Switch Theme:

Can GSC Heavy Rock Cutter instagib Gulliman or a Wraithknight?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Infiltrating Broodlord





So was deciding what weapons to give my Acolytes and was looking at the Rock Cutter special rule

Snip: When a Model suffers one or more unsaved Wounds from this weapon, it must pass a separate Toughness test for each Wound Suffered or be removed from paly.


Now that got me thinking, Could this just insta kill Gulliman, with out him having a chance to get back up (since he is no longer there) or even insta kill a wraith knight?

I know it would be very unlikely as it would require a roll of 6 on the toughness test, but got me thinking at the same time

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/04/03 01:02:08


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






Toughness test is roll equal to or under the toughness value to pass. You'll never roll over a 6. so no.

Like Minis and sculpts? Check out our Patreon! https://www.patreon.com/themakerscult 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Not sure on Guilliman, however the Wraithknight being a Gargantuan Creature has special immunity to remove from play effects.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in au
Infiltrating Broodlord





 MattKing wrote:
Toughness test is roll equal to or under the toughness value to pass. You'll never roll over a 6. so no.


See I thought 6 was always a Fail
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

GodDamUser wrote:
 MattKing wrote:
Toughness test is roll equal to or under the toughness value to pass. You'll never roll over a 6. so no.


See I thought 6 was always a Fail


For Characteristic tests (not including Leadership tests) a roll of a natural 6 is an auto fail. This was how my Tyrannofex got sucked into a Monolith portal.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal




Robbie G would still be able to get back up on a 4+ next turn. It's any time he is slain so unless they FAQ remove from play as getting around the rule...

It'd be amazing to see since the Acolyte would be going last and Robbie gets a 3+ invul save
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






and FNP

Like Minis and sculpts? Check out our Patreon! https://www.patreon.com/themakerscult 
   
Made in au
Infiltrating Broodlord





But yeah just using Guilliman as a extreme case..

Because what I am really thinking of taking these for when I play Tau and Face Multiple riptides

While still not the best odds, it will be more useful than rock saws
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

Pretty sure Removed From Play ignores FNP and coming back to life abilities, but i may be behind the times. There was a distinction from Removed as a Casualty.

The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Ascalam wrote:Pretty sure Removed From Play ignores FNP and coming back to life abilities, but i may be behind the times. There was a distinction from Removed as a Casualty.

Feel No Pain only negates Wounds allocated to the model, it does not affect direct Remove From Play affects that do not have a Wound associated with them.

However, for rules in which it requires a Test before Remove From Play, we can look at the Helfrost ruling on the BRB Update for precedent in which the RFP only applies if FNP fails. The initial Wound basis has to be ID or Destroyer to automatically disallow the FNP roll.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Norn Queen






That being said, remove from play is not a casualty. It would prevent him from potentially coming back next turn. He would be full gone in a single stroke IF you can get the wound, make it past the FNP and a roll of 6 on the test.

Not reliable. But it would work.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/04/04 08:38:50



These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Earth

 Lance845 wrote:
That being said, remove from play is not a casualty. It would prevent him from potentially coming back next turn. He would be full gone in a single stroke IF you can get the wound, make it past the FNP and a roll of 6 on the test.

Not reliable. But it would work.


wasn't there an FAQ that said removed and casualty are the same thing?
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






 Formosa wrote:
 Lance845 wrote:
That being said, remove from play is not a casualty. It would prevent him from potentially coming back next turn. He would be full gone in a single stroke IF you can get the wound, make it past the FNP and a roll of 6 on the test.

Not reliable. But it would work.


wasn't there an FAQ that said removed and casualty are the same thing?
Can't find anything in the rulebook FAQ from a brief glance. But if it doesn't count as a casualty, then you won't get Slay the Warlord or Kingslayer
   
Made in fi
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver





Boston

 Quanar wrote:
 Formosa wrote:
 Lance845 wrote:
That being said, remove from play is not a casualty. It would prevent him from potentially coming back next turn. He would be full gone in a single stroke IF you can get the wound, make it past the FNP and a roll of 6 on the test.

Not reliable. But it would work.


wasn't there an FAQ that said removed and casualty are the same thing?
Can't find anything in the rulebook FAQ from a brief glance. But if it doesn't count as a casualty, then you won't get Slay the Warlord or Kingslayer


He's not on the table at the end of the game so he's counted as slain. Otherwise nonsense like so and so sargent is my warlord, I don't have a model, he's removed from play, no warlord for you. I think everyone agrees that that is nonsense. Even on YMDC.
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Lance845 wrote:
That being said, remove from play is not a casualty. It would prevent him from potentially coming back next turn. He would be full gone in a single stroke IF you can get the wound, make it past the FNP and a roll of 6 on the test.

Not reliable. But it would work.

*ahem* From BRB > General Principles:
REMOVED AS A CASUALTY AND COMPLETELY DESTROYED
Models that are removed as casualties are removed from the table and placed to one side. When all of the models in a unit are removed as casualties, the unit is said to have been ‘completely destroyed’.

Models that are ‘removed from play’ by special rules or attacks are also considered to have been removed as casualties, as far as the game rules are concerned.

No FAQ is needed.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in au
Infiltrating Broodlord





But Removed as Casualties isn't Remove from Play

This is basically the old 'Remove from Play' and 'Destroy' argument from MTG
   
Made in ca
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






GodDamUser wrote:
But Removed as Casualties isn't Remove from Play

This is basically the old 'Remove from Play' and 'Destroy' argument from MTG


This....is actually more complicated than that. It's due to 40k's history of inconsistent wording. It all depends on if you want to treat "Removed from play" as different from "removed as casualty". Unfortunately, the rulebook and FAQ flipflops on this (using the two terms interchangably for situations that are definitely not interchangable) and we've had multi-page arguments on this too (mainly a lot of "blink" effects tells you to remove a model from play, which if treated the same as removed as casualty will trigger a variety of weird effects, yet the ones that are destruction-based ones clearly intend on them being "casualty")

For this case it's best to discuss with your opponent on whether or not "removed from play" is indeed different from "removed as casualty".

Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!


Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.


When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. 
   
Made in au
Lady of the Lake






BomBomHotdog wrote:
Robbie G would still be able to get back up on a 4+ next turn. It's any time he is slain so unless they FAQ remove from play as getting around the rule...

It'd be amazing to see since the Acolyte would be going last and Robbie gets a 3+ invul save


Remove from play =/= slain. The model is not killed it is removed instead.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: