Switch Theme:

Sanctuary + Warding Stave  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

Sanctuary wrote:That unit gains a 5+ invuln save until the start of your next Psychic phase. If any models in the target unit already have an invuln save, add 1 to any invuln saving throws you make for them.
Warding Stave wrote:A model armed with this weapon has a 5+ invuln save against attacks made in the Fight phase.


Question: If one model in a GKSS has a Warding Stave and Sanctuary is cast on that unit, does the entire unit now have a 4++?
The unit gains a 5++ from Sanctuary. A model in the unit already has an invuln, so you +1 to the unit's invulns.

This depends on what "them" is referencing at the end of the Sanctuary quote. I think it's prolly "models already with an invuln" and not "that unit"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/17 07:45:52


LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in nl
Dakka Veteran





they might have it in the fight phase, but that depends on wheter the invuln save grandet by sanctuary can change after it is cast. Because at the time of casting the unit doesn't have an invuln save(assuming the warding stave is the only source for an invuln save)

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 Elric Greywolf wrote:
Sanctuary wrote:That unit gains a 5+ invuln save until the start of your next Psychic phase. If any models in the target unit already have an invuln save, add 1 to any invuln saving throws you make for them.
Warding Stave wrote:A model armed with this weapon has a 5+ invuln save against attacks made in the Fight phase.


Question: If one model in a GKSS has a Warding Stave and Sanctuary is cast on that unit, does the entire unit now have a 4++?
The unit gains a 5++ from Sanctuary. A model in the unit already has an invuln, so you +1 to the unit's invulns.

This depends on what "them" is referencing at the end of the Sanctuary quote. I think it's prolly "models already with an invuln" and not "that unit"

Saving throws are always made one at a time, on a model-by-model basis. There is absolutely no reason to believe that the +1 to invulnerable saving throw rules is referring to anything else than the specific models in the unit that already have an invulnerable saving throw.

This is almost exactly the same as the CSM Weaver of Fates psychic power (just worded opposite). A model either gets a 5+ invulnerable save if it doesn't have one already or +1 to the model's invulnerable saving throw if it already has one.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/08/17 08:13:27


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Yakface has it right here. "Them" is a model by model basis.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Elric Greywolf wrote:
Sanctuary wrote:That unit gains a 5+ invuln save until the start of your next Psychic phase. If any models in the target unit already have an invuln save, add 1 to any invuln saving throws you make for them.
Warding Stave wrote:A model armed with this weapon has a 5+ invuln save against attacks made in the Fight phase.


Question: If one model in a GKSS has a Warding Stave and Sanctuary is cast on that unit, does the entire unit now have a 4++?
The unit gains a 5++ from Sanctuary. A model in the unit already has an invuln, so you +1 to the unit's invulns.

This depends on what "them" is referencing at the end of the Sanctuary quote. I think it's prolly "models already with an invuln" and not "that unit"


There are two ways (sort of) to read this. If "them" refers to models, then everyone will have a 5++, and the guy with the Warding Stave has a 4++. If "them" refers to the unit, then the guy with a Warding Stave will have a 4++, and everyone else will get +1 to their non-existent invuln saves.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




Them refers to the models that already have an invuln, there is no other way to read this as the 'them' is in the subordinate clause of the second sentence.

As far as I can tell.
   
Made in us
Clousseau





East Bay, Ca, US

Sanctuary bestows a 5++ to the entire unit as a unit with a warding stave does not have an invulnerable save.

The only time a unit with a warding stave can take an invulnerable save is when wounds are allocated in the fight phase... So when you go to allocate those wounds, that's when the warding stave would kick in, and increment the already existing invuln save of that model from sanctuary.

I run my purgation squads with a nemesis warding stave sergeant, since they're a gun platform anyway, and I don't want them in melee.

If you cast sanctuary on this squad, the sergeant would have a 4++ in the fight phase, and the rest would be 5++ from sanctuary only.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/08/17 15:11:13


 Galas wrote:
I remember when Marmatag was a nooby, all shiney and full of joy. How playing the unbalanced mess of Warhammer40k in a ultra-competitive meta has changed you

Bharring wrote:
He'll actually *change his mind* in the presence of sufficient/sufficiently defended information. Heretic.
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone




Clemson SC

Them is clearly meant to refer to the 'model' previously mentioned within the same statement/sentence. It would be very wishful thinking to assume otherwise

3000 pts
>1000 pts
:tyranid: <1500 pts

How do I own these?:
~2000 pts
~1000 pts
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: