Switch Theme:

Ordnance on Tanks // Shooting with Monoliths  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Been Around the Block






Hey everyone! I'm relatively new to 7th and have a (possibly dumb) question about the Necron Monolith. Sorry if this has already been discussed, I did a quick search and couldn't see anything though.

So, whenever people talk about the Monolith they mention that a downside is that when you fire the Particle Whip (Ordnance 1) you can then only Snap Shot with the 4 Gauss Flux Arcs (Heavy 3). Indeed, the rulebook clearly states:

"... a vehicle that fires an Ordnance weapon can only make Snap Shots with its other weapons that turn."
Small rulebook, page 73, Vehicles, Vehicles & Ordnance Weapons.


However, to me that sounds like you are only forced to make Snap Shots after you have fired the Ordnance weapon. So what's to stop you from shooting with the 4 Gauss Flux Arcs first (at full Ballistic Skill) and then shooting with the Particle Whip afterwards? When discussing the shooting phase and shooting with multiple weapons in the same unit, the rulebook does clearly state:

"Remember, you can choose the order in which you fire and resolve the differently named weapons your unit is equipped with, so you may want to consider shooting the weapons with the shortest range first."
Small rulebook, page 36, The Shooting Phase, Select Another Weapon.


So the game rules are set up to imply that your shooting does not all happen at the same time, and that the order in which you shoot different weapons determines the effects of your shooting and alters the game state for later shooting (this is more obviously seen when concerning multiple units, but clearly applies to different weapons in individual squads too). Therefore, if you shoot with the Particle Whip last you should still be able to shoot at full Ballistic Skill with the Gauss Flux Arcs before hand because if the Ordnance hasn't been fired yet then the rule enforcing Snap Shots has not been called into effect.

That's my interpretation of the rules anyway, what do you guys think? Is there a rule or FAQ which I have missed?

Cap'n Bargutsa's Krakenmaw Tribe: 4.5k of Ogors

Court of the Drowned Throne: In progress Flesh Eater Courts

Legions of the Novkha Dynasty: 2k of Necrons 
   
Made in gb
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot





The grim darkness of far Fenland

 Fentlegen wrote:
Indeed, the rulebook clearly states:

"... a vehicle that fires an Ordnance weapon can only make Snap Shots with its other weapons that turn."
Small rulebook, page 73, Vehicles, Vehicles & Ordnance Weapons.
I think you've answered your own question. "...can only make Snap Shots with its other weapons that turn". Order of firing doesn't matter - other weapons can only be fired as Snap Shots that turn. Fire a weapon at normal BS first, and that prevents you from firing the Ordnance weapon - otherwise you'd be breaking the rule quoted above.

Dark Angels/Deathwing - just getting started!
Space Marines - Stark Crusaders 4500pts/PL244 (2700pts painted)
Eldar - Biel Tan 2000pts
Space Wolves 1500pts

My Blog - mostly 40k, some HeroQuest 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

From the Main Rulebook Draft FAQ:

[Thumb - ordnance.jpg]


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block






 Whittlesey40k wrote:
 Fentlegen wrote:
Indeed, the rulebook clearly states:

"... a vehicle that fires an Ordnance weapon can only make Snap Shots with its other weapons that turn."
Small rulebook, page 73, Vehicles, Vehicles & Ordnance Weapons.
I think you've answered your own question. "...can only make Snap Shots with its other weapons that turn". Order of firing doesn't matter - other weapons can only be fired as Snap Shots that turn. Fire a weapon at normal BS first, and that prevents you from firing the Ordnance weapon - otherwise you'd be breaking the rule quoted above.

Yeah but my point was that wording can be interpreted as either (as you say) "if you want to fire the Ordnance everything else has to Snap Shot", or as "once the vehicle fires its Ordnance weapon, other weapons must Snap Shot".


Thanks Ghaz, that clears it up without a doubt. On a side note, where can you find FAQ drafts? I keep seeing people mention them but can't find them, just the completed Erratas on GW's website.

Cap'n Bargutsa's Krakenmaw Tribe: 4.5k of Ogors

Court of the Drowned Throne: In progress Flesh Eater Courts

Legions of the Novkha Dynasty: 2k of Necrons 
   
Made in gb
Lethal Lhamean




Birmingham

 Fentlegen wrote:
 Whittlesey40k wrote:
 Fentlegen wrote:
Indeed, the rulebook clearly states:

"... a vehicle that fires an Ordnance weapon can only make Snap Shots with its other weapons that turn."
Small rulebook, page 73, Vehicles, Vehicles & Ordnance Weapons.
I think you've answered your own question. "...can only make Snap Shots with its other weapons that turn". Order of firing doesn't matter - other weapons can only be fired as Snap Shots that turn. Fire a weapon at normal BS first, and that prevents you from firing the Ordnance weapon - otherwise you'd be breaking the rule quoted above.

Yeah but my point was that wording can be interpreted as either (as you say) "if you want to fire the Ordnance everything else has to Snap Shot", or as "once the vehicle fires its Ordnance weapon, other weapons must Snap Shot".


Thanks Ghaz, that clears it up without a doubt. On a side note, where can you find FAQ drafts? I keep seeing people mention them but can't find them, just the completed Erratas on GW's website.

There on GW's Facebook page. You're probably better of searching the forum here for the thread on the FAQ's as it has links to all of them.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: