| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/07 08:07:40
Subject: Arriving from Ongoing Reserves by Deep Strike
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I got a question - if i have a flyer that arrives by Deep Strike, but then flies off the table next turn and enters Ongoing Reserves.
Can it arrive by Deep Strike again? Must it arrive by DS because it was originally in Deep Strike Reserve?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/03/07 08:54:08
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/07 10:22:02
Subject: Re:Arriving from Ongoing Reserves by Deep Strike
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
|
No, ongoing reserves means that the flier must enter from your board edge in your next turn. you also must however remember that you have to move the minimum distance (18 inches) across the board otherwise your flier will crash and burn.
|
5000pts W4/ D0/ L5
5000pts W10/ D2/ L7
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/07 10:48:48
Subject: Re:Arriving from Ongoing Reserves by Deep Strike
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
flyers no longer have the deep strike special rule.
You must come on from your table edge @ least 18" (extra if ur playing with DFTS)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/07 11:04:07
Subject: Arriving from Ongoing Reserves by Deep Strike
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Its forgeworld flyer that do have Deep Strike in the 7e book.
Its said that flyer "dives" from the high altitide when doing so, so i dont see anything in "fluff" that prevents it to fly up and then dive again, but the rules tho - there is not thing that specifically prevents it, yet i cant seems to find anything that deals with such thing.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/07 13:22:03
Subject: Re:Arriving from Ongoing Reserves by Deep Strike
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
|
Deep striking units are not part of the ongoing reserves rule, so they cannot redeploy via deepstrike from ongoing reserves. such as when a unit suffers a delay in deepstriking and is placed in ongoing reserves, they then arrive from your board edge automatically next turn.
|
5000pts W4/ D0/ L5
5000pts W10/ D2/ L7
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/07 13:41:56
Subject: Arriving from Ongoing Reserves by Deep Strike
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Is it different with Gate of Infinity or Malefic summonings?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/07 13:44:16
Subject: Re:Arriving from Ongoing Reserves by Deep Strike
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
|
Depends on their wordings, I don't have those rules to hand to interpret.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/03/07 13:44:43
5000pts W4/ D0/ L5
5000pts W10/ D2/ L7
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/08 00:34:10
Subject: Re:Arriving from Ongoing Reserves by Deep Strike
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Tristanleo wrote:Deep striking units are not part of the ongoing reserves rule, so they cannot redeploy via deepstrike from ongoing reserves. such as when a unit suffers a delay in deepstriking and is placed in ongoing reserves, they then arrive from your board edge automatically next turn.
Nor are they excluded from the Ongoing Reserves rule for which units " always reenter play at the start of their controlling player’s following turn, but otherwise follow the normal rules for Reserves."
Your interpretation would also mean that a Deep Striking Unit which Mishaps would not be able to Deep Strike back on to the table, but have to walk on like regular Reserves.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/09 02:36:38
Subject: Re:Arriving from Ongoing Reserves by Deep Strike
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
the faq cleared this up. If you came in via deep strke and mishap into reserve then you come back via deep strike
If a entire unit has deep strike then they can come back from reserve via deep strike, but only if the whole unit has it, Note that transport vehicles that have deep strike apply it to the units inside the transport
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/09 21:25:51
Subject: Arriving from Ongoing Reserves by Deep Strike
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Thanks! Makes sense for flyer to work in the same manner.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/10 00:03:48
Subject: Re:Arriving from Ongoing Reserves by Deep Strike
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
mchammadad wrote:the faq cleared this up. If you came in via deep strke and mishap into reserve then you come back via deep strike
Not entirely true. If you mishap on a Necron Veil or Mantle Deep Strike, you have to walk or Gateway on to the table unless the entire unit has Deep Strike (which the Mantle does not provide).
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/10 09:41:02
Subject: Arriving from Ongoing Reserves by Deep Strike
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
When you fly off the board you are in zooming mode. When a flyer DS it is in hover mode. Therefore you can´t deepstrike again because the rules when zooming off the baord require you to be in the same mode flying back on.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/10 22:49:41
Subject: Arriving from Ongoing Reserves by Deep Strike
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
rawne2510 wrote:
When you fly off the board you are in zooming mode. When a flyer DS it is in hover mode. Therefore you can´t deepstrike again because the rules when zooming off the baord require you to be in the same mode flying back on.
Except this flyer do not have hover mode...
Doom of Mymeara have rules on this tho
As well as arriving via the usual Reserves method, some Flyers also have the ability to deploy via Deep Strike, representing a vertical 'dive' onto the battlefield. If the Flyer in question has the Hover type, their controlling player must declare before the Deep Strike is attempted whether the Flyer is Zooming or being treated as a Fast Skimmer. If using Hover mode, the rules for Deep Strike apply as standard. If using Zooming Deep Strike, Flyers deploying via Deep Strike count as making a Zoom move and having moved at Cruising speed (18*) on the turn they arrive... (omitted)
That are tucked under the lynx profile for some reason...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/13 08:10:30
Subject: Arriving from Ongoing Reserves by Deep Strike
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
Ok well that is an update then because the original one for Storm Eagles didn´t give you that option.
Either way if you are not given specific permission to go back in to deep strike reserve when you fly off then it would be normal board edge return.
Which flyer is this anyway.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/13 08:47:45
Subject: Re:Arriving from Ongoing Reserves by Deep Strike
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Eldar Nightwing Interceptor.
It is kind of important to make use of Corsair Kinetic Shroud wargear that gives substantial bonus on turn when flyer deep strikes. (wargear actually says "on turns", but i dont think that is adquate argument)
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|