Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 41342/06/17 08:16:01
Subject: Void claws and Dedicated transports
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
The dedicated transport of the void claws isn´t compulsory choice within the formation and breaks the rule for deep striking. Drop pods have a rule that specifically permits them directly to deep strike.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/13 08:20:35
Subject: Void claws and Dedicated transports
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
rawne2510 wrote:The dedicated transport of the void claws isn´t compulsory choice within the formation and breaks the rule for deep striking. Drop pods have a rule that specifically permits them directly to deep strike.
It is not a requirement of Formations and Detachments that you be a compulsory choice of a Formation or Detachment to benefit from its rules. Your statement has zero rules support.
Indeed, off the top of my head for example Wave Serpents taken as Dedicated Transports as part of an Aspect Host or Dire Avenger Shrine Formation gain the Formation's +1 Ballistic Skill benefit. Clearly you don't have to be a compulsory choice to gain a Formation's special rules benefit.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/01/13 08:23:36
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/13 08:23:23
Subject: Void claws and Dedicated transports
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
then do we not just take precedence from the DA codex FAQ with regards to Deathwing formation? Automatically Appended Next Post: Only just found out about it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/01/13 08:23:40
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/13 08:27:45
Subject: Void claws and Dedicated transports
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
rawne2510 wrote:then do we not just take precedence from the DA codex FAQ with regards to Deathwing formation?
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Only just found out about it.
You could, and so far as the rules are intended, I believe you should.
From the perspective of the rules as they are written? The Dark Angels draft FAQ is non-binding on Codex: Space Wolves. It's not even binding on Codex: Dark Angels yet because it's a draft only.
Additionally there is a Codex: Space Wolves FAQ which made no mention of this at all. Could that mean it's actually intended? Probably not, but the point can be reasonably argued, especially with Drop Pods as support.
In summary:
RAI? You probably shouldn't try it.
RAW? If you accept Drop Pods work then you should necessarily accept this works.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/01/13 08:29:01
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/13 08:30:00
Subject: Void claws and Dedicated transports
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I have zero doubt that the rule applies to the dedicated transport. But it us clearly a restriction, with no hint of permission. It's completely different to drop pods,)which have permissions, just badly written).
|
DFTT |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/13 08:42:58
Subject: Void claws and Dedicated transports
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Captyn_Bob wrote:I have zero doubt that the rule applies to the dedicated transport. But it us clearly a restriction, with no hint of permission. It's completely different to drop pods,)which have permissions, just badly written).
Drop Pods have permission to arrive on turn one, but are required to begin the game in Reserve and deeply via Deep Strike. They have the same deployment restriction as the Void Claws Formation.
The only difference is the formation has the word "restrictions". Otherwise their wording is functionally exactly the same.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/13 09:00:48
Subject: Void claws and Dedicated transports
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The wording is fundamentally different, as the drop pods have two separate lines giving them permission to arrive.
|
DFTT |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/13 09:25:11
Subject: Void claws and Dedicated transports
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
From 'Drop Pod Assault':
"Drop Pods and units embarked upon them must be held in Deep Strike Reserves."
From the rulebook we have established that being in Deep Strike Reserves means to be held in Reserve and arrive via Deep Strike so it is effectively:
"Drop Pods and units embarked upon them must be held in Reserve and arrive by Deep Strike."
And from 'Spearhead Strike':
"All units from this Formation begin the game in Reserves, and must arrive by Deep Strike"
Also, looking at the Formation datasheet, this is not listed under the Formation's Restrictions. It is no more a restriction for Boys Claws than it is for Drop Pods.
They are functionally exactly the same.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/13 13:06:15
Subject: Void claws and Dedicated transports
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ignoring how other rules are badly written, here is an example from the rulebook faq, where a restriction does not equate to a permission.
Q: If a unit ‘must declare a charge against unit if <insert
prerequisite>’, is the rule ignored if they are unable to declare the charge (entered from Reserves, Infiltrated, no line of sight to the
target, etc.)?
A: Yes.
|
DFTT |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/13 13:52:34
Subject: Void claws and Dedicated transports
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Didn't we already go over this one? If we follow this example then drop pods are unable to deploy. Nothing grants them deepstrike. Like the Stormwolf they MUST arrive by deepstrike but they do not HAVE deepstrike, so they cannot arrive by deepstrike. If we take this "as is" all drop pods will end the game in reserves and be counted as casualties.
We cannot ignore badly worded rules. We'd be out 60% of the BRB.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/01/13 13:53:46
|
|
 |
 |
|