Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/25 19:06:12
Subject: Conversion field
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I'm a little confused about it's wording. It says that if an invul save was passed by it's bearer all units within D6 of him must take a blind check and friendly units can reroll the result. Does it also apply to a unit the bearer is in? Like, say, techpriest dominus + a bunch of skitarii vanguard as a single unit?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/25 21:30:38
Subject: Re:Conversion field
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
The bearer's unit is indeed always a unit within D6" of himself, however - from the Blind special rule (p159):
Should the attacking unit hit themselves, we assume they are prepared and they automatically pass the test.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/25 23:24:23
Subject: Re:Conversion field
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Well the thing is the unit is not actually attacking with anything - conversion field is not a weapon. A model just has to pass an invul, that's it. The rule just says
all units within D6 must test as if they had been hit by a weapon with the Blind special rule
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/26 00:14:49
Subject: Re:Conversion field
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Liberal_Perturabo wrote:Well the thing is the unit is not actually attacking with anything - conversion field is not a weapon. A model just has to pass an invul, that's it. The rule just says
all units within D6 must test as if they had been hit by a weapon with the Blind special rule
I don't see how those two rules don't work together
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/27 02:25:15
Subject: Re:Conversion field
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Liberal_Perturabo wrote:Well the thing is the unit is not actually attacking with anything - conversion field is not a weapon. A model just has to pass an invul, that's it. The rule just says
all units within D6 must test as if they had been hit by a weapon with the Blind special rule
Who's causing the Blind? That would be the attacking unit in context of that rule. Therefore the bearer's unit would autopass the Blind test.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/28 11:01:40
Subject: Re:Conversion field
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Fragile wrote:Liberal_Perturabo wrote:Well the thing is the unit is not actually attacking with anything - conversion field is not a weapon. A model just has to pass an invul, that's it. The rule just says
all units within D6 must test as if they had been hit by a weapon with the Blind special rule
Who's causing the Blind? That would be the attacking unit in context of that rule. Therefore the bearer's unit would autopass the Blind test.
The unit(well, model) that succeeded its invulnerable Save is the source of the "as if they had been hit by a weapon with the Blind rule".
Who caused the wound that triggered the save doesn't matter; it is the act of the Save that tests for Blind.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/28 19:17:04
Subject: Re:Conversion field
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:Fragile wrote:Liberal_Perturabo wrote:Well the thing is the unit is not actually attacking with anything - conversion field is not a weapon. A model just has to pass an invul, that's it. The rule just says
all units within D6 must test as if they had been hit by a weapon with the Blind special rule
Who's causing the Blind? That would be the attacking unit in context of that rule. Therefore the bearer's unit would autopass the Blind test.
The unit(well, model) that succeeded its invulnerable Save is the source of the "as if they had been hit by a weapon with the Blind rule".
Who caused the wound that triggered the save doesn't matter; it is the act of the Save that tests for Blind.
Im not sure if you missed the point here or agree with the point. The model that made its save is causing the Blind effect. Therefore, it would be the attacking unit under the Blind rule,
Should the attacking unit hit themselves, we assume they are prepared and they automatically pass the test.
and would autopass the test by rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/28 22:59:07
Subject: Conversion field
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
I was Agreeing, But read the Second Sentence as Answering the first in a way that conflicts with the answer given.
I had read the Answer as the unit attacking the bearer would be causing the Blind. As in "Who did the Thing? That would be the guys who actually shot." as opposed to "Who did the Thing? They are the ones considered to have done the thing". That made the next sentence seem a non-sequitur.
I was then Clarifying that your answer was correct in a simplified set of statements. The Bearer(and his unit) is the "attacking unit" from the Blind rule(the ones what did the thing).
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
|