Switch Theme:

Termies or +2 saves in cover  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






So what happens if a model with +2 base save is in cover? Do you save on a roll of +1? Does "auto fail on 1" count for tbis interaction?
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




A saving throw of 1 will always fail.

DFTT 
   
Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut




It makes no difference against AP0 weapons, but it will help otherwise. Terminators in cover get a 3+ save against AP-2 guns.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






It still benefits (useful against Armour Peircing weapons), but a roll of 1 will always fail.

Example 1: Terminators in cover get shot with bolters (ap0 weapon). They have a 1+ save, but a roll of 1 will always fail regardless.

Example 2: Terminators in cover get shot by an AP-1 weapon. Normally they would get a 3+ armour save, but the cover modifies that to a 2+.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/23 13:10:18


 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Does that not go against GW's line of a modifier modifying the roll not the stat?

For example if it were a +1 to armour save then i would agree, a 1 would fail as a 1 is always a fail.

But as cover modifies the dice roll, then if i roll a 1, it is modified to a 2 with my +1 bonus.

Same as if you overcharge a plasma cannon after moving, you subtract 1 from your to hit roll, therefore you would overheat on both a 1, and a 2.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/23 14:50:29


 
   
Made in us
Daemonic Dreadnought





Eye of Terror

Process wrote:
Does that not go against GW's line of a modifier modifying the roll not the stat?

For example if it were a +1 to armour save then i would agree, a 1 would fail as a 1 is always a fail.

But as cover modifies the dice roll, then if i roll a 1, it is modified to a 2 with my +1 bonus.

Same as if you overcharge a plasma cannon after moving, you subtract 1 from your to hit roll, therefore you would overheat on both a 1, and a 2.

I was going to ask this. Modifiers are supposed to be applied after rolls, a roll of 1 would become a 2.

I get the idea that a 1 is supposed to always fail. It just seems these 2 rules contradict each other in a basic, mechanical way.

   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




 techsoldaten wrote:
Process wrote:
Does that not go against GW's line of a modifier modifying the roll not the stat?

For example if it were a +1 to armour save then i would agree, a 1 would fail as a 1 is always a fail.

But as cover modifies the dice roll, then if i roll a 1, it is modified to a 2 with my +1 bonus.

Same as if you overcharge a plasma cannon after moving, you subtract 1 from your to hit roll, therefore you would overheat on both a 1, and a 2.

I was going to ask this. Modifiers are supposed to be applied after rolls, a roll of 1 would become a 2.

I get the idea that a 1 is supposed to always fail. It just seems these 2 rules contradict each other in a basic, mechanical way.


Do you have the rulebook at hand? if it states that it modifies the roll then yes, the roll is modified , not the stat.
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch




"A roll of 1 always fails, irrespective of any modifiers that may apply."

If the roll was a 1, it fails, no matter what modifiers get added after.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Jacksmiles wrote:
"A roll of 1 always fails, irrespective of any modifiers that may apply."

If the roll was a 1, it fails, no matter what modifiers get added after.


Fair enough.
   
Made in us
Daemonic Dreadnought





Eye of Terror

Yeah, thanks for the clarification. Was not arguing that the roll should succeed, more that applying the modifier after the roll is awkward. I understand how it works.

   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

 techsoldaten wrote:
Yeah, thanks for the clarification. Was not arguing that the roll should succeed, more that applying the modifier after the roll is awkward. I understand how it works.


Agreed. GW is not the best at writing good rules.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: