Switch Theme:

When a unit can fire twice.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Moustache-twirling Princeps





PDX

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
Read the post.


I did or I wouldn't have asked. The key difference is that this rule says "Unit", not model.

   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

What Kommissar Kel is pointing to is this restriction:
1. Choose Unit to Shoot With
In your Shooting phase you can shoot
with models armed with ranged weapons.
First, you must pick one of your units
to shoot with. You may not pick a unit
that Advanced or Fell Back this turn, or
a unit that is within 1" of an enemy unit.
Unless otherwise stated, each model in
the unit attacks with all of the ranged
weapons it is armed with. After all of the
unit’s models have fired, you can choose
another unit to shoot with, until all
eligible units that you want to shoot with
have done so.


I am actually going to add it to my list of Rules I do not like the Writing of ... see the difference with this Rule:

4. Make Charge Move
After any Overwatch has been resolved, roll 2D6. Each
model in the charging unit can move up to this number
of inches – this is their charge distance this turn. The
first model you move must finish within 1" of an enemy
model from one of the target units. No models in the
charging unit can move within 1" of an enemy unit that
was not a target of its charge. If this is impossible, the
charge fails and no models in the charging unit move
this phase. Once you’ve moved all the models in the
charging unit, choose another eligible unit and repeat
the above procedure until all eligible units that you want
to make charge moves have done so. No unit can be
selected to charge more than once in each Charge phase.


1. Choose Unit to Fight With
Any unit that charged or has models within 1" of an
enemy unit can be chosen to fight in the Fight phase.
This includes all units, not just those controlled by the
player whose turn it is. All units that charged this turn
fight first. The player whose turn it is picks the order
in which these units fight. After all charging units have
fought, the players alternate choosing eligible units to
fight with (starting with the player whose turn it is) until
all eligible units on both sides have fought once each. No
unit can be selected to fight more than once in each Fight
phase. If one player runs out of eligible units,
the other
player completes all of their remaining fights, one unit
after another. A fight is resolved in the following steps:


Start your Movement phase by picking
one of your units and moving each model
in that unit until you’ve moved all the
models you want to. You can then pick
another unit to move, until you have
moved as many of your units as you wish.
No model can be moved more than once
in each Movement phase


2. Make Psychic Test
A psyker can attempt to manifest a
psychic power they know by taking a
Psychic test. To do so, roll 2D6. If the
total is equal to or greater than that
power’s warp charge value, the power is
successfully manifested. A psyker cannot
attempt to manifest the same psychic
power more than once in a turn.


A search found no mention of 'more then once' throughout the entirety of the Shooting Phase Rules....
So... is there even a Restriction preventing a Unit from Firing Twice... or a hundred times... by default?


This is the sort of stuff I would use as an example of why Game Workshop can make some very stupid mistakes at time, because they clearly never intended for us to be able to Select the Unit a second time by default. The issue, unless I over-looked something but I tried to be through using only the Basic Rules being discussed, is that someone forgot to add the line that disqualifies a Unit from being 'eligible' after it has already been selected for a Shooting Attack. Every other Phase has specific Wording designed for that purpose, making it illegal for us to select the Unit again to repeat the Sequence we just finished.... but... someone dun messed up and left that wording out of the Shooting Rules.....

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/09/06 18:08:15


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 em_en_oh_pee wrote:
 Kommissar Kel wrote:
Read the post.


I did or I wouldn't have asked. The key difference is that this rule says "Unit", not model.


The reason for my response in this line is that the post in question clearly stated that there are no rules to cite.

As jinx pointed out the closest things that we do have are still neither clear nor specific; just some vague statements that could be taken to mean shooting is done as a single activation. Other phases are much more specific on this.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

It is also why I wish they would just give it the same Frequently Asked Question answer they gave Khorne Berzerker, it was so damn simple....

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: