Switch Theme:

Hitting allies of convenience with flamers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Dakka Veteran




I was looking at a situation and wondering if it is possible to be able to hit allies of convenience with flamer weapons in certain situations. Specifically:

Enemy (E)
Allies of Convenience (AoC)
Flamers (F)

So F declares E as being their target. F's flamer template covers some models in the AoC unit. Is this allowed?


Reading the template rules it doesn't violate the restriction that you can't touch friendly models with the template. So it looks legitimate as far as I can tell.

As to why I want to do this, I'm fishing for a boost to my FnP from warpflame by sacrificing some "lesser" models.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Allies of Convenience cannot be "shot".

So does this fall under the definition of "shot"?

I'd say it does, so it is not allowed.

DFTT 
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran




Captyn_Bob wrote:
Allies of Convenience cannot be "shot".

So does this fall under the definition of "shot"?

I'd say it does, so it is not allowed.

Does it though? If a blast scatters and hits a AoC unit do they ignore it because they can't be shot? They were never determined to be the target of the shooting in either case.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





JakeSiren wrote:
Captyn_Bob wrote:
Allies of Convenience cannot be "shot".

So does this fall under the definition of "shot"?

I'd say it does, so it is not allowed.

Does it though? If a blast scatters and hits a AoC unit do they ignore it because they can't be shot? They were never determined to be the target of the shooting in either case.

Blasts can hit friendly units so not a good example
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Kroot Stalker





JakeSiren wrote:
Captyn_Bob wrote:
Allies of Convenience cannot be "shot".

So does this fall under the definition of "shot"?

I'd say it does, so it is not allowed.

Does it though? If a blast scatters and hits a AoC unit do they ignore it because they can't be shot? They were never determined to be the target of the shooting in either case.


You can scatter and hit the unit that fired the weapon. Very bad example.

You can“t purposefully target your own models unless there is a rule that allows this such as renegades HQ.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





JakeSiren wrote:
Captyn_Bob wrote:
Allies of Convenience cannot be "shot".

So does this fall under the definition of "shot"?

I'd say it does, so it is not allowed.

Does it though? If a blast scatters and hits a AoC unit do they ignore it because they can't be shot? They were never determined to be the target of the shooting in either case.


But you're not allowed to initially place the blast marker over any models in the AoC unit.
   
Made in fr
Been Around the Block




Hmmm.

AoC units are considered to be enemies, but ones that cannot be shot. Then again, template doesn't allow you to place the template over friendly models, which AoC technically aren't...
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





But it's still shooting a unit you're not allowed to shoot.
   
Made in fr
Been Around the Block




 doctortom wrote:
But it's still shooting a unit you're not allowed to shoot.



Good point. But are you actually targeting/shooting another unit, and an enemy unit happens to be in the way? Remember you must cover as much of the target unit as possible, so this is kind of rare
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

No, you cannot. This is the same as placing a blast template.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: