Switch Theme:

Coteaz - ObSec and other special rules  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Voldrak wrote:
Fragile wrote:
 TheArmorOfContempt wrote:
Can Coteaz use his "We've been expecting you" rule to draw line of site from an open-topped vehicle or vehicle that has firing points? For example can he sit in a Rhino with a squad of Devastators and fire on units arriving within 12 inches of the Rhino with the Devastator squad?


Only if the rule specifically says he can. Otherwise no.



Where are you getting your information to make this call?

"I've been expecting you" allows Coteaz and his unit to shoot at anything that arrives from reserves within 12 inches of him and is in line of sight.

As far as I am aware as long as you follow restrictions for shooting and line of sight, he's fine. If he's in a transport that allows for shooting, firing points or open top, he will be meeting those restrictions.

Nothing in the BRB seems to prevent auras from working from inside transports. I have looked at the FAQ as well and found nothing.


He's getting the answer from the main rulebook FAQ where somebody asked about how special rules work when embarked. The last sentence of the anser was "If a unit's rules are meant to apply even when embarked on a Transport, they will specify this." after saying that with some exceptions embarked units don't interact with the battlefield. By RAW, IBEY would need to specify it works while embarked to see if you even get to the point where you draw line of sight.
   
Made in ca
Sister Vastly Superior





 doctortom wrote:
Voldrak wrote:
Fragile wrote:
 TheArmorOfContempt wrote:
Can Coteaz use his "We've been expecting you" rule to draw line of site from an open-topped vehicle or vehicle that has firing points? For example can he sit in a Rhino with a squad of Devastators and fire on units arriving within 12 inches of the Rhino with the Devastator squad?


Only if the rule specifically says he can. Otherwise no.



Where are you getting your information to make this call?

"I've been expecting you" allows Coteaz and his unit to shoot at anything that arrives from reserves within 12 inches of him and is in line of sight.

As far as I am aware as long as you follow restrictions for shooting and line of sight, he's fine. If he's in a transport that allows for shooting, firing points or open top, he will be meeting those restrictions.

Nothing in the BRB seems to prevent auras from working from inside transports. I have looked at the FAQ as well and found nothing.


He's getting the answer from the main rulebook FAQ where somebody asked about how special rules work when embarked. The last sentence of the anser was "If a unit's rules are meant to apply even when embarked on a Transport, they will specify this." after saying that with some exceptions embarked units don't interact with the battlefield. By RAW, IBEY would need to specify it works while embarked to see if you even get to the point where you draw line of sight.



I remember reading something along those lines when I went through the original draft document they did for the FAQ.
However I have been going through the new updates they finalized and i cannot find this. Did it make it to the final version?

18 / 3 / 6 since 6th ed. 
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Kroot Stalker





Another issue that I have just found out. With the new super detachment that is coming out for Cadia can take Coteaz with unlimited troops (minimum 4) and 6 of everything else + 3 LoW. everything that is non vehicle in that list becomes Obj Sec because of him. OMFG
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Voldrak wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
Voldrak wrote:
Fragile wrote:
 TheArmorOfContempt wrote:
Can Coteaz use his "We've been expecting you" rule to draw line of site from an open-topped vehicle or vehicle that has firing points? For example can he sit in a Rhino with a squad of Devastators and fire on units arriving within 12 inches of the Rhino with the Devastator squad?


Only if the rule specifically says he can. Otherwise no.



Where are you getting your information to make this call?

"I've been expecting you" allows Coteaz and his unit to shoot at anything that arrives from reserves within 12 inches of him and is in line of sight.

As far as I am aware as long as you follow restrictions for shooting and line of sight, he's fine. If he's in a transport that allows for shooting, firing points or open top, he will be meeting those restrictions.

Nothing in the BRB seems to prevent auras from working from inside transports. I have looked at the FAQ as well and found nothing.


He's getting the answer from the main rulebook FAQ where somebody asked about how special rules work when embarked. The last sentence of the anser was "If a unit's rules are meant to apply even when embarked on a Transport, they will specify this." after saying that with some exceptions embarked units don't interact with the battlefield. By RAW, IBEY would need to specify it works while embarked to see if you even get to the point where you draw line of sight.



I remember reading something along those lines when I went through the original draft document they did for the FAQ.
However I have been going through the new updates they finalized and i cannot find this. Did it make it to the final version?


Yes. Page 9.

Q: I have a question regarding unit special rules that affect all
or some units within a certain range of a model or unit. How do
these interact with units inside Transports, and what happens
if the unit with the rule is inside a Transport?
A: When a unit embarks on a vehicle it is taken off the
battlefield and does not interact with anything on the
battlefield. However, certain rules may create exceptions
to this rule, with the most obvious examples being Fire
Points, psychic powers and Transports. If a unit’s rules
are meant to apply even when embarked on a Transport,
they will specify this.

Q: Do non-psychic powers with an area of effect (‘aura’ powers
like the Tau Ethereal’s Invocation of the Elements, or the effects
of many Warlord Traits) extend from the hull of a Transport
that the model with the power is embarked within?
A: No, non-psychic powers such as those described
cannot be used by models embarked upon a Transport
unless specifically noted otherwise.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: