| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/28 13:29:59
Subject: Single model multicharge and Multiple combat results
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Hi yesterday I played a game with my KDK vs Tau and I wonder about a few things if we got it right:
Can a bloodthirster of insensate rage declare a charge vs multiple units as the base is big enough to touch all them at the same time?
and second,
My bloodthirster of IR was after that in CC with a unit of drones, a unit of fire warriors and a riptide. As apparently the riptide is not fearless, I directed all my attacks on the fire warriors (I killed 4), do all of the units take a morale check with the -4 modifier, and if they all fail the morale check (like happened) does the bloodthirster get to make a sweeping advance on the 3 unit destroying them all in 1 big blow? (getting me a lot of sweet and delicious blood tithe)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/28 14:00:00
Subject: Single model multicharge and Multiple combat results
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It is impossible to contact more than one unit, as in a multiple charge only the models after the closest have permission to contact the secondary units.
Yes, multiple combat rules state it clearly.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/28 14:37:36
Subject: Single model multicharge and Multiple combat results
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:It is impossible to contact more than one unit, as in a multiple charge only the models after the closest have permission to contact the secondary units.
Yes, multiple combat rules state it clearly.
cheers mate, makes sense.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/28 16:19:46
Subject: Single model multicharge and Multiple combat results
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
minisnatcher wrote:
Can a bloodthirster of insensate rage declare a charge vs multiple units as the base is big enough to touch all them at the same time?
Yes, you can declare the Charge. Rather pointless since since you can't get in to base contact with a Secondary Target to lock them in combat, but that assumes such a declaration is optional.
minisnatcher wrote:My bloodthirster of IR was after that in CC with a unit of drones, a unit of fire warriors and a riptide. As apparently the riptide is not fearless, I directed all my attacks on the fire warriors (I killed 4), do all of the units take a morale check with the -4 modifier, and if they all fail the morale check (like happened) does the bloodthirster get to make a sweeping advance on the 3 unit destroying them all in 1 big blow? (getting me a lot of sweet and delicious blood tithe)
If they are all in the same combat, they all take a Morale Check. This is rather explicit in the Mulitple Combat rules in the first paragraph of Assault Results.
The second paragraph of the same section then details when/if you can make a Sweeping Advance. Note that Fearless units that are still locked in combat with a unit you would like to Sweep with will prevent it.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/29 13:55:13
Subject: Re:Single model multicharge and Multiple combat results
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
So have been digigng a bit further , as I want to find in the rulebook what you guys are telling me (that way I learn more) ...
So this are the rules involved (i think)
Once overwatch is resolved, find the initial target for the primary assault (the model in the charging unit closest to the primary target) and attempt to move it into base contact with the primary target just as you would against a single target.
then I checked the single target charge:
Charging models ...., and cannot move into base contact with enemy models from a unit they are not charging
So still okay here for the chargemove here
back to the multiple:
If the initial charger charger succesfully moves into base contact with the primary target, remaining models can charge models belonging to either the primary or secondary target units, as long as they follow the rules for moving charging models.
=> So far it seems I can do the multicharge with one model...
Then I read this:
That said a charging model is not permitted to move into base contact with a model in a secondary target, unless it cannot move into base contact with an unengaged model in the primary target.
So the question becomes, does this line in the rulebook prohibit moving into base contact with the primary target if the model would also touch a base in the secondary target?
To give the example x are is my blood thirster and 1,2,3 are the (prim,sec,tertiary) targets:
I declare this charge
.............2
x =>....... 1
.............3
Resulting in touching bases in 1,2,3 like this
2
x1
3
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/12/29 13:56:56
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/29 16:50:05
Subject: Single model multicharge and Multiple combat results
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You're given permission to move the first model into contact with the primary unit
Find permission to move it into base contact with any other unit
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/30 13:52:36
Subject: Single model multicharge and Multiple combat results
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:You're given permission to move the first model into contact with the primary unit
Find permission to move it into base contact with any other unit
So you cannot do anything that the rulebook does not say you can. Makes sense again  ... I was looking for something that specifically said I couldn't (and getting confused in the meantime), but I guess that is not how this rule-set works.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/30 13:54:37
Subject: Single model multicharge and Multiple combat results
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It's not how any set works
They all have to state what you can do, as the number of things you cannot is infinite.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/30 16:37:40
Subject: Single model multicharge and Multiple combat results
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
minisnatcher wrote:So you cannot do anything that the rulebook does not say you can. Makes sense again  ... I was looking for something that specifically said I couldn't (and getting confused in the meantime), but I guess that is not how this rule-set works.
You actually quoted where it says it.
minisnatcher wrote:Once overwatch is resolved, find the initial target for the primary assault (the model in the charging unit closest to the primary target) and attempt to move it into base contact with the primary target just as you would against a single target.
That said a charging model is not permitted to move into base contact with a model in a secondary target, unless it cannot move into base contact with an unengaged model in the primary target.
You can only go in to base contact with a Secondary Target model if you cannot get in to base contact with the Primary Target model.
If you can get in to base contact with a Primary Target model, then you cannot go in to base contact with a Secondary Target model (assuming the Targets are not already locked in Combat).
If you cannot get in to base contact with a Primary Target with a lone model, you fail the Charge.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/12/30 17:07:31
Subject: Single model multicharge and Multiple combat results
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Charistoph wrote:minisnatcher wrote:So you cannot do anything that the rulebook does not say you can. Makes sense again  ... I was looking for something that specifically said I couldn't (and getting confused in the meantime), but I guess that is not how this rule-set works.
You actually quoted where it says it.
minisnatcher wrote:Once overwatch is resolved, find the initial target for the primary assault (the model in the charging unit closest to the primary target) and attempt to move it into base contact with the primary target just as you would against a single target.
That said a charging model is not permitted to move into base contact with a model in a secondary target, unless it cannot move into base contact with an unengaged model in the primary target.
You can only go in to base contact with a Secondary Target model if you cannot get in to base contact with the Primary Target model.
If you can get in to base contact with a Primary Target model, then you cannot go in to base contact with a Secondary Target model (assuming the Targets are not already locked in Combat).
If you cannot get in to base contact with a Primary Target with a lone model, you fail the Charge.
cheers man. English is not my main language, and I was wondering if it was in there.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|