| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/24 18:33:50
Subject: Triumvirate Save Rerolls For The Whole Army?
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
Does the Triumvirate Formation, the one with Bobby G., save rerolls apply to just the models from the formation? Or the whole army?
I think it's just the formation, but some people at my GW insist it's the whole army.
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/24 19:17:15
Subject: Triumvirate Save Rerolls For The Whole Army?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
I haven't seen the Foramtion as yet, but I feel pretty safe saying that it only applies to the models in the formation. To date, exactly ZERO formations, detachments, etc give bonuses to models that are not part of said formation/detachment. At least not direct bonuses anyway.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/03/24 19:17:36
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/24 22:08:45
Subject: Triumvirate Save Rerolls For The Whole Army?
|
 |
Damsel of the Lady
|
I've got the rule right here. I can see why they might make that argument. The rule itself doesn't say the models can re-roll; it says 'you', meaning the player can re-roll a saving throw.
I think the Main Rulebook answers this though. Under Command Benefits: "This section of the Detachment lists any special rules or benefits that apply to some or all of the models in that Detachment". So it should only apply to the Triumvirate.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/24 22:25:04
Subject: Triumvirate Save Rerolls For The Whole Army?
|
 |
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought
|
Galef wrote:I haven't seen the Foramtion as yet, but I feel pretty safe saying that it only applies to the models in the formation.
To date, exactly ZERO formations, detachments, etc give bonuses to models that are not part of said formation/detachment.
At least not direct bonuses anyway.
Well... No, not true. There's a SW formation where the Techpriest gives buffs to all friendly vehicles within 12", and the Triumvurate of the Imperium gives either Stubborn or Fearless to your whole army.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/25 17:44:15
Subject: Triumvirate Save Rerolls For The Whole Army?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The rule is pretty clear.
Touched by Fate You can re-roll one failed saving throw each turn for each model from this detachment.
GS3, p. 130, emphasis mine.
There is a clear permission there - you can recoll one failed saving throw reach turn - for whom? - for each model from this detachment.
I guess if you want to be obtuse you could claim that "for each model from this detachment" is a convoluted way to say "three" or "as many as alive", but that seems really far-fetched.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/03/25 17:44:35
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/26 19:56:44
Subject: Triumvirate Save Rerolls For The Whole Army?
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
Audustum wrote:I've got the rule right here. I can see why they might make that argument. The rule itself doesn't say the models can re-roll; it says 'you', meaning the player can re-roll a saving throw.
I think the Main Rulebook answers this though. Under Command Benefits: "This section of the Detachment lists any special rules or benefits that apply to some or all of the models in that Detachment". So it should only apply to the Triumvirate.
Thank you-I really need a direct reference.
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/27 21:32:23
Subject: Triumvirate Save Rerolls For The Whole Army?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Stephanius wrote:The rule is pretty clear.
Touched by Fate You can re-roll one failed saving throw each turn for each model from this detachment.
GS3, p. 130, emphasis mine.
There is a clear permission there - you can recoll one failed saving throw reach turn - for whom? - for each model from this detachment.
I guess if you want to be obtuse you could claim that "for each model from this detachment" is a convoluted way to say "three" or "as many as alive", but that seems really far-fetched.
If this is the case, that formation is your primary detachment (if bobby G is your warlord) since it is a formation it is a detachment in it's own right.
In this case, it only applies to the formation itself cause the formation is a detachment, if you could add it to other detachments then it would proliferate to the main detachment because of how it's worded. But the formation itself does not come standard in any other formation
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 15:25:23
Subject: Triumvirate Save Rerolls For The Whole Army?
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
mchammadad wrote: Stephanius wrote:The rule is pretty clear.
Touched by Fate You can re-roll one failed saving throw each turn for each model from this detachment.
GS3, p. 130, emphasis mine.
There is a clear permission there - you can recoll one failed saving throw reach turn - for whom? - for each model from this detachment.
I guess if you want to be obtuse you could claim that "for each model from this detachment" is a convoluted way to say "three" or "as many as alive", but that seems really far-fetched.
If this is the case, that formation is your primary detachment (if bobby G is your warlord) since it is a formation it is a detachment in it's own right.
In this case, it only applies to the formation itself cause the formation is a detachment, if you could add it to other detachments then it would proliferate to the main detachment because of how it's worded. But the formation itself does not come standard in any other formation
It would not "proliferate." It would still only apply to the detachment being granted the rule, in the same way that a Raptor Talon's benefits do not apply to a Chaos Warband simply because they are taken in the same mega-detachment.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|