| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/15 16:57:13
Subject: Lantern not functioning?
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
The Lantern (carried by Mortarion) is a Pistol 1 weapon that when it hits a target it draws a line between Mortarion and that unit and hits everything under that line.
But pg. 180 of the core rules says that pistols can only fire at the closest enemy target, so by definition nothing will be between Mortarion and the target unit... So...
|
Saddened on behalf of all the Ultramarines, Salamanders and White Scars players who got their Codex rolled into Codex: Black Templars. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/15 17:03:15
Subject: Lantern not functioning?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Gorlack wrote:The Lantern (carried by Mortarion) is a Pistol 1 weapon that when it hits a target it draws a line between Mortarion and that unit and hits everything under that line.
But pg. 180 of the core rules says that pistols can only fire at the closest enemy target, so by definition nothing will be between Mortarion and the target unit... So...
No. That's not what the rule says. From page 180 of the main rulebook:
A model can fire a Pistol even if there are enemy units within 1" of its own unit, but it must target the closest enemy unit.
You're only limited to firing at the closest enemy unit if there is an enemy unit within 1" of the firer. Otherwise you're free to choose any target within range, barring any other restrictions.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/15 17:09:31
Subject: Re:Lantern not functioning?
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
We have been debating that locally as well, but the two conditions doesnt seem to be dependent on one another. A Pistol can shoot an enemy in close combat. It can also only target the nearest enemy. It doesnt say that "when targeting enemys in CC you can only shoot the nearest" it just says that a Pistol can shoot into CC and that it must target the nearest.
But since Im the one playing Morty I hope you can convince me othervise
|
Saddened on behalf of all the Ultramarines, Salamanders and White Scars players who got their Codex rolled into Codex: Black Templars. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/15 17:30:52
Subject: Lantern not functioning?
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Nothing requires Pistols to always fire at the closest target. That stipulation is only if the unit is within 1" of an enemy unit. Trying to apply half of that rule to all Pistol shooting is... stretching. And incorrect.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/15 17:32:00
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/15 17:41:54
Subject: Re:Lantern not functioning?
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
Like I said, there is no "then" or "if" or "when". It simply says: pistols can be shot into CC and must target the nearest enemy. Doesnt seem to be a condition of the latter part that the first part is in effect. It doesnt say "when doing so" or "in this case". That seems to indicate a universitality to the rule.
|
Saddened on behalf of all the Ultramarines, Salamanders and White Scars players who got their Codex rolled into Codex: Black Templars. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/15 17:52:15
Subject: Re:Lantern not functioning?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Gorlack wrote:Like I said, there is no "then" or "if" or "when". It simply says: pistols can be shot into CC and must target the nearest enemy. Doesnt seem to be a condition of the latter part that the first part is in effect. It doesnt say "when doing so" or "in this case". That seems to indicate a universitality to the rule.
Its all one sentence. That's what ties the two together. It can do A, but if it does A then B applies.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/15 17:58:12
Subject: Lantern not functioning?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Does highlight that different regions of the world read sentence structure differently.
Makes just as much sense to read it as Permission with internalized Restrictions as it does to read it as separate Permission and Restriction.
Opening Poster,
Consider the Lantern as it is a good indicator to which is most likely correct:-
Which of the two interpretations allows the Lantern to function as clearly intended?
(Corrected terminology for Ghaz)
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/16 05:27:45
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/15 18:05:10
Subject: Lantern not functioning?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
It's not two restrictions however. Its granting a permission (being able to fire a Pistol while enemy units are are within 1" of the firer's unit), with a restriction on that permission (it must target the closest enemy unit).
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/15 18:14:41
Subject: Lantern not functioning?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
How do you show that to someone who doesn't parse the sentence the same way?
Particularly, if they live in a region of the world where others are reading the sentence as containing a separate Restriction....
This is why the Lantern is a very good Liptis test; it contains additional instructions that can only function within the 'Permission with internalized restriction' interpenetration.
(Corrected Terminology for Ghaz)
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/16 05:28:52
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/15 18:22:25
Subject: Lantern not functioning?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
JinxDragon wrote:How do you show that to someone who doesn't parse the sentence the same way?
Particularly, if they live in a region of the world where others are reading the sentence as 2 Restrictions....
This is why the Lantern is a very good Liptis test; it contains additional instructions that can only function within the '1 Restriction with two parts' interpenetration.
Is telling someone that they 'can fire' a restriction? No. You've granted them permission to fire. The restriction is on page 179:
First, you must pick one of your units to shoot with. You may not pick a unit that Advanced or Fell Back this turn, or a unit that is within 1" of an enemy unit.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/15 19:13:36
Subject: Re:Lantern not functioning?
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
Looking at the sequencing doesnt help us. You are allowed to choose a target, then you need to choose weapons. And pg. 180 specifically says
"each type of ranged weapon also has an additional rule that, depending on the situation, might affect the accuracy of the weapon or when it can be fired. These are as follows:"
The rules that follow are rules that restrict when shooting is possible, like advancing and shooting heavy. Pg. 179 doesnt allow us to circumvent that either.
Its all one sentence. That's what ties the two together. It can do A, but if it does A then B applies.
See, there is the differens. You just added an "if". But there is no extra if in the core rules wording.
Post 2017/09/15 17:58:12 Subject: Lantern not functioning?
Does highlight that different regions of the world read sentence structure differently.
Makes just as much sense to read it as 2 Restrictions in one sentence as it does to read it as 1 Restriction with two parts.
Consider the Lantern though, it is a good indicator to which is most likely correct:-
Which of the two interpretations allows the Lantern to function as intended?
This is closer to something useful. RAI have been the name of the game in 8th, so we will probably be using the Lantern as it is supposed to be used. But RAW I still cant see it.
|
Saddened on behalf of all the Ultramarines, Salamanders and White Scars players who got their Codex rolled into Codex: Black Templars. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/15 19:23:26
Subject: Lantern not functioning?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
I see you've already made up your mind, but I'll ask you this. If you tell someone that they can go to the closest game store, but they can't buy anything are you telling them that they actually can't go to any other game store?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/15 19:24:50
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/15 19:28:56
Subject: Re:Lantern not functioning?
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
My mind is certainly not made up, but I can't see any provisions in the rule that allows you to choose a target that is not the closest. You even added the word "if" in your example because otherwise you can't create that allowance.
I unfortunately can't see the connection between pistols targeting and local game stores  if you are trying to create another rules sentence and then apply that sentence to the current pistol example, then your created sentence needs to be a little clearer for me to understand it
|
Saddened on behalf of all the Ultramarines, Salamanders and White Scars players who got their Codex rolled into Codex: Black Templars. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/15 19:39:33
Subject: Re:Lantern not functioning?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
And I don't see a provision that you must choose the closest unit if the firing unit is NOT within 1" of an enemy unit, just one for when it IS within 1" of an enemy unit.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/15 19:46:53
Subject: Re:Lantern not functioning?
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
Okay, I was trying to find the exact quote to show where I could see no provisions:
A model can fire a Pistol even if there are enemy units within 1" of its own unit, but it must target the closest enemy unit.
But that quote actually goes on to say:
A model can fire a Pistol even if there are enemy units within 1" of its own unit, but it must target the closest enemy unit. In such circumstances the model can bla bla
So it does actually seem like the rule clears itself up in that part. Great news for my new Mortarion model
|
Saddened on behalf of all the Ultramarines, Salamanders and White Scars players who got their Codex rolled into Codex: Black Templars. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/15 19:49:34
Subject: Lantern not functioning?
|
 |
Pious Palatine
|
JinxDragon wrote:Does highlight that different regions of the world read sentence structure differently.
Makes just as much sense to read it as 2 Restrictions in one sentence as it does to read it as 1 Restriction with two parts.
Consider the Lantern though, it is a good indicator to which is most likely correct:-
Which of the two interpretations allows the Lantern to function as intended?
Not if you speak english it doesn't.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/15 20:49:50
Subject: Lantern not functioning?
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
I'd argue this thread began with a misreading and misunderstanding packaged as an 'interpretation'. It's just wrong, and the rule doesn't say what the OP thinks. When everyone is telling the OP how the rule works and they don't accept consensus, eh, what can you do?
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/15 21:07:46
Subject: Lantern not functioning?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
This seems to be a big trend here on Dakka.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/16 00:03:53
Subject: Lantern not functioning?
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
Seattle Area
|
This thread is ridiculous.
OP - You're doing it wrong.
|
Froth at the top, dregs at the bottom, but the middle - excellent |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/16 10:12:51
Subject: Lantern not functioning?
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
Wrexham, North Wales
|
It's blindingly obvious how pistols are supposed to work but people like to deliberately misinterpret it and refuse explanations to the contrary.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/16 15:46:40
Subject: Lantern not functioning?
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
There is a comma before the but, this indicates the second clause is dependant on the first. You use but without a comma for independant clauses. Yay for obscure grammar rules.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/16 16:09:24
Subject: Lantern not functioning?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
And it sounds from the rules quote that it can hit friendly units under the line as well. It could well be a penalty to shooting with it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/16 18:24:41
Subject: Lantern not functioning?
|
 |
Slippery Scout Biker
Philadelphia, PA
|
Drager wrote:There is a comma before the but, this indicates the second clause is dependant on the first. You use but without a comma for independant clauses. Yay for obscure grammar rules.
You have it the wrong way around. You put a comma before "but" when it links two independent clauses, not when it links an independent and dependent clause. In this case, we don't need the comma to tell us the clause is independent. We can tell because the clause could stand on its own as a sentence (i.e. "It must target the closest enemy unit."). I don't see how it matters, though. The authors could have worded it slightly differently to make the clause dependent ("A model can fire a Pistol even if there are enemy units within 1" of its own unit but must target the closest enemy unit."), but the meaning would stay the same.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/16 18:25:01
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/17 04:02:05
Subject: Lantern not functioning?
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
McCragge
|
This is making my brain hurt don't even know why it's being discussed.
|
Bow down to Guilliman for he is our new God Emperor!
Martel - "Custodes are terrible in 8th. Good luck with them. They take all the problems of marines and multiply them."
"Lol, classic martel. 'I know it was strong enough to podium in the biggest tournament in the world but I refuse to acknowledge space marines are good because I can't win with them and it can't possibly be ME'."
DakkaDakka is really the place where you need anti-tank guns to kill basic dudes, because anything less isn't durable enough. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|