No.
Those rules aren't a rite, they are additional rules when using the "legio cybernetica battle cohort appendix".
Legion of steel rule says you have to take castellax for your compulsory troops in pairs minimum, and that you have to take a unit with a cybernetica cortex before you can start taking non-cortex units for the
HS and
FA slots.
On page 110 of the mechanicum red book in the 'cybernetica cortex' rules box-out, it has a rule called 'machine creature' which says...
units made up of models with a cybernetica cortex can never count as scoring units, no matter the force organisation chart being used or the particular rules of the mission involved.