result.

This rule doesn't actually say "targeting" so I think some of these above arguments need to be re-thought and rephrased.

To "fire against" something you have to target it. The reference doesn't say anything about it being successful or not.

Still, if you want to keep friends, just reroll on the results for the Super-Heavies.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Elric Greywolf wrote:
Naaris wrote:
Special rule on the railgun
Mass-induction Targeting: When firing against Super-heavy or Gargantuan targets, roll twice on the Destroyer Weapon Attack table, and pick the higher result.


This rule doesn't actually say "targeting" so I think some of these above arguments need to be re-thought and rephrased.


Not really, it says Super-heavy or Gargantuan targets. The only way they are targets is if they had been targeted with the shooting attack.
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

RAI seems pretty clear they intended for the special rule to be used against superheavies and gargantuans.

Unfortunately, that's not what they wrote.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: