Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/30 16:27:29
Subject: Soulburst and multiple charges
|
 |
Masculine Male Wych
|
Greetings Dakka,
i was reading the FAQ for strength of death and i seemed to notice there was no rule specifically denying the ability to make multiple charges, so would it be possible for a Wraithknight to charge into combat and happen to wipe out an enemy squad through close combat to soulburst charge into another squad in the same turn?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/30 16:40:51
Subject: Soulburst and multiple charges
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
That is correct. If the enemy unit was completely wiped out, then the Wraithknight can make a charge to a new unit. Not known; does this create a new round of combat? There's been very healthy debate on this subject folks, so we're just waiting for GW to update the FAQ on this.
For the time being, the nice thing to do is to say that while it does start a new round of combat, that the Wraithknight doesn't get to fight a second time, and only the models you've engaged get to fight (OUCH).
However, personally, I feel it starts a new fight that you get to have both sides engage in.
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/30 16:46:35
Subject: Soulburst and multiple charges
|
 |
Masculine Male Wych
|
Yarium wrote:That is correct. If the enemy unit was completely wiped out, then the Wraithknight can make a charge to a new unit. Not known; does this create a new round of combat? There's been very healthy debate on this subject folks, so we're just waiting for GW to update the FAQ on this.
For the time being, the nice thing to do is to say that while it does start a new round of combat, that the Wraithknight doesn't get to fight a second time, and only the models you've engaged get to fight (OUCH).
However, personally, I feel it starts a new fight that you get to have both sides engage in.
i believe it does start a new round of combat as the wraith Knight wouldn't get to actually be involved in the combat until the next initative step, (as per the rules) so i believe that would allow the Wraith Knight or some other form of unit to do the additional charge and then begin combat at the upcoming initiative level
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/30 16:53:52
Subject: Soulburst and multiple charges
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
It does create a new combat in which the enemy models strike at their regular Initiative, but the WK will only strike at the initiative after the last one it fought at.
So if the WK has already resolved its I:5 attacks, it will only get its I:1 Stomp in the new combat
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/30 17:05:57
Subject: Soulburst and multiple charges
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Shoreline
|
It all depends on the 2nd unit you charged with your WK. Has it resolved its combat yet?
For example:
Unit A was wiped by WK at Init 5.
WK Soulburst and charged Unit B
-Unit B has not resolved its combat-
Unit B gets to attack from Init 10 and below while the WK only from Init 4 and below
-Unit B has resolved its combat-
Unit B does not get to attack while the WK can attack Init 4 and below.
The charging during the Fight-Subphase only affects the "charging unit" per the FAQ.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/30 17:18:02
Subject: Soulburst and multiple charges
|
 |
Masculine Male Wych
|
ok i think i understand now, so my Wraith Knight won't get its full combat ability until the next round of combat after the turn it soul bursted. which is why it'll only get it's 1 stomp at I:1 yeah?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/30 17:18:57
Subject: Soulburst and multiple charges
|
 |
Damsel of the Lady
|
We actually discussed part of this here:
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/721398.page
To reiterate some points:
With the FAQ errata, Strength from Death now reads, in relevant part (reprinting with some liberality as the vast majority of it is online for free as a FAQ);
Whenever a unit is completely destroyed within 7" of one or more non-vehicle units that consist only of models with this special rule, pick one of those units to make a Soulburst action. You cannot pick a unit that has one or more models in base contact with an enemy model, that is Fallintg Back or that has Gone to Ground. A unit making a Soulburst action can do one of the following, even if it has already done so in this turn:
*snip*
A unit that uses a Soulburst action to make a charge in the Fight-subphase does so at the end of the current initiative step.
-If they join a combat that has already been resolved, resolve the remaining Initiaitve steps for the models in the charging unit (for example, if a unit used a Soulburst action to charge into a resolved combat at the end of Initiative step 6, the charging unit then makes any attacks that are resolved at Initiative step 5 or lower).
-If they join a combat that has yet to be resolved, only resolve the remaining Initiative steps for the models in the charging unit when that combat is resolved (for example, if a unit uses a Soulburst action to charge into an unresolved combat at the end of Initiative step 4, when that combat is resolved, the charging unit can only make attacks that are resolved at Initiative step 3 or lower).
Units that use a Soulburst action to charge in the Fight sub-phase cannot use any abilities that are used at the start of the Fight sub-phase (for example issuing a challenge).
*snip*
Adding to Tautastic, a sizable portion of the player base believes if you charged a unit that was not involved in any combat then both sides would restart at I10.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/03/30 17:19:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/30 20:27:18
Subject: Soulburst and multiple charges
|
 |
Violent Space Marine Dedicated to Khorne
Someplace someplace Darkplace
|
I always played it as if the wk wipes out a unit at I step 5, his soulburst happens end of I5, and if charging into a new one; the new combat starts at I4, and anyone who has attacks at I4 or lower can use them. (Providing they haven't already).
|
Something ...... something .... Dark side.... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/30 20:46:46
Subject: Soulburst and multiple charges
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
NOt quite how the FAQ has it - they limit only the charging unit's attacks to after the initiative it soulburst in. It doesn't say start the new combat at Initiative 4. You'd let the other side have its attacks at all its initiatives. The second bullet point in the errata explains it.. (If it's a combat that already resolved that round, you get to make all the remaining attacks at those lower initiatives but the enemy doesn't get to attack since it already used its attacks that round - 1st bullet point in the errata)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/31 21:43:41
Subject: Soulburst and multiple charges
|
 |
Masculine Male Wych
|
doctortom wrote:NOt quite how the FAQ has it - they limit only the charging unit's attacks to after the initiative it soulburst in. It doesn't say start the new combat at Initiative 4. You'd let the other side have its attacks at all its initiatives. The second bullet point in the errata explains it.. (If it's a combat that already resolved that round, you get to make all the remaining attacks at those lower initiatives but the enemy doesn't get to attack since it already used its attacks that round - 1st bullet point in the errata)
well now its come up as a point of contention that because i was in CC when i destroyed the enemy unit and im still considered "locked in combat" im not allowed to soulburst with that unit.
also If my WK charges into a I2 unit and wipes it then charges into a I6 squad do the I6 squad get their attacks?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/31 22:22:59
Subject: Soulburst and multiple charges
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
asdrubeal vect124 wrote: doctortom wrote:NOt quite how the FAQ has it - they limit only the charging unit's attacks to after the initiative it soulburst in. It doesn't say start the new combat at Initiative 4. You'd let the other side have its attacks at all its initiatives. The second bullet point in the errata explains it.. (If it's a combat that already resolved that round, you get to make all the remaining attacks at those lower initiatives but the enemy doesn't get to attack since it already used its attacks that round - 1st bullet point in the errata)
well now its come up as a point of contention that because i was in CC when i destroyed the enemy unit and im still considered "locked in combat" im not allowed to soulburst with that unit.
also If my WK charges into a I2 unit and wipes it then charges into a I6 squad do the I6 squad get their attacks?
The restrictions have changed slightly. You can Soulburst when locked in combat, as long as the unit is not in base contact with any enemy models. Which leads to some very interesting situations, but I digress. As for the wraithknight, if you charge into a new unit (or an unresolved combat), only the models that have not attacked would be able to attack. So your Wraithknight would not get to attack (other than the I1 Stomp), but your opponents models would be able to.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/31 22:50:12
Subject: Soulburst and multiple charges
|
 |
Masculine Male Wych
|
Happyjew wrote: asdrubeal vect124 wrote: doctortom wrote:NOt quite how the FAQ has it - they limit only the charging unit's attacks to after the initiative it soulburst in. It doesn't say start the new combat at Initiative 4. You'd let the other side have its attacks at all its initiatives. The second bullet point in the errata explains it.. (If it's a combat that already resolved that round, you get to make all the remaining attacks at those lower initiatives but the enemy doesn't get to attack since it already used its attacks that round - 1st bullet point in the errata)
well now its come up as a point of contention that because i was in CC when i destroyed the enemy unit and im still considered "locked in combat" im not allowed to soulburst with that unit.
also If my WK charges into a I2 unit and wipes it then charges into a I6 squad do the I6 squad get their attacks?
The restrictions have changed slightly. You can Soulburst when locked in combat, as long as the unit is not in base contact with any enemy models. Which leads to some very interesting situations, but I digress. As for the wraithknight, if you charge into a new unit (or an unresolved combat), only the models that have not attacked would be able to attack. So your Wraithknight would not get to attack (other than the I1 Stomp), but your opponents models would be able to.
thanks, i knew about the WK being unable to attack normally and i was fairly certain i could use the soulburst without being B2B but the Locked in combat i didn't know about
|
|
 |
 |
|