Switch Theme:

Word of the Phoenix and Vehicles  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Executing Exarch





"Word of the Phoenix is a psychic power that targets a friendly
unit with the Strength from Death special rule within
24". That unit can immediately make a Soulburst action"

Can Ynnari faction vehicles be targeted with this power ?

The Strength from Death 'triggered' soulburst precludes vehicles but the power just states make a Soulburst action

Could be handy to move, shoot and then flat out out of LOS or into cover, sadly I don't think you could double tap as the FAQ and BRB are at odds

"AND YET YOU ACT AS IF THERE IS SOME IDEAL ORDER IN THE WORLD, AS IF THERE IS SOME...SOME RIGHTNESS IN THE UNIVERSE BY WHICH IT MAY BE JUDGED." 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





You are correct that the Strength from Death rule says that it triggers when a unit dies within a non-vehicle unit within 7 inches of a unit composed entirely of models with this special rule, and then to pick one of those units. In this way, Strength from Death doesn't preclude a vehicle from making a Soulburst action per se, but it does preclude it from being selected to make a Soulburst action.

By the RAW, you are correct. The power instructs the unit to make a Soulburst action.

However, I doubt that this is the RAI. It would be great to submit this to GW's facebook page for an FAQ request. Maybe they meant for it to work that way (hence why the vehicles still have the rule), or maybe they didn't (and this was just an oversight).

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





The FAQ answers it clearly

Q: Can Transports purchased as part of a Ynnari Detachment
make Soulbursts (e.g. using the United in Death special rule)?
A: No. Vehicles cannot make Soulburst actions.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch





Cheers I did read the FAQ but sort of filed it away under the general Strength from Death 'triggers', but like you say that explictly forbids Soulburst, shame but reasonable

"AND YET YOU ACT AS IF THERE IS SOME IDEAL ORDER IN THE WORLD, AS IF THERE IS SOME...SOME RIGHTNESS IN THE UNIVERSE BY WHICH IT MAY BE JUDGED." 
   
Made in ca
Masculine Male Wych





Under your bed

MarkyMark wrote:
The FAQ answers it clearly

Q: Can Transports purchased as part of a Ynnari Detachment
make Soulbursts (e.g. using the United in Death special rule)?
A: No. Vehicles cannot make Soulburst actions.


can you link the FAQ here please
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch





https://www.warhammer-community.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/Gathering_Storm_II_v1.0.pdf

"AND YET YOU ACT AS IF THERE IS SOME IDEAL ORDER IN THE WORLD, AS IF THERE IS SOME...SOME RIGHTNESS IN THE UNIVERSE BY WHICH IT MAY BE JUDGED." 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: