| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/03 15:31:10
Subject: Blood for the Blood God
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
Hanoi, Vietnam.
|
I don't have the text in front of me right now, so apologies for any paraphrasing, but as I recall, Blood for the Blood God allows a unit to fight twice in the fight phase. What isn't clear to me, is when the unit fights, does the unit fight once before moving on to the next unit, or does it fight once and then fight again immediately after, thereby effectively doubling it's attacks. Apologies if the answer is right there in black & white, but I just can't find it anywhere.
Thanks.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/03 15:40:00
Subject: Re:Blood for the Blood God
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
From Rulebook FAQ on GQ Community Website, https://www.warhammer-community.com/2017/07/23/updated-faqs-and-boots-on-the-groundgw-homepage-post-2/ :
Q: If a unit has an ability that allows it to fight twice in the Fight phase (e.g. Berzerkers), at what point during the Fight phase do they fight for the second time?
A: Treat each time the unit is able to fight as a separate unit selected to fight for all purposes.
EDIT: So, you select them a second time, meaning you get to do EVERYTHING that selecting them once would do over again! That means additional pile-in and consolidate moves. It also means you can select them again as your next unit.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/03 15:41:15
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/03 15:40:49
Subject: Blood for the Blood God
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Ginjitzu wrote:I don't have the text in front of me right now, so apologies for any paraphrasing, but as I recall, Blood for the Blood God allows a unit to fight twice in the fight phase. What isn't clear to me, is when the unit fights, does the unit fight once before moving on to the next unit, or does it fight once and then fight again immediately after, thereby effectively doubling it's attacks. Apologies if the answer is right there in black & white, but I just can't find it anywhere.
Thanks.
Basically, if they charge they can fight twice in a row, if they don't the enemy gets a chance to swing back first.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/03 15:54:03
Subject: Blood for the Blood God
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
Hanoi, Vietnam.
|
Wow! That's devastating on the charge! My friend will be be mighty pleased - my tactical marines will not :(
Thanks for the info guys.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/03 16:12:17
Subject: Blood for the Blood God
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Ginjitzu wrote:Wow! That's devastating on the charge! My friend will be be mighty pleased - my tactical marines will not :(
Thanks for the info guys.
Whats more devastating is that they get +1 attack on the charge now in the new codex, and a stratagem to fight a 3rd time!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/03 17:25:50
Subject: Blood for the Blood God
|
 |
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores
|
Yup. a possible 18inches worth of pile ins & consolidates. Talk about a linebreaker unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/03 17:29:45
Subject: Blood for the Blood God
|
 |
Tzeentch Veteran Marine with Psychic Potential
|
BaconCatBug wrote: Ginjitzu wrote:I don't have the text in front of me right now, so apologies for any paraphrasing, but as I recall, Blood for the Blood God allows a unit to fight twice in the fight phase. What isn't clear to me, is when the unit fights, does the unit fight once before moving on to the next unit, or does it fight once and then fight again immediately after, thereby effectively doubling it's attacks. Apologies if the answer is right there in black & white, but I just can't find it anywhere.
Thanks.
Basically, if they charge they can fight twice in a row, if they don't the enemy gets a chance to swing back first.
Except against Slaanesh Daemons or Emperor's Children.
And this is why Khorne hates Slaanesh so much.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/03 19:36:22
Subject: Blood for the Blood God
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Sharazad87 wrote:Yup. a possible 18inches worth of pile ins & consolidates. Talk about a linebreaker unit.
You can only kill what you charge, so that will limit it a little bit. Not much will be left standing after the first two massacres.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/03 19:44:50
Subject: Blood for the Blood God
|
 |
Tzeentch Veteran Marine with Psychic Potential
|
MasterSlowPoke wrote:Sharazad87 wrote:Yup. a possible 18inches worth of pile ins & consolidates. Talk about a linebreaker unit.
You can only kill what you charge, so that will limit it a little bit. Not much will be left standing after the first two massacres.
Limits it to everything with 12" if you multi-charge all the targets and allow them Overwatch.
|
It's called a thick skin. The Jersey born have it innately. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/28 11:52:20
Subject: Blood for the Blood God
|
 |
Blood Sacrifice to Khorne
Ireland
|
If the charging WE Berzerkers annihilate the opposing unit in their first round of fighting, consolidate and pile-in around another opposing unit, do they get to act as if they charged again (getting to fight immediately and getting the +1 attack bonus)? Or is it a normal round of fighting (without the charge bonuses)?
EDIT: I suppose if the unit is treated as a separate unit for all purposes, it's as if a second unit of Khorne Berzerkers charged, so they still get all of the charge bonuses for their second fight.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/28 11:58:05
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/28 17:49:01
Subject: Blood for the Blood God
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Erisceres,
Simply fighting twice in the Fight Phase does not prevent them from triggering all the Rules that state 'Units/Models that charged this turn....'
Just keep the following in mind, for if they didn't declare the charge against multiple Units it will not matter:
Models that charged this turn can only target enemy units that they charged in the previous phase.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/28 17:52:56
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/28 18:05:35
Subject: Blood for the Blood God
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
USA, Maine
|
Sharazad87 wrote:Yup. a possible 18inches worth of pile ins & consolidates. Talk about a linebreaker unit.
How is it 18"? They get two consolidates and two pile ins. Thats only 12"
|
Painted armies:
Orks: 11000 points
Marines: 9500 points
Khorne Marines: 2500 points
Khorne Demons: 1500 points |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/28 18:09:34
Subject: Blood for the Blood God
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
BaconCatBug wrote: Ginjitzu wrote:I don't have the text in front of me right now, so apologies for any paraphrasing, but as I recall, Blood for the Blood God allows a unit to fight twice in the fight phase. What isn't clear to me, is when the unit fights, does the unit fight once before moving on to the next unit, or does it fight once and then fight again immediately after, thereby effectively doubling it's attacks. Apologies if the answer is right there in black & white, but I just can't find it anywhere.
Thanks.
Basically, if they charge they can fight twice in a row, if they don't the enemy gets a chance to swing back first.
Quick clarification - even if zerkers do charge, they can only fight once before the opponent has a chance to interrupt with 2 command points, right?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/28 18:23:33
Subject: Blood for the Blood God
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
USA, Maine
|
No, both activations count as charges. They can't interrupt.
|
Painted armies:
Orks: 11000 points
Marines: 9500 points
Khorne Marines: 2500 points
Khorne Demons: 1500 points |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/28 18:32:48
Subject: Blood for the Blood God
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
PhillyT wrote:No, both activations count as charges. They can't interrupt.
Both count as charges, but can be Interrupted by a stratagem as per normal for charges
|
DFTT |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/28 18:33:42
Subject: Blood for the Blood God
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
USA, Maine
|
I thought the stratagem only works to disrupt after chargers have finished their charges.
|
Painted armies:
Orks: 11000 points
Marines: 9500 points
Khorne Marines: 2500 points
Khorne Demons: 1500 points |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/28 18:35:07
Subject: Blood for the Blood God
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
PhillyT wrote:I thought the stratagem only works to disrupt after chargers have finished their charges. "This Stratagem is used right after an enemy unit that charged has fought." You use it in the fight phase, after all charges.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/08/28 18:35:38
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/28 18:38:27
Subject: Blood for the Blood God
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
USA, Maine
|
So as long as one enemy unit that charged has done so, you can interrupt. Gotcha. Thanks for the clarification!
|
Painted armies:
Orks: 11000 points
Marines: 9500 points
Khorne Marines: 2500 points
Khorne Demons: 1500 points |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/30 04:10:24
Subject: Blood for the Blood God
|
 |
Tzeentch Veteran Marine with Psychic Potential
|
PhillyT wrote:Sharazad87 wrote:Yup. a possible 18inches worth of pile ins & consolidates. Talk about a linebreaker unit.
How is it 18"? They get two consolidates and two pile ins. Thats only 12"
They get a third with the stratagem. Which was mentioned in post immediately before the one you quoted.
|
It's called a thick skin. The Jersey born have it innately. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/30 11:08:16
Subject: Blood for the Blood God
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
USA, Maine
|
Oh okay, I missed that!
|
Painted armies:
Orks: 11000 points
Marines: 9500 points
Khorne Marines: 2500 points
Khorne Demons: 1500 points |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/31 22:58:01
Subject: Blood for the Blood God
|
 |
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler
|
I think the +1 attack the World Eaters get on the charge is worded 'in the subsequent Fight Phase'. Not sure if that's relevant (gotta reread the rulebook a few times) but if all the pile-ins and consolidations happen in the same single Fight Phase they'd get that all of those 3 rounds of fighting.
Which is great because I finally got my first 10 Berzerkers and a Dreadclaw ready to rock!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/31 23:43:43
Subject: Blood for the Blood God
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
The Warp
|
BaconCatBug wrote: PhillyT wrote:I thought the stratagem only works to disrupt after chargers have finished their charges.
"This Stratagem is used right after an enemy unit that charged has fought." You use it in the fight phase, after all charges.
Wait, no. "After a unit that charged has fought" and "after all charges" are definitely not the same thing. If you had to wait for all units that have charged to fight, the stratagem would be useless.
So yes, you can certainly use the stratagem in-between two activations of a 'zerker unit. In fact, you could even use it before a 'zerker unit's first activation, as long as another charging unit has already fought.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/04 04:25:33
Subject: Blood for the Blood God
|
 |
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker
|
Do you only need to declare units as targets of a charge to count as charging them (assuming you actually make it within 1" of one of those declared), or must you end up within 1" of every unit you declared as a target to strike them at any point in close combat?
For example, I declare charges against units A, B, and C, but I only move within1 " of unit A. I wipe out unit A, and then manage to consolidate into units B and C during the unit's second activation via Blood for the Blood God. Can B and C be struck?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/04 04:27:07
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/04 08:56:25
Subject: Blood for the Blood God
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
The first model you move must finish within 1" of an enemy
model from one of the target units.
- Snippet from 4. Make Charge Move
You are only required to make sure the first Model is within a single inch of any of the charged units or it to be a 'successful charge,' no requirement exists to ensure a Model is within charge range of all.
However, I see the problem here as there is nothing informing us how to determine if the Unit being Targeted was 'Charged' aside from common sense, and that differs from Player to Player. I can easily see where some players will argue that the Unit Charged has to be one that they successfully reached as part of the Charge move. Others will state that a Charge Move determines if the entire thing is successful, and thus all targets are 'charged.' An even smaller, and more skilled lawyer group, would point out that even in a case of a Failed Charge the Units in question would still have been 'Charged.' The whole thing didn't matter prior to an ability that made sure it damn well mattered what 'charged' means....
Any unit that charged or
- Snippit from 1. Choose Unit to Fight With
I highlight this because I find it an interesting clause and wonder why they even bothered to include it, as it could only ever be used for a loophole-exploit. There might be a situation I am overlooking, maybe something like a 'Hammer of Wrath' type of move that kills Models during the Charge Phase, but it would be far simple to avoid with a 'do X additional Hits during the proceeding Fight Phase' type of wording. Still, by default, any Unit that Charged is going to end up within 1 inch of the Enemy as part of the Successful Charge so including it makes no sense. Yet, because it is additional Permission to select, Charging Units do not actually need to be within 1 inch to selected to fight.
You may move each model in the unit up to 3"
- Snippit from 2. Pile In
Keep in mind your Pile In as it makes the range on that second attack even greater, as per the above clause I consider to be loophole-exploit explained.
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/04 12:42:09
Subject: Blood for the Blood God
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
USA, Maine
|
A unit counts as being charged if you were within 12" of it and declared it as a target in the Charge Phase. So it isn't a common sense thing, its a specific declaration that the charging player needs to make in order to actually attack any given unit.
As far as the "Choose a unit to fight" I don't see how that is exploitative. It is simply giving the first step necessary to beginning steps 2-6. You chose a single unit, then proceed through the remaining steps. You repeat until all valid units have completed the process.
|
Painted armies:
Orks: 11000 points
Marines: 9500 points
Khorne Marines: 2500 points
Khorne Demons: 1500 points |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|