Switch Theme:

Stratigem die re-roll true or false  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

The arguments have lately been about sheep and deer so who knows what's even happening in this thread anymore. Reason left a while ago.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Ghaz wrote:
 Byte wrote:
Xenomancers wrote:It seems clear to me that a single dice can be re-rolled.


Primark G wrote:You have to reroll all dice as per the errata.


This pretty much puts us back to the OP.

So in general, its remains as clear as mud.

No. The errata is clear. The arguments have been over the wording of the stratagem and if it indeed states that you can re-roll a single die.


Actually it tells you to reroll a single dice, hence all the hubbub about what's a single dice.
   
Made in us
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster





 Byte wrote:
Xenomancers wrote:It seems clear to me that a single dice can be re-rolled.


Primark G wrote:You have to reroll all dice as per the errata.


This pretty much puts us back to the OP.

So in general, its remains as clear as mud.


Nope, it's crystal clear, you can reroll one die. That people are choosing to claim some sort of ambiguity between the use of "single" and "dice", because they choose not to acknowledge that games workshop uses "dice" as both singular and plural, and the adjective "single" clearly delineates which, doesn't make it actually unclear.

Also, those who are arguing that "single dice" could mean "die" or "dice roll/result" might want to note that rules like 'Ere We Go and Icon of Wrath that specifically relate to rerolling the charge all use the terminology "reroll the charge roll. In fact, even the BRB section and the errata in question on re-rolling dice uses "reroll a dice roll" when talking about instances you can reroll "some or all of the dice". In fact, dozens of rules across all of the indexes and codices tell you you can use certain abilities to reroll a dice roll, so you'll excuse me if I'm not buying that for this one particular stratagem GW didn't see the need to specify a difference between a "dice" and "dice roll"

"But If the Earth isn't flat, then how did Jabba chakka wookiee no Solo ho ho ho hoooooooo?" 
   
Made in us
Tzeentch Veteran Marine with Psychic Potential





 Ghaz wrote:
 Byte wrote:
Xenomancers wrote:It seems clear to me that a single dice can be re-rolled.


Primark G wrote:You have to reroll all dice as per the errata.


This pretty much puts us back to the OP.

So in general, its remains as clear as mud.

No. The errata is clear. The arguments have been over the wording of the stratagem and if it indeed states that you can re-roll a single die.

No, the errata is the problem. It's been interpreted three different ways and the people who think like you do are hinging 100% of their theory on the poorly defined "unless otherwise stated" that leaves a blanket open door for all manner of interpretation as to what qualifies under that clause. When a rule explicitly states "unless otherwise stated", the Stratagem failing to mention an exception like literally every other exception in the game means it has not been "otherwise stated". People are merely reading the stratagem quite LITERALLY and taking that as "otherwise stated" when in fact it would need to state that you can still re-roll partial dice. That's what's meant by "unless otherwise stated" and that's what one of the three interpretations adhere to.

Resume your back and forth squabbles of insulting each other's intelligence because this will remain a thick soup of confusion until GW does something about it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/07 20:06:02


It's called a thick skin. The Jersey born have it innately. 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

No. It's not the errata.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster





 Arkaine wrote:

No, the errata is the problem. It's been interpreted three different ways and the people who think like you do are hinging 100% of their theory on the poorly defined "unless otherwise stated" that leaves a blanket open door for all manner of interpretation as to what qualifies under that clause. When a rule explicitly states "unless otherwise stated", the Stratagem failing to mention an exception like literally every other exception in the game means it has not been "otherwise stated". People are merely reading the stratagem quite LITERALLY and taking that as "otherwise stated" when in fact it would need to state that you can still re-roll partial dice. That's what's meant by "unless otherwise stated" and that's what one of the three interpretations adhere to.


Damn, that sucks. I really enjoy using the counter-offensive stratagem, but, y'know you actually can't. Because yeah, it says you can pick a unit and fight with them after an enemy charging unit fights, but since it doesn't explicitly say "this is an exception to the rule that charging units fight first", so y'know, I can't accept that it is actually an exception.

Literally nowhere is there anything in this FAQ saying "unless otherwise stated, and stated that it was otherwise stated. And otherwise stated that it was otherwise stated that it was otherwise stated, and affirmed by oath or written affirmation by the author that this is in fact an exception, and has been otherwise stated, signed in triplicate, notarized, lost, buried in a peat bog, found, lost again..."

It says "unless otherwise stated"

The command reroll stratagem states otherwise. It states you may reroll a single dice.

Resume your back and forth squabbles of insulting each other's intelligence because this will remain a thick soup of confusion until GW does something about it.


Only if you are confused by clear, rudimentary English.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/07 20:17:34


"But If the Earth isn't flat, then how did Jabba chakka wookiee no Solo ho ho ho hoooooooo?" 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The Golden Throne

So why was the FAQ concerning 2d6, 3d6 rerolls created?

I get Ork "ere we go" because "reroll charge". But it already doesn't say one or both d6s.

So maybe the answer lies in the reason the FAQ exists. Why?

   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Byte wrote:
So why was the FAQ concerning 2d6, 3d6 rerolls created?

