Switch Theme:

Does Kauyon also apply to the Commander?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Deadly Dire Avenger





"Until the end of the turn, you can re-roll failed hit rolls for friendly <SEPT> units within 6", but these units cannot move for any reason".

As the Commander is a friendly <SEPT> unit, does this ability and restriction also apply to him?

I was considering using a Coldstar Commander and starting him on the board. Then turn 1 calling Kauyon, manta striking some Crisis Suits down then advancing 40" over to them to give them the benefit. Is this possible? Or would Kauyon lock the commander in place at the start of the turn? Or can you still move but you lose the benefits of the re-roll?

(Apologies if this has been asked already.)
   
Made in gb
Lesser Daemon of Chaos





West Yorkshire

 JJ wrote:
"Until the end of the turn, you can re-roll failed hit rolls for friendly <SEPT> units within 6", but these units cannot move for any reason".

As the Commander is a friendly <SEPT> unit, does this ability and restriction also apply to him?


Yes, as he fulfils all the necessary requirements.

 JJ wrote:
I was considering using a Coldstar Commander and starting him on the board. Then turn 1 calling Kauyon, manta striking some Crisis Suits down then advancing 40" over to them to give them the benefit. Is this possible? Or would Kauyon lock the commander in place at the start of the turn? Or can you still move but you lose the benefits of the re-roll?[/i]


This will not work.

You cannot advance the commander after bringing in the crisis suits as entering from reserves is resolved at the end of movement, therefore you miss the opportunity there to move.

Yes, you could declare Kauyon and then move, gaining the benefit is optional however and units would have to be within 6 inch of his final postion to gain the benefit.

There may be a cause for what you say though. If GW FAQ as to whether you count as moving after deploying like this, you could theoretically declare Kauyon, advance to your desired position, bring in the suits and if the rules say you don't count as moving, you could claim benefits of Kauyon on the suits to make a devastating offensive.


5000pts W4/ D0/ L5
5000pts W10/ D2/ L7
 
   
Made in gb
Deadly Dire Avenger





Tristanleo wrote:


There may be a cause for what you say though. If GW FAQ as to whether you count as moving after deploying like this, you could theoretically declare Kauyon, advance to your desired position, bring in the suits and if the rules say you don't count as moving, you could claim benefits of Kauyon on the suits to make a devastating offensive.



Sorry, this was what I intended rather than manta striking then advancing - I intended to say that I'd advance over to where they land, ready to give them the benefit.

Thanks for the clarification!
   
Made in gb
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine





As a general rule, area effect abilities (auras) also affect the character causing them, assuming they're eligible by keyword - unless the ability says otherwise, of course.
"Aura abilities" sidebar, next to the shooting rules.

"Kauyon: Until the end of the turn, you can re-roll failed hit rolls for friendly<SEPT>units within 6", but these units cannot move for any reason."

Obvs the commander needs to be on the field at the start of your turn to trigger it. The question is -
a) can you opt to still move if you don't take advantage of the aura
b) nobody in the aura gets to move for any reason, which includes advancing (advancing is an additional distance added to your normal move)

If b, then the commander is affected by his own aura, and cannot move up the field.

if a, the commander could move up, but doesn't get the re-roll, but units that haven't moved in his final area get the benefit.

FWIW, I read it as a, and my reading elsewhere is most people do, but it's not clearcut. Of course, the FAQ didn't clear this little problem up, sigh.

The other thing to bear in mind is that manta strike is counted as a move. "reinforcements", sidebar next to movement phase.
"Units that arrive as reinforcements count as having moved in their movement phase for all rules purposes"

So even assuming you can trigger kauyon and still advance the commander, your manta strike crisis suits would count as moving and thus not be eligible for the re-roll anyway.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Kauyon if poorly worded at best.

It does not force a lack of movement when it is used, but then can only be of use to a unit that did not move. It is also situatuonal for when your unit did not move as that will remove negative modifiers to heavy weapons(where you want to reroll) it would have been better as a blanket +1 to hit if the unit does not move.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: