Switch Theme:

Guilliman, Multiple enemy units in combat, challenge, and whirlwind question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan





Denver, Colorado

Take, for example, if G-man was in close combat with 3 enemy units, units A, B, and C.

3 models from each unit are within 1" of G-man, for a total of 9. So, G-man elects to do his whirlwind attack, the rules for which read as follows: "Guilliman can make a number of attacks with his weapon against each enemy unit in combat equal to the number of models from that unit within 1" of him".

So, 3 models from 3 units are within 1" of him, he gets 3 attacks against each. Simple enough.

Now, lets say a character from unit A issues a challenge.

According to the challenge rules: "When allocating Wounds caused by either of these two models [referring to the challengers], they must be allocated to their opponent first."

Does this mean that all 9 of the big G's whirlwind attacks would have to be allocated to his challenger, and units B and C couldn't be hit?

Furthermore, if the challenger was a soft target, say, a runtherd with a unit of grots. In the combatant slain paragraph of the challenge section, it says: "If a character that is involved in a challenge slays his opponent, each excess Wound inflicted by the victor is then allocated, one at a time, to the next nearest enemy model that is locked in the combat."

So, if the answer to the whirlwind question was, "yes, all attacks must be allocated to the challenger", would the remaining attacks have to be allocated to the models closest to the challenger, in this case, grots?

I'm not going to lie, I am biased, and have used the above challenge rules to funnel dangerous attacks from more valuable squads, and I'm pretty sure it's legal move. I would love to be able to do so with G's attacks, but I honestly am not certain if it applies to a whirlwind type attack.

Any thoughts?

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2017/03/16 16:31:26


"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. 
   
Made in us
Clousseau





East Bay, Ca, US

This is a very good question.

On the one hand, you could argue that he would have to funnel them all into the challenger, by challenge rules.

On the other, though, his rule is more specific and requires him to divide his attacks between the units in base contact with him. I would argue that this rule takes precedence and that he would have 3 attacks funneled into the challenger, whereas the other 6 would go between the other two units.


 Galas wrote:
I remember when Marmatag was a nooby, all shiney and full of joy. How playing the unbalanced mess of Warhammer40k in a ultra-competitive meta has changed you

Bharring wrote:
He'll actually *change his mind* in the presence of sufficient/sufficiently defended information. Heretic.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I'd go with what Marmatag is saying. The attacks that go against the unit that has the model challenging him would get those attacks, while the attacks on other units go to them as normal for him.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Can he use the Sweep attack while locked in a challenge? I know similar abilities (such as Yriel's Eye of Wrath) specifically state it cannot be used in a challenge.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Damsel of the Lady




 Happyjew wrote:
Can he use the Sweep attack while locked in a challenge? I know similar abilities (such as Yriel's Eye of Wrath) specifically state it cannot be used in a challenge.


I can't open it right now but my memory says there is no challenge prohibition in the text of it like Yriel's.
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan





Denver, Colorado

Yeah, it doesn't say he cant. The text is, I think, exactly what I quoted. (some of it was cut off from the rules pic I could find).

"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. 
   
Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut






 Marmatag wrote:
This is a very good question.

On the one hand, you could argue that he would have to funnel them all into the challenger, by challenge rules.

On the other, though, his rule is more specific and requires him to divide his attacks between the units in base contact with him. I would argue that this rule takes precedence and that he would have 3 attacks funneled into the challenger, whereas the other 6 would go between the other two units.



Sounds logical. Weird, but logical.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: