Switch Theme:

Celestine Questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




We had two debates at the FLGS regarding Celestine and her new rules in Fall of Cadia.

1- She joined a unit of Vanguard Vets. Next turn, Saintly Blessing takes effect. Does she benefit from Heroic Zeal or Religious Fanaticism, or both? The last sentence in Saintly Blessings seems to indicate she would be affected by both.
2- Questions about how the wounds work. Scenario one is Celestine is out front. Is shot, wounded, fails an armor save. This wound is shrugged off to one of the Gemini. OR- Celestine is shot, wounded, Gemini takes the armor save, fails, takes a wound.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/01/16 00:24:19


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







One question I have:

An Iron Priest joins a unit of Ravenwing Black Knights. Do the Black Knights get Furious Charge?
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch





ft. Bragg

question #2 - the latter

Let a billion souls burn in death than for one soul to bend knee to a false Emperor.....
"I am the punishment of God, had you not committed great sin, God would not have sent a punishment like me upon you" 
   
Made in us
Pious Palatine




ShaneMarsh wrote:
We had two debates at the FLGS regarding Celestine and her new rules in Fall of Cadia.

1- She joined a unit of Vanguard Vets. Next turn, Saintly Blessing takes effect. Does she benefit from Heroic Zeal or Religious Fanaticism, or both? The last sentence in Saintly Blessings seems to indicate she would be affected by both.
2- Questions about how the wounds work. Scenario one is Celestine is out front. Is shot, wounded, fails an armor save. This wound is shrugged off to one of the Gemini. OR- Celestine is shot, wounded, Gemini takes the armor save, fails, takes a wound.


1. Irrelevant, you only get 1 blessing per turn.
2. Part 2, don't forget your Look out Sir!


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 MagicJuggler wrote:
One question I have:

An Iron Priest joins a unit of Ravenwing Black Knights. Do the Black Knights get Furious Charge?


No, but the IP could gain crusader and fleet on your next turn.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/01/16 01:46:42



 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 quickfuze wrote:
question #2 - the latter

I thought any wounds suffered BY Celestine would have meant she would have had to have failed any appropriate save
This means even in a challenge, it kills the geminae

While joined to a unit of not-HQ she is no longer an hq unit an so cannot be affected by heroic zeal.
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

nosferatu1001 wrote:

While joined to a unit of not-HQ she is no longer an hq unit an so cannot be affected by heroic zeal.


Except that when units have mixed battlefield roles they count for all the roles. An HQ attached to a Troop counts as both, according to the Deathwatch Codex, if we take that as precedence.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Pious Palatine




nosferatu1001 wrote:
 quickfuze wrote:
question #2 - the latter

I thought any wounds suffered BY Celestine would have meant she would have had to have failed any appropriate save
This means even in a challenge, it kills the geminae

While joined to a unit of not-HQ she is no longer an hq unit an so cannot be affected by heroic zeal.


The phrase 'suffered an unsaved wound' is a consistent bit of terminology that implies that a wound is 'suffered' BEFORE saves are taken, after all if you couldn't suffer a saved wound specifiying 'unsaved' would be redundant. The geminii rules use the term 'resolved' which leads me to believe that the order is Celestine is targeted for attack, the attack uses celestines stats for damage calculation, wounds are 'suffered', then the wounds are resolved against the geminii using their saves.


 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




ERJAK wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
 quickfuze wrote:
question #2 - the latter

I thought any wounds suffered BY Celestine would have meant she would have had to have failed any appropriate save
This means even in a challenge, it kills the geminae

While joined to a unit of not-HQ she is no longer an hq unit an so cannot be affected by heroic zeal.


The phrase 'suffered an unsaved wound' is a consistent bit of terminology that implies that a wound is 'suffered' BEFORE saves are taken, after all if you couldn't suffer a saved wound specifiying 'unsaved' would be redundant. The geminii rules use the term 'resolved' which leads me to believe that the order is Celestine is targeted for attack, the attack uses celestines stats for damage calculation, wounds are 'suffered', then the wounds are resolved against the geminii using their saves.


It doesn't become an unsaved wound until the save is taken and failed.
   
Made in us
Pious Palatine




Fhionnuisce wrote:
ERJAK wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
 quickfuze wrote:
question #2 - the latter

I thought any wounds suffered BY Celestine would have meant she would have had to have failed any appropriate save
This means even in a challenge, it kills the geminae

While joined to a unit of not-HQ she is no longer an hq unit an so cannot be affected by heroic zeal.


The phrase 'suffered an unsaved wound' is a consistent bit of terminology that implies that a wound is 'suffered' BEFORE saves are taken, after all if you couldn't suffer a saved wound specifiying 'unsaved' would be redundant. The geminii rules use the term 'resolved' which leads me to believe that the order is Celestine is targeted for attack, the attack uses celestines stats for damage calculation, wounds are 'suffered', then the wounds are resolved against the geminii using their saves.


It doesn't become an unsaved wound until the save is taken and failed.


...congratulations? The wound is suffered before the save is taken and failed and then you suffer and unsaved wound.


 
   
Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

ERJAK wrote:
Fhionnuisce wrote:
ERJAK wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
 quickfuze wrote:
question #2 - the latter

I thought any wounds suffered BY Celestine would have meant she would have had to have failed any appropriate save
This means even in a challenge, it kills the geminae

While joined to a unit of not-HQ she is no longer an hq unit an so cannot be affected by heroic zeal.


The phrase 'suffered an unsaved wound' is a consistent bit of terminology that implies that a wound is 'suffered' BEFORE saves are taken, after all if you couldn't suffer a saved wound specifiying 'unsaved' would be redundant. The geminii rules use the term 'resolved' which leads me to believe that the order is Celestine is targeted for attack, the attack uses celestines stats for damage calculation, wounds are 'suffered', then the wounds are resolved against the geminii using their saves.


It doesn't become an unsaved wound until the save is taken and failed.


...congratulations? The wound is suffered before the save is taken and failed and then you suffer and unsaved wound.


Some examples from the BRB:
To decide who has won the combat, total up the number of unsaved Wounds inflicted by each side onto their opponents.

If a Flying Monstrous Creature that is Swooping suffers one or more unsaved Wounds during any phase, it must take a Grounded test at the end of that phase.

Feel No Pain: When a model with this special rule suffers an unsaved Wound, it can make a special Feel No Pain roll to avoid being wounded (...)

Instant Death: If a model suffers an unsaved Wound from an attack with this special rule, it is reduced to 0 Wounds and is removed as a casualty.

It is a consistent bit of terminology, but not the way you think it is. A wound is assigned to a model, that model attempts to save it. If it's not saved, it's an unsaved wound. Then rules like Feel No Pain can interact with that unsaved wound. Same for Celestine.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/01/17 10:16:53


 
   
Made in au
Sister Oh-So Repentia





I'd like to present the following additional questions about Celestine:

1) Do Celestine's Saintly Blessing for HQ units affect herself?

2) Also it says that independent characters joined to units also benefit from saintly blessings, which is awesome. But as the Geminae Superia don't have the independent character rule, will they benefit from a blessing when they and Celestine are joined to a unit that is blessed?

Case in point - if they are joined to a fast attack unit and you bless them - all models in the unit must have fleet in order to benefit from it.

3) Can you only use one Saintly Blessing per turn?
   
Made in us
Pious Palatine




nekooni wrote:
ERJAK wrote:
Fhionnuisce wrote:
ERJAK wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
 quickfuze wrote:
question #2 - the latter

I thought any wounds suffered BY Celestine would have meant she would have had to have failed any appropriate save
This means even in a challenge, it kills the geminae

While joined to a unit of not-HQ she is no longer an hq unit an so cannot be affected by heroic zeal.


The phrase 'suffered an unsaved wound' is a consistent bit of terminology that implies that a wound is 'suffered' BEFORE saves are taken, after all if you couldn't suffer a saved wound specifiying 'unsaved' would be redundant. The geminii rules use the term 'resolved' which leads me to believe that the order is Celestine is targeted for attack, the attack uses celestines stats for damage calculation, wounds are 'suffered', then the wounds are resolved against the geminii using their saves.


It doesn't become an unsaved wound until the save is taken and failed.


...congratulations? The wound is suffered before the save is taken and failed and then you suffer and unsaved wound.


Some examples from the BRB:
To decide who has won the combat, total up the number of unsaved Wounds inflicted by each side onto their opponents.

If a Flying Monstrous Creature that is Swooping suffers one or more unsaved Wounds during any phase, it must take a Grounded test at the end of that phase.

Feel No Pain: When a model with this special rule suffers an unsaved Wound, it can make a special Feel No Pain roll to avoid being wounded (...)

Instant Death: If a model suffers an unsaved Wound from an attack with this special rule, it is reduced to 0 Wounds and is removed as a casualty.

It is a consistent bit of terminology, but not the way you think it is. A wound is assigned to a model, that model attempts to save it. If it's not saved, it's an unsaved wound. Then rules like Feel No Pain can interact with that unsaved wound. Same for Celestine.


You're still missing the point, basically all it boils down to is that the wound shunts to the geminii before saves are taken.


As for the other guy:
1) Because she's and HQ unit and because she counts as being within 12 of herself she should be able to giver herself zealot.
2) That is a very good question, I think the only precedent you could find would involve Iron Priest rulings so I'd check through the draft FAQs to try and get an idea. Because honestly, RAI I would say yes but there's just as strong of an argument for nay.
3) The rule says "A saintly blessing...' so most likely yes.