I get Ork "ere we go" because "reroll charge". But it already doesn't say one or both d6s.

So maybe the answer lies in the reason the FAQ exists. Why?

Again, the errata says...

Page 178 – Re-rolls
Change this paragraph to read:

... its changing unclear wording in the main rulebook. Without it, the original rule could have been read that a rule like 'Ere We Go! could re-roll one or both dice.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The Golden Throne

It actually clearly says reroll charge. You think some would interpret that as one or both d6s?

If true. Theres no hope for humanity.
   
Made in us
Stubborn Prosecutor





 Byte wrote:
It actually clearly says reroll charge. You think some would interpret that as one or both d6s?

If true. Theres no hope for humanity.


You wouldn't be here if you had hope for humanity.

Bender wrote:* Realise that despite the way people talk, this is not a professional sport played by demi gods, but rather a game of toy soldiers played by tired, inebriated human beings.


https://www.victorwardbooks.com/ Home of Dark Days series 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The Golden Throne

 ChargerIIC wrote:
 Byte wrote:
It actually clearly says reroll charge. You think some would interpret that as one or both d6s?

If true. Theres no hope for humanity.


You wouldn't be here if you had hope for humanity.


I honestly dont know what you mean. Sorry.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Here, in YMDC, where we argue the meaning of "a" let alone "single Dice".

And Ghaz changed the word in his answer to an unambiguous "die"; which has a single meaning. "Dice" has 2 meanings, hence the arguments.

As for why the errata exists: it was not terribly clear; "one or two dice in rerolls and rerolling charge left the option for a single one of those dice to be rerolled while leaving the other as rolled to begin with(and see the defining articles in that statement that makes it unambiguous; and are also lacking in the strategem, that is clear rudimentary English)

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The Golden Throne

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
Presently unknown.

There are 2 schools of thought and both have valid points:

1) take the strategem literally; you only ever reroll 1 die no matter how many you rolled for the rule. Valid because the strategem is not telling you to reroll a result, just any dice(which GW uses as both singular and plural).

2) take the strategem as "result" or rather default back to the normal reroll rules. Valid as the only rules we have for rerolls.

Personally, as you are spending a finite resource, I play both interpretations at will: reroll 1 die, or the whole result.


I "like" this. Right or wrong. (3) Should fly in the club.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Agreed, his reasoning is sound as the flexibility is what I also would expect from a Stratagem.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/08 02:45:52


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

It's one die/dice. All the semantic stuff is lovely but the Stratagem lets you reroll one of the dice you just rolled.

A normal reroll granted by an ability, e.g. Rerolling a Charge, would mean both dice unless specified otherwise (like a Farseer's ability reroll one of both dice).

It's a touch confusing to use the same/similar terms for different things within the rules but it's not remotely as hard as people are making out in this thread.

Can there be a Perpetual Arguments section set up so YMDC can go back to being about answering questions?

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The Golden Throne

 JohnnyHell wrote:


Can there be a Perpetual Arguments section set up so YMDC can go back to being about answering questions?


Wait.. YMDC is about answering questions and not discussions. Huh...

Guess that makes you the self appointed authority.

Listening.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 JohnnyHell wrote:
It's one die/dice. All the semantic stuff is lovely but the Stratagem lets you reroll one of the dice you just rolled.

A normal reroll granted by an ability, e.g. Rerolling a Charge, would mean both dice unless specified otherwise (like a Farseer's ability reroll one of both dice).

It's a touch confusing to use the same/similar terms for different things within the rules but it's not remotely as hard as people are making out in this thread.

Can there be a Perpetual Arguments section set up so YMDC can go back to being about answering questions?


Most of the perpetual arguments are a few very vocal people who refuse to believe there is any interpretations to what has been written other than what they think is the correct and only way to read it.

I haven't been arguing that it IS ABSOLUTELY both dice; just that it could be.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in au
Liche Priest Hierophant







When the other way to read it is grammatically wrong though, is it even worth considering?

"Single dice" being equivalent to "one die" is grammatically correct in English. "Single dice" being equivalent to "one dice roll" or "one dice result" is not.
   
Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

Kel: while everyone is entitled to an opinion, it does not mean that every opinion is correct. Same for interpretations. Sure, you can interpret something completely different from what the author intended, but it doesn't make you correct. And if you're ignoring what's actually written and replace words and ignore context, you can't claim your interpretation to be a valid alternative.
   
Made in us
Charging Bull






This thread is fun.
   
Made in de
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout




Germany, Frankfurt area

I have seen rules discussions where I thought they have been as far-fetched as Nazi bases on the backside of the moon. But this on is more on the "the Earth is flat"-level...


Sorry, anyone claiming "single dice" to be several dice can only be trolling. I have no other rational explanation for this.

 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The Golden Throne

 Forcast wrote:
This thread is fun.


Exalted!

*break*

Maybe switch to

d6
2d6
3d6

i.e.

Relic:

Green Toast. If your Warlord has green toast he can reroll any single d6 even if in a multi d6 result i.e. 1d6 reroll for a 3d6 pee distance.
   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego





Canterbury



i think we're about done here.


The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king,
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: