Switch Theme:

kill shot stratagem from the DG codex  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in no
Mutilatin' Mad Dok





Norway, Tønsberg

Does this mean +1D and +1 BS to all the 3 predators or just the 1?

From the Death Guard codex " You can use this stratagem in your shooting phase if a Death Guard chaos predator is within 6" of 2 other friendly death guard chaos predators. If you do so, add 1 to the wound and damage rolls for all the predators' attacks that target monsters and vehicles this phase."
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






"all the predators' attacks" means all of the tanks, as opposed to "all the predator's attacks" which would just mean all the attacks of that one predator.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




It looks like the stratagem is just "targeting" the one pred based on the fact that it requires that there be 2 preds nearby. So the effect should just be the one predator.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




No, it's all of them - the placement of the apostrophe indicates it applies to Predators, plural.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

I wouldnt be so sure, judging on the placement of the apostrophe, looking at GWs poor word choices in the rules.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Well, you can argue that, but there's not really any need - the RAW is perfectly clear. Maybe it's a mistake, but given that it makes sense they'd all get bonuses anyway, why look for a problem?
   
Made in no
Mutilatin' Mad Dok





Norway, Tønsberg

So it seems most of us reads this as a buff to the three predators. In a game, and you want to bring one extra, just in case one blows up round one. Your 4 preds can shoot, 3 of them has the +1 BS, +1 DMG buff. The last pred just with the re-roll buff.

Points (excluding the lord): 760 pts.

Against a Rhino you're looking at.

Total
Shots
16

Total
Hits
14.778

Wounds
Caused
9.852

Unsaved
Wounds
8.21

Total
Damage
57.902

Dead
Models
4

http://www.mathhammer8thed.com/


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Question is, how are those preds gonna look after one round of shooting from AM? or a SM gunline army?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/21 16:04:34


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Thommy H wrote:
Well, you can argue that, but there's not really any need - the RAW is perfectly clear. Maybe it's a mistake, but given that it makes sense they'd all get bonuses anyway, why look for a problem?


Well, it seems a little cheap that it buffs all three preds, the damage output rises significantly. There are other 1 point stratagems which are much weaker compared to this one.
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




Thommy H wrote:
No, it's all of them - the placement of the apostrophe indicates it applies to Predators, plural.


I don't see how you're saying this. The comma is there to say that when you play the strategy then... . It in no way indicates that the strategy affects all 3 preds. As said before the instructions tell you to look for 1 pred within a certain distance of 2 other friendly preds. If you can find one and choose to use the strategy then you apply the strategy to that one pred.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




I said apostrophe, not comma.

As Jidmah pointed out in the first reply, Predator's is not the same thing as Predators'. Note the position of the possessive apostrophe.

The first one means something that belongs to a single Predator, the second something that belongs to Predators, plural.

The meaning is absolutely clear, as long as you understand English grammar.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

It is consistent with Codex: Space Marines, including all predators' attacks, not just the one.
   
Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut






Ok, but how do we know which Predators' ?
I mean we can place 3 predators that all three of them will be 6" form each other, but also it is possible that only one will have two other in 6" bubble.
I know that is thet trigger, but my real question is:
- does fourth Predator that stands 40" away also benfit from that Startegem?

   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 danyboy wrote:
Ok, but how do we know which Predators' ?
I mean we can place 3 predators that all three of them will be 6" form each other, but also it is possible that only one will have two other in 6" bubble.
I know that is thet trigger, but my real question is:
- does fourth Predator that stands 40" away also benfit from that Startegem?


Are you high?
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Aside from the question how many predators are buffed, it's not BS+1, its +1 to wound rolls and +1 to damage. If your gun would normally wound on a 3 it's 2 if you use the stratagem, and if the damage is D6 it would be D6+1.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




 danyboy wrote:
Ok, but how do we know which Predators' ?
I mean we can place 3 predators that all three of them will be 6" form each other, but also it is possible that only one will have two other in 6" bubble.
I know that is thet trigger, but my real question is:
- does fourth Predator that stands 40" away also benfit from that Startegem?


I think it's safe to infer that the Predators the strategem is referring to are the same ones referred to elsewhere in the strategem.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: