Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/20 00:32:08
Subject: Grav Chute Insertion Debate
|
 |
Imperial Recruit in Training
|
I and a friend of mine have been arguing recently over how Grav Chute insertion works. He has been using the argument that because the Grav Chute insertion rule never mentions zooming that they can not use Grav Chute Insertion while zooming because it is disembarking, also stating that they cannot as it counts as disembarking(Yes) and therefore was disallowed by the BRB. The BRB says that units cannot disembark from a flyer if it moves more than 6" but codex overrides rulebook in this case no? Otherwise Invasion Beams would be equally useless as they are technically disembarking aswell. Also this faq,
Q: Can units embarked on a Flyer (Transport) make use of any special disembarkation rules for their passengers (such as Skies of Blood or Grav Chute Insertion) if the vehicle has suffered a Crew Shaken/Stunned or Locked Velocity? (p81)
A: Yes.
Thanks for Coyote81 for this answer, "Because the Questions asked if it applied to locked velocity flyers, and you can only be locked velocity if your already zooming. Ergo, yes you can disembark from a zooming & locked velocity flyer."
Which one of us is correct?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/20 01:02:08
Subject: Grav Chute Insertion Debate
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
You cannot ordinarily disembark from a vehicle if it has moved more than 6" or, unless otherwise stated, a zooming flyer.
Grav Chute Insertion does not "otherwise state" for the 'Zoom' rule restrictions.
Basically it's only there for a Valkyrie or Vendetta in Hover mode that has moved more than 6".
And as for Invasion Beams, it explicitly states, "even though it is Zooming".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/20 01:30:24
Subject: Re:Grav Chute Insertion Debate
|
 |
Imperial Recruit in Training
|
I see your point, but how about the FAQ? Would this mean that Grav Chute insertion can be used while zooming via locked velocity but not while zooming regularly?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/20 01:53:59
Subject: Grav Chute Insertion Debate
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
I don't believe Locked Velocity is a rule in 7th edition. I think you're looking at an FAQ, or a discussion based thereupon, from 6th edition.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/11/20 02:01:18
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/20 02:13:19
Subject: Re:Grav Chute Insertion Debate
|
 |
Imperial Recruit in Training
|
Ah, yes you are correct good sir. That FAQ was from the 6th ed BRB FAQ v1.5. Thanks for the assist. Automatically Appended Next Post: Actually before this is closed, Would the codex not override the rulebook in this case? Specific codex rules trump general army rules?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/11/20 02:27:23
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/20 02:32:30
Subject: Re:Grav Chute Insertion Debate
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Mrµ wrote:Actually before this is closed, Would the codex not override the rulebook in this case? Specific codex rules trump general army rules?
No, because the Grav Chute Insertion rule is clearly in reference to the restriction on disembarking from vehicles that have moved more than 6" and makes no reference to Zooming flyers, which 'Zoom' specifically mentions is required to disembark from a Zooming flyer.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/20 02:36:38
Subject: Re:Grav Chute Insertion Debate
|
 |
Imperial Recruit in Training
|
Ah, thanks mate, Glad to have clarification on this.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/20 02:38:00
Subject: Re:Grav Chute Insertion Debate
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Mrµ wrote:Actually before this is closed, Would the codex not override the rulebook in this case? Specific codex rules trump general army rules?
You may wish to read THIS to see that a codex does not always override the rulebook.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/20 04:20:31
Subject: Re:Grav Chute Insertion Debate
|
 |
Imperial Recruit in Training
|
I found this... Welp.
http://www.belloflostsouls.net/2016/08/40k-new-astra-militarum-grey-knight-faq-spotted.html
Yes its only a draft but it clear shows that using Grav Chutes while zooming was RAI.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/11/20 04:24:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/20 06:35:03
Subject: Grav Chute Insertion Debate
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Maybe. I think the draft FAQ has been somewhat inconsistent in terms of going with clear RAI or RAW.
I think it's often hard to say with complete certainty what a given rule's intent was, but certainly if you've agreed to play by the draft FAQ they are the rules you should follow, "warts and all" as the saying goes.
Unless agreed otherwise, of course.
|
|
 |
 |
|