Switch Theme:

Chaos & Demonic Ritual  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Been Around the Block




Dortmund, Germany

Hello community,

Im a new player (Daemons & Deathwatch)
I have a question concerning "Demonic Ritual".

Yesterday i saw a batrep where a chaos player used a summoning list.
He had 3 Chaos Lords of Word Bearers and summoned random daemons by Demonic Ritual.

As far as i know, a character can only summon a unit that is compatible with his allegiance, for e.g. Tzeentch character = Tzeentch daemons.
But the Word Bearers Choas Lords could summon every daemon, independent of his allegiance.
How could he do that and where in the Chaos Index can i find the rules for this?

Its a Miniwargaming batrep. Im not sure if im allowed to post the link.
It was Dark Eldar vs Chaos (Faction Focus).

Can somebody help me out with my question?

Thank you!
   
Made in gb
Moustache-twirling Princeps




United Kingdom

Was the Chaos Lord unaligned?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






By default you can summon any DAEMON unit. If you have one of the main 4 gods as a keyword, you are then restricted. A Word Bearers chaos lord would presumably have no <MARK OF CHAOS> as they are optional. "You do not have to choose a Mark of Chaos for a unit if you do not want to; if you do not, it is assumed that the unit has not dedicated itself to one, or any of the Dark Gods."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/06 16:35:11


 
   
Made in de
Been Around the Block




Dortmund, Germany

I actually dont know.

All the guy says is: "If you have a specific god, then you have to summon from that god, but they are all Word Bearers, so theyre undivided."

This is the link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KQPEwaVguLk (4:25 min.)


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
By default you can summon any DAEMON unit. If you have one of the main 4 gods as a keyword, you are then restricted. A Word Bearers chaos lord would presumably have no <MARK OF CHAOS> as they are optional. "You do not have to choose a Mark of Chaos for a unit if you do not want to; if you do not, it is assumed that the unit has not dedicated itself to one, or any of the Dark Gods."


Okay i understand that. But if there is no Mark Of Chaos and no allegiance, can the character then use Demonic Ritual?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/06 16:41:57


 
   
Made in gb
Moustache-twirling Princeps




United Kingdom

DAEMONIC RITUAL:

Spoiler:
Instead of moving in their Movement phase, any CHAOS CHARACTER can, at the end of their Movement phase, attempt to summon a DAEMON unit with this ability by performing a Daemonic Ritual (the character cannot do so if they arrived as reinforcements this turn, or if they themselves have been summoned to the battlefield this turn).
If they do so, first choose one of the four Chaos Gods – KHORNE, TZEENTCH, NURGLE or SLAANESH. A CHARACTER who owes allegiance to one of the Dark Gods can only attempt to summon the units of their patron – for example, a KHORNE CHARACTER could only attempt to summon KHORNE DAEMONS.


So as long as they're a CHAOS CHARACTER they can.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/06 16:52:23


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

Ok 2 things:
A) CSM units with <Mark of Chaos> do not have to choose a Mark, so they have no alignment, thus can summon a Daemon unit of any alignment
B) Only <Daemon> units with the Daemonic Ritual on their datasheet can actually be summoned, not just ANY Daemon unit.
This is important because they are many CSM "Daemons" but that cannot be summoned since they do not have Daemonic Ritual. So you cannot summon Heldrakes or MaulerFiends or Oblits

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/06 16:59:08


   
Made in de
Been Around the Block




Dortmund, Germany

beast_gts wrote:
DAEMONIC RITUAL:
If they do so, first choose one of the four Chaos Gods – KHORNE, TZEENTCH, NURGLE or SLAANESH.


Does this refer to the type of daemons you want to summon?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






DortmundOutpost wrote:
beast_gts wrote:
DAEMONIC RITUAL:
If they do so, first choose one of the four Chaos Gods – KHORNE, TZEENTCH, NURGLE or SLAANESH.


Does this refer to the type of daemons you want to summon?
It refers to the <MARK OF CHAOS> keyword some units have. If they have that mark, they can only summon Daemons with the same mark.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/06 18:00:10


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

The way it works is that you must choose an alignment prior to rolling the 3D6. The unit you summon must be this alignment.
It has nothing to do with the alignment of the summoner, other than the fact that the summoner cannot choose an alignment that isn't his own

Think of it like this: The character is "praying" to a specific chaos god, that is the alignment you choose, then roll for Power level, then choose a unit of that alignment that is no more than the PL you rolled
A Khorne character can only "pray" to Khorne
A Nurgle character can only "pray" to Nurgle, and so on
An unalignmed character (so only Heretic Astartes that are unmarked or Be'lakor or Abbaddon) can "pray" to any one of the 4.

-

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2017/07/06 18:48:12


   
Made in de
Been Around the Block




Dortmund, Germany

@Galef and all others

Thank you, its clear to me now!

What a great community, answering and helping fast & polite!

See you at my next thread
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: