Switch Theme:

question about Lashes of torment  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




its rules say "This weapon can be fired within 1" of an enemy unit, and can target enemy units within 1" of friendly units." does that mean i can like pull up next to a fight my deamonettes are in whip them and charge another battle?

   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

It is a weapon you are allowed to use even when "locked in combat," think of it like a Pistol... just one lacking that gets around all the restrictions found on Pistols by being flagged as an Assault weapon.

You would still need to follow other Rules in order to get within 1 inch of an enemy Model, for simply moving within 1 inch is forbidden by default and nothing in the Lash gets around that. The most likely scenario where the Lash's 'within 1 inch' Rule will be evoked is the Shooting Phase after a successful Charge. As long as the Model is still alive, it can be Selected to fire the Lash* during the following Shooting Phase even if they are is still within 1 inch of an Enemy Model. It even has an exception to the '1 inch of Friendly Models,' mostly so the Model can fire it into the face of the Enemy being stabbed by their sword.

* Technically, Units are selected.... but obvious intent is obvious.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/03 16:40:52


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




and can target enemy units within 1" of friendly units makes it sound as tho in the shooting i can whip a target in melee with another unit without being in the melee myself if this isnt the case the wording needs to be changed
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch




Tylearious wrote:
and can target enemy units within 1" of friendly units makes it sound as tho in the shooting i can whip a target in melee with another unit without being in the melee myself if this isnt the case the wording needs to be changed


That is the case. It can both be "fired within 1" of enemy models" and "can target enemy units within 1" of friendly models." The second part overrides the general restriction on targeting enemies within 1" of friendly models.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Jacksmiles wrote:
Tylearious wrote:
and can target enemy units within 1" of friendly units makes it sound as tho in the shooting i can whip a target in melee with another unit without being in the melee myself if this isnt the case the wording needs to be changed


That is the case. It can both be "fired within 1" of enemy models" and "can target enemy units within 1" of friendly models." The second part overrides the general restriction on targeting enemies within 1" of friendly models.


Thanks for helping me clear that up my friend that I normally play with wasn't going to let me use the whips that way until I got confirmation
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch




I can see where the argument comes from, but it's not a pistol-type weapon and it doesn't tie the two abilities together other than being in the same sentence. Nothing says the second part relies on the first being "active," so to speak.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Correct;
The lack of instructions forcing the Lash to target the closest Unit makes it so very nice, and what I meant by 'Restrictions Pistols have....'

Pistols must target the closest Enemy Unit, which is why evoking their 'within 1 inch' Rule also ensure your Targeting the Unit your stabbing. There is also an additional restriction stating that no other weapon can be fired during this period. The Lash, by being an Assault weapon with two specific Rules added to it, bypasses both of the Restrictions found on Pistols and does its own thing. There is nothing stopping the Lash from being used after Lucius moves, and nothing preventing the Lash from being used along side the Doom Siren either as both are Assault weapons and must be fired together.

Thanks to the unique quirks of this weapon, I highly recommend trying to set this up:
Get Lucius nice and locked in combat
Get a second Unit locked in combat 5.5 inches away from Lucius
Fire the Lash not into the Unit Lucius locked with, but into the second combat going on just a little bit over there...

Can't do that with a pistol!

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: