Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/22 17:19:39
Subject: Clarifications on Multicharges
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
I've seen about three different interpretations for multicharges, and all of them pretty different. I want to try to get some advice so we can clear this up.
Say Unit A wants to charge units X and Y. Unit X is 6'' away from Unit A, and Unit Y is 8'' away from Unit A. For this scenario, we won't worry about how far X and Y are from each other. When declaring the charge, obviously it's better to declare unit X as the primary, because it's closer. The rules state that if the primary target is not reached, the charge fails. This would likely mean that if, for some reason, I had chosen unit Y as the primary, and rolled a 7 for charge, the charge would fail as even though the distance was enough to reach unit X.
Now, in the way I've always played it, I would have to roll an 8 to reach both units. However, going over the rules, this is never said to be the case. The rules state "a charging model is not permitted to move into base contact with a model in a secondary target, unless it cannot move into base contact with an unengaged model in the primary target." This sounds like I have to engage every model in the primary target (that I can reach) before moving any models to the secondary target. Is this accurate? This makes multicharging two large units almost impossible.
After this, the rules say "if the initial charger moves into base contact with the primary target, remaining models can charge models belongong to either the primary or secondary target units." The rules also say models need to maintain unit coherency as well as obey the rule about engaging every enemy model in base contact. Other standard rules need to be followed.
Here's my next question, considering all of the above. Say unit X and Y are 6'' apart, and I roll a 12 so the distance isn't an issue. I can easily reach both, but I must charge unit X first, and I must maintain unit coherency. Say I do manage to lock in all the models in unit X, can I make a conga line to reach Y? I don't think I can because I have to bring every model as close to the combat as a can, as per the normal charge rules.
Does all of this sound accurate?
|
"The undead ogre believes the sack of pies is your parrot, and proceeds to eat them. The pies explode, and so does his head. The way is clear." - Me, DMing what was supposed to be a serious Pathfinder campaign.
6000 - Death Skulls, Painted
2000 - Admech/Skitarii, Painted |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/22 17:57:06
Subject: Clarifications on Multicharges
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
If a charging model can't make base to base with the primary charging target, then it can start charging into the other declared units.
Also GW errata'ed the charge rules and removed the requirement to remain in coherency (in the official GW BRB FAQ on their webiste, not the draft one on Facebook)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/22 18:10:25
Subject: Clarifications on Multicharges
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
CrownAxe wrote:If a charging model can't make base to base with the primary charging target, then it can start charging into the other declared units.
Also GW errata'ed the charge rules and removed the requirement to remain in coherency (in the official GW BRB FAQ on their webiste, not the draft one on Facebook)
What he said.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/22 21:14:23
Subject: Clarifications on Multicharges
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
They didn't entirely remove that requirement. They only removed it where it is impossible.
Imagine an Infantry Unit with a Jump Infantry Independent Character charging over an impassable river. If the Character is the closest model to the target he could complete the charge, but the other models in his unit might need to go quite a distance to find a bridge or ford to cross the river and not be able to make coherency. This type of case is the only time you are allowed to be out of coherency during a charge.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/23 05:07:11
Subject: Clarifications on Multicharges
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Cal Hoskins wrote:They didn't entirely remove that requirement. They only removed it where it is impossible.
Imagine an Infantry Unit with a Jump Infantry Independent Character charging over an impassable river. If the Character is the closest model to the target he could complete the charge, but the other models in his unit might need to go quite a distance to find a bridge or ford to cross the river and not be able to make coherency. This type of case is the only time you are allowed to be out of coherency during a charge.
Not true.
If in a Multiple Charge, you can no longer get models moved by Charging in to Base contact with the Primary Target, but can get them in to Base contact with a Secondary Target. However, in order to get them in to Base contact with the Secondary Target, you have to go out of Unit Coherency. This is then allowed by that same standard as set by the Errata is being used for Multiple Charges.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/23 07:19:02
Subject: Clarifications on Multicharges
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
If you move a charging model such that it is out of coherency when you could instead move it into coherency, how are you not breaking the errata version of the rule?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/23 15:26:55
Subject: Clarifications on Multicharges
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Cal Hoskins wrote:If you move a charging model such that it is out of coherency when you could instead move it into coherency, how are you not breaking the errata version of the rule?
You are permitted to move the models in to base contact with Secondary Targets if you cannot move in to base contact with the Primary. There is the standard of, " If possible, a charging model must move into base contact with an enemy model within reach that is not already in base contact with another charging model. If there are no such enemy models in reach, the model must move into base contact with an enemy model that is already in base contact with a charging model." to consider in this.
The question then becomes, which standard do you then violate? Getting as many models in the Charging unit in to base to base, or unit coherency?
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
|