Switch Theme:

Non-dedicated transports towing static artillery?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in my
Veteran Knight Baron in a Crusader






At my desk

In the Death Korps Siege Regiment Field Artillery Batteries can purchase a Centaur Carrier to tow them about. However I recently played against a guy that was towing the guns with Centaurs bought for other squads (A Command Squad in this case) and having the crew walk behind the towed artillery.

I didn't complain because he seemed sure of it and his models stayed in coherency, but I don't have a Forge World book to check and it just seems a little squiffy to me (Even if not illegal). Could anyone shed some light?

3000pts Blood Angels (4th Company) - 2000pts Skitarii (Voss Prime) - 2500pts Imperial Knights (Unnamed House) - 1000pts Imperial Guard (Household Retainers)

2000pts Free Peoples (Edlynd Fusiliers) - 2000pts Kharadron Overlords (Barak Zilfin) - 500pts Ironweld Arsenal (Edlynd Ironwork Federation) - 1000pts Duardin (Grongrok Powderheads)

Wargaming's no fun when you have a plan! 
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






It is legal. The Centaur's rule applies to any friendly model with the Artillery unit type. And the crew doesn't board the Centaur (it does have to have sufficient free transport capacity to hold them), the gun and crew are simply placed together at the end of the move. The only reason to buy dedicated Centaurs for the individual artillery unit is to make sure you have enough, since a command squad's Centaur is probably busy transporting the command squad. But, just like units can embark on transports that were bought for other units (and just can't begin the game deployed there), you can use a spare Centaur to move a gun if you need to.

Not that this is a very relevant question in normal games, since moving the gun prevents it from shooting that turn. It's very, very rare that you'll be willing to make that trade.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in my
Veteran Knight Baron in a Crusader






At my desk

 Peregrine wrote:
It is legal. The Centaur's rule applies to any friendly model with the Artillery unit type. And the crew doesn't board the Centaur (it does have to have sufficient free transport capacity to hold them), the gun and crew are simply placed together at the end of the move.

The reason he was moving it because it was a big apocalypse game and it was out of range, I must say I've never seen anyone move an artillery piece in a regular game.

So does the crew need to be in the Transport while it is towing the gun? Because he had the command squad in the Centaur, the gun being towed by the Centaur (obviously) and the gun crew on foot behind it.

3000pts Blood Angels (4th Company) - 2000pts Skitarii (Voss Prime) - 2500pts Imperial Knights (Unnamed House) - 1000pts Imperial Guard (Household Retainers)

2000pts Free Peoples (Edlynd Fusiliers) - 2000pts Kharadron Overlords (Barak Zilfin) - 500pts Ironweld Arsenal (Edlynd Ironwork Federation) - 1000pts Duardin (Grongrok Powderheads)

Wargaming's no fun when you have a plan! 
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






 TheManWithNoPlan wrote:
So does the crew need to be in the Transport while it is towing the gun? Because he had the command squad in the Centaur, the gun being towed by the Centaur (obviously) and the gun crew on foot behind it.


This is not legal. The Centaur must have sufficient transport capacity currently available to hold the crew, even though they don't actually embark. You declare the tow, move the Centaur up to 12", and then place the gun and crew as if they had just disembarked. If the command squad is in the Centaur then it doesn't have enough transport capacity for the crew and you can't tow the gun.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: