Switch Theme:

Interaction Between Locii in the Warpflame Host  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ie
Regular Dakkanaut




With the new Thousands Sons and Daemons release, I have a couple of questions:

1) How do the new different locii interact with the warpflame Host (if at all)?

2) How do copies of the same locii from the parent Herald work within the units in a Warpflame Host, given that they can stack?
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

1) They interact the same way the old ones do. I.e. Host Herald extends whatever locus he has to all units of the Host within range.

2) The same locus does not stack, but you can stack several different loci stack with each other. So you can have the Conjuration locus give +1 str to the host and a different Herald with the Transmutantion loci making HIS unit split twice. But you cannot have 1 Conjuration loci grant a unit +2 str to witchfires.

-

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/12/12 16:14:34


   
Made in gb
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel





Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!

The new locii's can't be taken in the warpflame host.

Ghorros wrote:
The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
 Marmatag wrote:
All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

 mrhappyface wrote:
The new locii's can't be taken in the warpflame host.

Please explain. The new loci's can be taken by ANY Herald. In fact, the Transmutation one specifically replaces the Daemon codex entry, since it make no sense now with the Split rule.
Wrath of Magnus & Curse of the Wulfen are not only compatible with each other and the Daemon Codex, they have to be in order to function

   
Made in gb
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel





Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!

The warpflame host only gives you permition to use the original three lociis. I know this because as soon as the new lociis were released I thought about having a warpflame host where all 9 units of horrors could aplit into 4 blues however it doesn't allow you to use them.

Although the loci which replaced the old one can be used as the warpflame host gives you permition to use it.

Ghorros wrote:
The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
 Marmatag wrote:
All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

 mrhappyface wrote:
The warpflame host only gives you permition to use the original three lociis.

Ah, ok this is what I missed

 mrhappyface wrote:

I know this because as soon as the new lociis were released I thought about having a warpflame host where all 9 units of horrors could aplit into 4 blues however it doesn't allow you to use them.

Although the loci which replaced the old one can be used as the warpflame host gives you permition to use it.

I thought the Transmogrification locus WAS the one that doubled splits and replaces one the is in the Codex that the WF host calls out as being able to be used. Can we check this?

-

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/12/12 16:37:18


   
Made in gb
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel





Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!

No transmogrification is basically the same but adds hits for blues and brimstones, it's the loci of creation which produces 4 blues unfortunetly. :(

Ghorros wrote:
The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
 Marmatag wrote:
All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

Ah. lame then

   
Made in gb
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel





Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!

Yeah, I hope they Errata that, not that I would ever take 9x11 units of pink horrors for potential 396 blue horrors and 792 brimstones. :3

Ghorros wrote:
The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
 Marmatag wrote:
All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





The Warpflame Host only limits the original 3 locii to having 12" range. It doesn't prevent you from taking the other locii they just won't have the 12" range effect.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

 CrownAxe wrote:
The Warpflame Host only limits the original 3 locii to having 12" range. It doesn't prevent you from taking the other locii they just won't have the 12" range effect.

Oh, good point. So you could have the Herald with the Locus of Creation in the Formation's unit of Pink Horrors with 4 E-Flamers and 4 units of Flamers, for example.
The Pinks would double split because the Herald is with them, and the other units don't care about that Locus anyway, so they could do whatever.

-

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/12/12 19:29:31


   
Made in gb
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel





Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!

Yeah you can still use it but without the formation bonus, but then you waste the reason for taking the formation.

Ghorros wrote:
The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
 Marmatag wrote:
All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 mrhappyface wrote:
Yeah you can still use it but without the formation bonus, but then you waste the reason for taking the formation.

The +1str to all shooting and witchfires is the reason to take that formation
   
Made in gb
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel





Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!

That is a big part of the formation that a strangely forgot about when writing that post.

Ghorros wrote:
The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
 Marmatag wrote:
All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: