Switch Theme:

MIxing Index and Codex detachments ?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Been Around the Block




I have a 2000 points list.

One detachment is all Death Guard from the Chaos index.
Typhus
Poxwalkers
Plague marines
etc

My 2nd detachment is an Outrider detachment from the Codex.
Daemon Price ( Mark of Nurgle)
Spawn ( Mark of Nurgle)
Spawn ( Mark of Nurgle)
Spawn ( Mark of Nurgle)
Helldrake ( Mark of Nurgle)

My questions are

1) The Outrider detachment will be from a renegade Legion (Dark Raiders)
So everything from the outrider detachment can advance and charge ?

2) Can the Daemon Prince cast Warptime on units from the Death Guard Detachment ?

3) Can the Helldrake advance , then be warptimed another move , then shoot the Baleflamer , then charge ?

4) If a plague Marine Champion had a Powerfist and a plague Knife , can he attack with both weapons ? He has two attacks , so he makes 2 attacks with the power fist or the plague knife , not both ?

Thanks






   
Made in ca
Monstrously Massive Big Mutant






1. No idea.

2. Yep!

3. If you advance, you can't shoot, or charge unless you have an assualt weapon, which you can then use during the shooting phase, but at -1 to hit.

4. You can only attack as many times as it says on the stat line. BUT, you can choose which of those attacks are what weapon. If you have 2 attacks on a unit, you can pick and choose how many are say a power fist, or how many are a plague knife. But duel wielding does not grant more attacks.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




About answer 4, if you have 2 attacks on your stat line and 2 weapons, with one of the 2 weapons granting another attack, I believe that you still get said extra attack.

For example (and I don't know off the top of my head if this is a leagal loadout, just using it for example) if you have a space marine srg with a powerfist and a chains word, the chain sword grants an extra attack. So if you attack with one attack with power fist and the other with chain sword since the srg has 2 attacks then he gets 1 with the fist and 2 with the sword, so 3 total.

This is how I have read the rules myself. I know that abaddon has a similar issue with his deamon blade, it grants d6 extra attacks so it's smart to always use one of his attacks with that weapon to get the extra ones.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Azuza001 wrote:
About answer 4, if you have 2 attacks on your stat line and 2 weapons, with one of the 2 weapons granting another attack, I believe that you still get said extra attack.

For example (and I don't know off the top of my head if this is a leagal loadout, just using it for example) if you have a space marine srg with a powerfist and a chains word, the chain sword grants an extra attack. So if you attack with one attack with power fist and the other with chain sword since the srg has 2 attacks then he gets 1 with the fist and 2 with the sword, so 3 total.


No. The chainsword rule says : Each time the bearer fights, it gets an additional attack with the chainsword. He attacks twice with the fist, and once with the chainsword. The srg has to fight, thats all. The chainsword rule doesnt say he has to fight with the chainsword to get the additional attack.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




1) is correct but...
2) yep.

3)
The helldrake and spawn can't advance and charge.
This is because legion traits only effect infantry, bikes, hellbrutes and Daemon princes.

The helldrake can advance and shoot the baleflamer as it's assault. (And auto hits , so the negative hit penalty doesn't matter.)

4) you choose which weapon to attack with. (Or split your attacks between them)
Unlike a chaimsword, the plague knife doesnt generate extra attacks.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2017/08/31 05:31:37


DFTT 
   
Made in au
Been Around the Block




Ok thanks guys.
My fist battle tonight with this detachment thingy.
It will all change when the death guard codex comes out.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






#1) yes, as long as the <Legion > tags are all set to the same name within a detachment; that detachment is a same detachment for codex benefits(in your example a dark raiders detachment) .

2) as long as the target has the heretic astartes keyword it can benefit.

3) as Captyn bob said. And order of advance and regular move(moving normally in the move phase and advancing under warptime) doesn't matter: helldrake is not a legal choice of unit for charging if it advanced in the same turn(movement phase or otherwise).

4) weapons can be freely chosen on a per-attack basis in 8th. No more of that "choose 1 weapon for the whole assault phase" nonsense from 3rd-7th.

5) The title-question: what you have presented is detachments that are entirely codex or index; but a single detachment can be codex and index without a problem. Your army is mixing chaos codex and index for units that do not have their codex out yet in separate detachments; which no one could ever argue against.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: