| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/06 07:17:40
Subject: Ere We Go - Re roll both or one die
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Denmark
|
Hey,
as the subject says, do you re-roll both die or can you only pick one of them for the Ere We Go rule?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/06 07:53:35
Subject: Ere We Go - Re roll both or one die
|
 |
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator
|
"re-roll failed charge rolls"
A charge roll is 2D6.
Re-roll both.
Also see sidebar Re-Rolls on BRB 178. Roll "some or all of the dice again". May never re-roll a dice more than once.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/06 07:56:21
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/06 17:22:35
Subject: Ere We Go - Re roll both or one die
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
FunJohn wrote:Hey,
as the subject says, do you re-roll both die or can you only pick one of them for the Ere We Go rule?
You can reroll 1 or both.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/06 20:26:35
Subject: Ere We Go - Re roll both or one die
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
mhalko1 wrote:FunJohn wrote:Hey,
as the subject says, do you re-roll both die or can you only pick one of them for the Ere We Go rule?
You can reroll 1 or both.
You reroll the failed charge, which is two dice.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/06 21:45:25
Subject: Ere We Go - Re roll both or one die
|
 |
Nasty Nob
|
Jacksmiles wrote:mhalko1 wrote:FunJohn wrote:Hey,
as the subject says, do you re-roll both die or can you only pick one of them for the Ere We Go rule?
You can reroll 1 or both.
You reroll the failed charge, which is two dice.
The side bar on re-rolls specifically addresses cases where a roll consists of multiuple dice, and says you may re-roll one or all.
A charge is a dice roll
a failed charge is a failed dice roll.
You may reroll one or all of the dice when you fail a dice roll and are allowed to make a reroll
Unless someone is ready to make the argument that a charge is not a dice roll for some reason, or that when the rules refer to 'one or all' they actually mean 'only all' you are allowed to reroll your pick of one of those dice, or both of them.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/06/06 21:54:23
ERJAK wrote:
The fluff is like ketchup and mustard on a burger. Yes it's desirable, yes it makes things better, but no it doesn't fundamentally change what you're eating and no you shouldn't just drown the whole meal in it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/06 22:05:23
Subject: Ere We Go - Re roll both or one die
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
Oh cool! Missed that
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/06 23:58:41
Subject: Ere We Go - Re roll both or one die
|
 |
Yellin' Yoof
Southern Indiana
|
Uhm people 'Ere We Go' is specific, Ork Codex page 92 "If Every model in a unit has this special rule, The unit can Re-roll a SINGLE dice when determining its charge range"
|
DieHard 40K player. Primary Army: Goff/Deffskull Orks 18,000+ pts (And Growing Still, slowly)
Secondary army: Mentor Legion Space Marines, 4000 or so (heading for about 7-8000)
Tertiary army: Tau , eh bout 1750 or so, (someday 2-3000) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/07 00:33:54
Subject: Ere We Go - Re roll both or one die
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
acme2468 wrote:Uhm people 'Ere We Go' is specific, Ork Codex page 92 "If Every model in a unit has this special rule, The unit can Re-roll a SINGLE dice when determining its charge range"
Uhm, it's the 8th edition rule being discussed and not the 7th edition rule.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/07 02:25:02
Subject: Ere We Go - Re roll both or one die
|
 |
Nasty Nob
|
EH, he must be a blood axe....
|
ERJAK wrote:
The fluff is like ketchup and mustard on a burger. Yes it's desirable, yes it makes things better, but no it doesn't fundamentally change what you're eating and no you shouldn't just drown the whole meal in it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/07 04:28:38
Subject: Ere We Go - Re roll both or one die
|
 |
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator
|
The re-roll sidebar is a general statement. The specific text on Ere We Go is to re-roll failed charge rolls. A charge roll is 2D6. I don't read "some or all" as applying here.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/07 04:31:35
Subject: Ere We Go - Re roll both or one die
|
 |
Nasty Nob
|
Is a charge roll a die roll?
|
ERJAK wrote:
The fluff is like ketchup and mustard on a burger. Yes it's desirable, yes it makes things better, but no it doesn't fundamentally change what you're eating and no you shouldn't just drown the whole meal in it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/07 05:10:39
Subject: Ere We Go - Re roll both or one die
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
|
Yes, but I think the point that they're trying to make is that the sidebar is worded that way to include all types of rerolls, not to indicate that a reroll means you can choose whether reroll some or all of the dice. I personally think the rule should have been better worded in either case.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/07 07:14:33
Subject: Ere We Go - Re roll both or one die
|
 |
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator
|
Actually, RAW, I think @davou has it right. I'm changing my mind. I don't think it's RAI, it isn't consistent with previous versions, and it needs a FAQ, but RAW the sidebar brings it down on the side of re-roll any or all dice at your discretion.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/07 10:22:59
Subject: Ere We Go - Re roll both or one die
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
The Dark Eldar rule Eager to Flay is worded as: You can reroll the dice when determining how far a unit with this ability moves when it charges or advances.
This is a similar rule, so just to throw a spanner in the RAI works in 7th DE could reroll one or both when rerolling for charge range, so this replacement to that rule would seem to me to be RAI to choose one or both like it used to, backed up by the sidebar.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/07 10:23:24
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/07 13:16:56
Subject: Ere We Go - Re roll both or one die
|
 |
Nasty Nob
|
SuspiciousSucculent wrote:
Yes, but I think the point that they're trying to make is that the sidebar is worded that way to include all types of rerolls, not to indicate that a reroll means you can choose whether reroll some or all of the dice. I personally think the rule should have been better worded in either case.
It might have been better worded, but the wording is there and its absolutely on the side of rolling either one or more of the dice. if its worded that way to include all types of rerolls, then it includes charges.
|
ERJAK wrote:
The fluff is like ketchup and mustard on a burger. Yes it's desirable, yes it makes things better, but no it doesn't fundamentally change what you're eating and no you shouldn't just drown the whole meal in it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/07 14:09:40
Subject: Re:Ere We Go - Re roll both or one die
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
This bit of text (Re-Rolls on p. 178) does not give universal permission to re-roll "one or both" dice in a charge roll. This text establishes that there are abilities that exist that will grant a re-roll, and that those abilities will grant permission to re-roll "some or all of the dice." Reading through the re-rolls granted by different abilities/wargear will demonstrate that the number of dice a player is able to re-roll is stipulated in the description (of the ability/wargear that grants the re-roll).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/07 14:39:03
Subject: Re:Ere We Go - Re roll both or one die
|
 |
Nasty Nob
|
DCannon4Life wrote:This bit of text (Re-Rolls on p. 178) does not give universal permission to re-roll "one or both" dice in a charge roll.
This is exactly and explicitly what it gives permission for; unless you can argue that a charge roll isnt a roll
Ere we go says you are allowed to reroll the charge.
Reroll text says when you are granted a reroll you can reroll one or both.
Rules that stipulate will have the stipulations included on the text of that rule (like being allowed to reroll 1's); not leave things vague.
If ere we go was an exception to the blurb on 178, then it would say :
"Units with this rulle are allowed to reroll both the dice when making charge rolls"
instead of
"units with this rule are allowed to re-roll failed charge rolls"
We have
A faction specific special rule that allows to a reroll
Rules text that specifically deals with what a reroll means
Part of that text that specifically addresses when a roll contains plural dice.
For you to not be allowed to chose you either need to argue that ere we go isn't a reroll, that a charge roll isnt' a roll or that the rules team somehow meant 'all dice' when they specifically said 'one or more' dice.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/07 14:40:07
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/07 15:24:38
Subject: Ere We Go - Re roll both or one die
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I'm leaning towards the text discussion re-rolls trying to cover all the potential types of outcome, and EWG specifically stating the charge roll, i.e. both dice. But I think a clarification would definitely be in order.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/07 15:29:00
Subject: Re:Ere We Go - Re roll both or one die
|
 |
Nasty Nob
|
If every model in a unit has this special rule, the unit can re-roll a single dice when determining its charge range.
That's how it was worded in 7th.
If they wanted us to ignore the text regarding rerolls in 8th, they why wouldn't they specifically say so in the rules for ere we go? There's only one piece of text regarding rerolls in the book, and it specifically addresses multiple dice. If it wasn't meant to apply, they would have said so.
They may Errata the rule later on, but as it stands, you can play the game using the rules as they appear in the book on 178.
|
ERJAK wrote:
The fluff is like ketchup and mustard on a burger. Yes it's desirable, yes it makes things better, but no it doesn't fundamentally change what you're eating and no you shouldn't just drown the whole meal in it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/08 20:08:20
Subject: Ere We Go - Re roll both or one die
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
that's very helpful thanks!
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/11 05:47:55
Subject: Ere We Go - Re roll both or one die
|
 |
Snord
|
After breaking down the sentence I think it is clear.
The text specifically mentions a rule "Some rules allow you to re-roll a dice roll" and then describes what that rule means "which means you get to roll some or all of the dice again".
So Rule comma Definition.
Whether or not that was their intent I do not know but thats how it reads to me
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|