Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/04 21:07:00
Subject: Can I take a Forgeworld Contemptor Mortis Dreadnought aboard a Stormraven?
|
 |
Ultramarine Scout with Sniper Rifle
|
I played a game proxying one to see how I liked it before I bought/converted the model, and took it in the Stormraven grapples before thinking about whether the rules allow it.
I am currently under the persuasion that I cannot, only because the codex does not mention Contemptor Mortises, although I might be wrong.
Also, if one were to say any dreadnought can be taken, one might infer that a Leviathan could be taken in the grapples, although I feel like that is against the spirit of the rules due to its huge size.
I'm almost positive a regular Contemptor Dreadnought can, because it has rules pg 53 of the Angels of Death supplement saying it can take the place of any dreadnought from the SM Codex.
But the Contemptor Mortis rules are a bit older and don't specify that.
Fluffwise I think they should be allowed, because the Contemptors can be taken aboard, and they're the same size, weight, and similar configuration.
Any other opinions?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/04 21:25:18
Subject: Can I take a Forgeworld Contemptor Mortis Dreadnought aboard a Stormraven?
|
 |
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say
|
Sure. I wouldn't try it in tournaments but it would probably be ok in fun games
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/04 21:32:42
Subject: Can I take a Forgeworld Contemptor Mortis Dreadnought aboard a Stormraven?
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
The reference in Angels of Death refers to taking a Contemptor from Angels of Death in Detachments or Formations, not Transport Capacity.
For a much simpler answer though, why not just refer to the Stormraven's datasheet?
"Transport Capacity: The Stormraven Gunship can carry two separate units: one unit of up to 12 models in its cabin, plus a single Dreadnought of any type in its rear grapples."
Is a Contemptor Mortis Dreadnought a Dreadnought of any type? Yes, yes it is.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/04 22:58:35
Subject: Re:Can I take a Forgeworld Contemptor Mortis Dreadnought aboard a Stormraven?
|
 |
Ultramarine Scout with Sniper Rifle
|
For a much simpler answer though, why not just refer to the Stormraven's datasheet?
"Transport Capacity: The Stormraven Gunship can carry two separate units: one unit of up to 12 models in its cabin, plus a single Dreadnought of any type in its rear grapples."
Is a Contemptor Mortis Dreadnought a Dreadnought of any type? Yes, yes it is.
Ahhh, very nice, thank you. So even a Leviathan? That sounds pretty sweet.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/05 00:00:53
Subject: Re:Can I take a Forgeworld Contemptor Mortis Dreadnought aboard a Stormraven?
|
 |
Did Fulgrim Just Behead Ferrus?
|
Regarding the Leviathan, I would hedge my bets on that one and email Forgeworld to be sure.
While it's 40K rules are silent on the subject (so it's technically allowed), the published 30K rules specify that it cannot take a normal drop pod as a transport due to its size. Likely, it can hitch a ride on a Stormraven, but I always say it's better to be safe, as Forgeworld is even worse than GW at considering how their stuff interacts with other stuff.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/11/05 02:07:37
"Through the darkness of future past, the magician longs to see.
One chants out between two worlds: Fire, walk with me." - Twin Peaks
"You listen to me. While I will admit to a certain cynicism, the fact is that I am a naysayer and hatchetman in the fight against violence. I pride myself in taking a punch and I'll gladly take another because I choose to live my life in the company of Gandhi and King. My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method... is love. I love you Sheriff Truman." - Twin Peaks |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/05 01:13:22
Subject: Re:Can I take a Forgeworld Contemptor Mortis Dreadnought aboard a Stormraven?
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
valen2258 wrote:Ahhh, very nice, thank you. So even a Leviathan? That sounds pretty sweet.
I would agree with Tannhauser42's sentiment, though strictly speaking yes, a Leviathan would seem to be able to be transported by a Stormraven, so far as the written rule is concerned.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/07 22:56:30
Subject: Re:Can I take a Forgeworld Contemptor Mortis Dreadnought aboard a Stormraven?
|
 |
Ultramarine Scout with Sniper Rifle
|
I'll model on a couple extra engines
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/11/07 22:58:05
|
|
 |
 |
|