 
   
Made in us
Clousseau





East Bay, Ca, US

The official rules for Celestine state:

Divine Guardians: The Geminae Superia both have a 4+ invulnerable save. In addition, whilst at least one Geminae Superia is still alive, resolve any wounds suffered by Celestine against the Geminae Superia closest to her instead.

I would read this as follows:

1. Roll to hit - vs Celestine's WS in melee; BS as normal shooting
2. Roll to wound - S vs Celestine's Toughness
3. Roll to save - vs Geminae Superia's Armor
4. Allocate Wound - to Geminae Superia
5. Roll any wound prevention on Geminae Superia if they have been granted it.
6. Roll Look Out Sir! - Geminae Superia are Characters and therefore can receive LOS.

Wounds are shunted before saves are taken and thefore all saving after the wound roll is done by the Superias.

This makes logical sense. Because if a wound was unsaved and allocated to Celestine before it was shunted, her Eternal Warrior would remove instant death from STR6+ as it would just be a -1wound.

From a "fluff" standpoint, the idea is that they're jumping in front of bullets to protect their Saint, because they know she'll resurrect them.

 Galas wrote:
I remember when Marmatag was a nooby, all shiney and full of joy. How playing the unbalanced mess of Warhammer40k in a ultra-competitive meta has changed you

Bharring wrote:
He'll actually *change his mind* in the presence of sufficient/sufficiently defended information. Heretic.
 
   
Made in au
Missionary On A Mission




Australia

 Marmatag wrote:


This makes logical sense. Because if a wound was unsaved and allocated to Celestine before it was shunted, her Eternal Warrior would remove instant death from STR6+ as it would just be a -1wound.

On a point of order: Eternal Warrior does not remove the Instant Death rule - it just makes the model only suffer 1 Wound rather than lose all their Wounds. This is why you can't take FNP on Eternal Warrior models that have been hit by an Instant Death wound, because the Instant Death rule is still in effect and thus prevents FNP from working.


 
   
Made in au
Sister Oh-So Repentia





ERJAK wrote:

As for the other guy:
1) Because she's and HQ unit and because she counts as being within 12 of herself she should be able to giver herself zealot.
2) That is a very good question, I think the only precedent you could find would involve Iron Priest rulings so I'd check through the draft FAQs to try and get an idea. Because honestly, RAI I would say yes but there's just as strong of an argument for nay.
3) The rule says "A saintly blessing...' so most likely yes.


Thanks! I'll have a look at the FAQ later today.

Another thought, as the saintly blessings only affect non-vehicle units, the Lord of War buff can only be used by Marneus Calgar right now? Possibly ol Rob in the future?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/01/17 22:16:33


 
   
Made in us
Clousseau





East Bay, Ca, US

 GoonBandito wrote:
 Marmatag wrote:


This makes logical sense. Because if a wound was unsaved and allocated to Celestine before it was shunted, her Eternal Warrior would remove instant death from STR6+ as it would just be a -1wound.

On a point of order: Eternal Warrior does not remove the Instant Death rule - it just makes the model only suffer 1 Wound rather than lose all their Wounds. This is why you can't take FNP on Eternal Warrior models that have been hit by an Instant Death wound, because the Instant Death rule is still in effect and thus prevents FNP from working.


Thank you!

I think the core issue remains the same, though - her suffering 1 wound for a STR6+, and then being shunted, is fundamentally different than one of her guards being instant death'd.

 Galas wrote:
I remember when Marmatag was a nooby, all shiney and full of joy. How playing the unbalanced mess of Warhammer40k in a ultra-competitive meta has changed you

Bharring wrote:
He'll actually *change his mind* in the presence of sufficient/sufficiently defended information. Heretic.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Thank you for the responses everyone!

I agree that the Gemini take the saves in the scenario. I still think GW should do a FoC FAQ at some point to clarify it as well as a few other things.
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

Another thought, as the saintly blessings only affect non-vehicle units, the Lord of War buff can only be used by Marneus Calgar right now? Possibly ol Rob in the future?


And Draigo.

SJ

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/01/18 02:20:49


“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




 jeffersonian000 wrote:
Another thought, as the saintly blessings only affect non-vehicle units, the Lord of War buff can only be used by Marneus Calgar right now? Possibly ol Rob in the future?


And Draigo.

SJ

Logan Grimnar, too, let's not forget good ol' Logie.
   
Made in jp
Regular Dakkanaut





What happens when celestine LoS her geminae? They are characters too - an endless loop?
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





peirceg wrote:
What happens when celestine LoS her geminae? They are characters too - an endless loop?

You can only LOS! a wound once
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: