Switch Theme:

Moving through terrain from a transport  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!





Confusing situation arose. My drop pod comes in and I attempt to move through terrain as they come out to get on the other side of a wall. I roll a 2 for the result.

Now my question is, does this mean I have 2 inches in complete movement in any direction or what my opponent argued, my squad has to continue moving in the same direction whether or not they can make it onto the other side of the terrain, a wall in this case.

I checked the rules it states nothing about having to continue to move the same direction after a move through terrain test has been made. It states you can choose to not move at all, but nothing about whether or not you have to attempt to move the way you intended. This was even more confusing since the said squad was coming out of a drop pod.

Thoughts?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/12/29 17:01:39


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You have a total of 2" to move in any direction.
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan





Denver, Colorado

Yup, disembarking from a transport into difficult terrain is simply a difficult terrain move. If you rolled two dice and highest result was a 2, means no model can move more than 2" from the hull.

As for the 'continue to move in the same direction", I'm not sure where that comes from. Drop pods are open-topped transports, which means you use any part of the hull to disembark from.

Or, to put it another way, if you intended to clear the wall, but couldn't, due to the low difficult terrain roll, you are not obligated to continue to try to move past the wall. Your whole squad can get out a max of 2" away from the drop pod hull in any direction.

"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. 
   
Made in us
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!





Ok, as I thought. Thanks for clearing that up!

 
   
Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut






 Kap'n Krump wrote:
Yup, disembarking from a transport into difficult terrain is simply a difficult terrain move. If you rolled two dice and highest result was a 2, means no model can move more than 2" from the hull.

That is not true. You place model in base contact with access point and then you move 2", so it is base size + 2" from the hull.
Rules:
BRB wrote:When a unit disembarks, place the models one at a time, using the following method: place the first model in base contact with one of the vehicle’s Access Points
(...)
The model can then make a normal move – Difficult and Dangerous Terrain tests should be taken as normal,
(...)
Repeat this process for each model in the unit. At the end of the unit’s move, all models must be in unit coherency.

Question may be asked: should we roll for difficult terrain for each model separately

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/12/29 19:01:04


   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Fully within. Read again.
   
Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut






nosferatu1001 wrote:
Fully within. Read again.

You may not ever move more than 6" from hull that is true, but I don't see why "6" should be changed to 2" in this case?!

   
Made in us
Brainless Servitor





you are all wrong. the drop pod cant go there, it would go to the closes non-terain area the you deploy them there.

"The victor lives in honour; the Vanquished dies in shame." Departmento Munitorum Straregic Parables 27:2 
   
Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut






XxDregosxX wrote:
you are all wrong. the drop pod cant go there, it would go to the closes non-terain area the you deploy them there.

Drop Pod may not land on Impassable but it is perfectly fine to land on Difficult Terrain (he must pass Dangerous Test).

   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





@OP,

I am assuming that originally, wherever your drop pod landed, it landed in/next to difficult terrain.

If it landed in difficult terrain, you would need to make a dangerous terrain test. Depending on what system you are playing, if you rolled a 1, you would take 1-2 HP.

At this point, if you are trying to move models through difficult terrain and decided to roll to move through, you would take the highest result (of which was 2") and move 2" in whatever direction you chose. You can decide to not move through the difficult terrain, but you still must abide by the dice roll you made. It was essentially a gamble that you failed.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 danyboy wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Fully within. Read again.

You may not ever move more than 6" from hull that is true, but I don't see why "6" should be changed to 2" in this case?!

You may not move more than 6", such that all models are FULLY within thus distance. Changed in 7th ed.
in this case fully within only 2".
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






nosferatu1001 wrote:
You may not move more than 6", such that all models are FULLY within thus distance. Changed in 7th ed.
in this case fully within only 2".
I would disagree - the sentence tells you to take Difficult / Dangerous terrain tests, and to end wholly within 6", not wholly within whatever distance is rolled. Would be unfun for, say, a unit of Centurions (50mm bases) to roll a double 1 disembarking from a drop pod and thus be unable to deploy, or a dreadnought.
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




I just read disembarking:

First you need to put your first model in base contact with an exit point, then you place the rest next to each others starting from the first (quite a bit like deep strike).

Then you roll difficult/dangerous terrain distance as normal.

Make sure your models are wholy withing 6'' of the transport hull at the end of all these steps.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/12/29 22:01:57


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Quanar wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
You may not move more than 6", such that all models are FULLY within thus distance. Changed in 7th ed.
in this case fully within only 2".
I would disagree - the sentence tells you to take Difficult / Dangerous terrain tests, and to end wholly within 6", not wholly within whatever distance is rolled. Would be unfun for, say, a unit of Centurions (50mm bases) to roll a double 1 disembarking from a drop pod and thus be unable to deploy, or a dreadnought.


This is an interesting scenario. It would appear that double 1's in either case would result in the unit unable to disembark that turn.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Sluggfest wrote:
I just read disembarking:

First you need to put your first model in base contact with an exit point, then you place the rest next to each others starting from the first (quite a bit like deep strike).

.


All of them start from the hull, then move

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/12/29 22:10:58


 
   
Made in us
Brainless Servitor





but read the SM book. drop pod rules are wierd

"The victor lives in honour; the Vanquished dies in shame." Departmento Munitorum Straregic Parables 27:2 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: