Switch Theme:

Treason of Tzeentch: can you use it multiple times on the same unit  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fr
Inquisitorial Keeper of the Xenobanks





France

Hi,
Treason of Tzeentch: can you use it multiple times on the same unit and make it shoot several times ? It is said that the unit "immediately make a shooting attack".
So, I put two Treason of Tzeentch from two different sorcerers, on the same unit, could it shoot two times ?

Thanks !

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/01/07 09:56:47


   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Each psychic unit can only cast the same spell once, so two sorcerer's with the same power in the same unit couldn't both cast it.

Not sure about a unit being effected twice by the treason.. I don't see why not? (or the cyclopea cabal power, for that matter)

DFTT 
   
Made in au
Lady of the Lake






It's a malediction and you can't stack the effects of those from powers with the same name. So I'd say it's a once per turn deal.

   
Made in es
Regular Dakkanaut




You can since you are not stacking anything on the unit.
Once you use the power, you do that extra shooting attack and once you do it and continue your psi phase, that unit doesnt keep any malediction effect, so you can use it again.

Also is a power that allow you do the extra shooting attack, ignoring normal rules about it as well related stuff like if the unit moved, so nothing quit you of shot twice with the same unit

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/01/07 12:34:55


 
   
Made in ca
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch





Unless they get pinned, yes. Cast it 10 times on that riptide wing. Its part of the reason why I hate the spell.

 
   
Made in fr
Inquisitorial Keeper of the Xenobanks





France

Interesting, thank you.

   
Made in gb
Stealthy Kroot Stalker





Aren´t you required to select one sorcerer from the formation and they can cast this spell. So it can only be cast once from each cabal formation you have?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







rawne2510 wrote:
Aren´t you required to select one sorcerer from the formation and they can cast this spell. So it can only be cast once from each cabal formation you have?


You're thinking about Shroud of Deceit, which is another spell altogether and could be cast in addition to Treason, Warp Charge permitting.

Personally I hope GW FAQs this because while Mind Control makes sense, magically upping the rate of fire is a bit much. "Gee, why don't we just mind-control our own troops to make them fire faster?"
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Kroot Stalker





which one is treason from then?
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




rawne2510 wrote:
which one is treason from then?

The new Tzeentch power list from Wrath of Magnus and Traitor legions.

DFTT 
   
Made in fr
Inquisitorial Keeper of the Xenobanks





France

Aren't you bothered by the fact that a model can only use its weapon once each turn ?
How do you bypass this limitation ?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/01/09 21:54:38


   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




 godardc wrote:
Aren't you bothered by the fact that a model can only use its weapon once each turn ?
How do you bypass this limitation ?


Is that a quotable rule?

DFTT 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 godardc wrote:
Aren't you bothered by the fact that a model can only use its weapon once each turn ?
How do you bypass this limitation ?


A model can fire its pistol as part of Overwatch if the unit it is in is charged, then use it again (with a ccw) to attack during the Fight Sub-Phase. That's using the weapon twice the same turn. Three times if the model's with Coteaz and it got to use the weapon earlier that turn with I've Been Expecting You.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/01/09 22:21:13


 
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

Except you're not shooting a pistol in CC, you're pistol-whipping fools. Otherwise, a Plasma Pistol would be S7 AP2 in CC, whereas it's actually SUser AP-.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Coteaz has been able to fire multiple times and make attached unit do the same, not been faqed despite how stupid it is.
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Kroot Stalker





 godardc wrote:
Aren't you bothered by the fact that a model can only use its weapon once each turn ?
How do you bypass this limitation ?


Where is the rule taht states a unit can only fire once per turn. I am thinking Tau that can intercept and overwatch the same turn.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 godardc wrote:
Aren't you bothered by the fact that a model can only use its weapon once each turn ?
How do you bypass this limitation ?

No such rule exists.
Have you read coteAz rule yet, and the FAQ which confirms he can fire multiple times?
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Kroot Stalker





@Nosferatu1001

I agree with you but Coteaz has a rule that over rides the norm so is a poor example
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, it's more that the rule doesn't exist (you find a rule about firing a weapon once in the shooting phase)
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Kroot Stalker





hence the reason Tau can play dirty tricks and fire interceptor and overwatch
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 JNAProductions wrote:
Except you're not shooting a pistol in CC, you're pistol-whipping fools. Otherwise, a Plasma Pistol would be S7 AP2 in CC, whereas it's actually SUser AP-.


He only specified "use" in his statement. You're using it more than once per turn.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: