Switch Theme:

Defence lines and cover save  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Been Around the Block




In the rulebook you can read about defence lines that "a model in cover behind a defence line has a 4+ cover save". What does this mean? Does the model have to be in base contact with, say an Aegis Defence line, or how close does it have to be?
And for a Tidewall shieldline (a defence line that you actually can stand on), does the model have to be on it, or can it stand behind and get the save?
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






The definition of "in cover behind" is part of the second paragraph of the Terrain Types rules, on page 108.

"In cover behind" means it is at least 25% obscured by that terrain piece. For example, with a Aegis, if the firing model is on the opposite side of the barricade, the model being attacked will normally get a save (exceptions for very large or tall models). But if both models were on the same side of the line, the model being attacked wouldn't gain the cover save, even if they were in base contact with the Aegis.

Not 100% sure on the Tidewall, as I don't have those rules to hand.
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




The Tidewall is subject to the very same terrain type rule as the aegis defence line.

So according to what you say a model can be quite far off from the defence line and still get a 4+ cover save instead of a normal terrain 5+ (and +2 go to ground) as long as it is at least 25% obscured by it?
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





mattswe wrote:
The Tidewall is subject to the very same terrain type rule as the aegis defence line.

So according to what you say a model can be quite far off from the defence line and still get a 4+ cover save instead of a normal terrain 5+ (and +2 go to ground) as long as it is at least 25% obscured by it?

This is technically correct.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut



uk

1. If the wall is inbetween both units then its 4+ save for both.
2. Your unit is at the wall within 2" (I use old 5th edition rule for this), then you can see over it. My unit counts what ever terrain its in, your unit is in 4+ cover.
3 With a tide wall if a unit is behind it then you have to see how high the barrier is, it probs will block line of sight.

 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






licclerich wrote:
1. If the wall is inbetween both units then its 4+ save for both.
2. Your unit is at the wall within 2" (I use old 5th edition rule for this), then you can see over it. My unit counts what ever terrain its in, your unit is in 4+ cover.
3 With a tide wall if a unit is behind it then you have to see how high the barrier is, it probs will block line of sight.

Just note that 1 and 2 are house rules.

Going just by the rules of the rulebook, you look at the target model from the perspective of any part of the shooting model's body. If the target is more than 25% obscured, it gets the save.

This means there can be some situations where the terrain is a fair distance away from both units and might still provide cover. Or the target unit could be close to the terrain but the shooting unit is on such an elevation that they can see more than 75% of the target, so no cover.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 Cheexsta wrote:
This means there can be some situations where the terrain is a fair distance away from both units and might still provide cover. Or the target unit could be close to the terrain but the shooting unit is on such an elevation that they can see more than 75% of the target, so no cover.


Or, technically, since the LOS is now any part to any part, The top of a model's head might negate cover save while any lower bit would grant one.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: