Switch Theme:

Psyker units and smite  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in it
Longtime Dakkanaut





I'm starting this thread since i've seen this matter played in completely different ways, honestly i don't have an hopinion on it. Point is, units formed by psykers that can cast multiple powers (warlock councils and zoans for example) can cast smite more than once each turn?
I think that this is a grey area, since the rules assume that a model defined "psyker" manifests a power, but on those units you have the definition "The unit manifests".

The unit's rules define the limit of powers that can be manifested, but don't give additional info.
The rulebook says that a psyker can manifest each power only once, but psyker is a keyword so all models of the unit have that keyword, so one could think that you can cast a smite with each of them.

Your thoughts on the matter?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/10/23 21:37:03


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Depends on the unit wording, for Zoanthropes it says "A unit of Zoanthropes manifests the power" that means that entire unit just manifested Smite, rules on pg 178 says a Psyker can not manifest the same power more than once. So therefor the Zoanthropes can not manifest smite again, regardless how many are in the unit or what model casted the power.

   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Both the Warlock Conclave and Zoanthrope Datasheets tell you how to manifest powers, and that they 'cast' as a unit, not once per model.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch




If it says "unit," it means the "unit" does it all together. There would need to be explicit permission for each zoan to cast a power otherwise, which we don't have.
   
Made in it
Longtime Dakkanaut





This is what i think too, after all in the rules it says "A psyker can manifest a power THEY know..." meaning that psyker can be plural.
   
Made in us
Damsel of the Lady




Just chiming in to say that Grey Knights read the same as Warlocks and Zoans so any GK's that stumble on this thread have their answer too.
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




Spoletta wrote:
This is what i think too, after all in the rules it says "A psyker can manifest a power THEY know..." meaning that psyker can be plural.


Whilst I agree that the units mentioned are treated as a single psyker I want to point out that the 'they' quoted above is singular not plural.

It doesn't make grammatical sense for it to be a plural in that sentence and they is the pronoun for none gender specific singular as well as plural.

Must thought I'd point that out as it may be relevant in other rules discussions.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

It's just a non-gendered pronoun.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Norn Queen






Drager wrote:
Spoletta wrote:
This is what i think too, after all in the rules it says "A psyker can manifest a power THEY know..." meaning that psyker can be plural.


Whilst I agree that the units mentioned are treated as a single psyker I want to point out that the 'they' quoted above is singular not plural.

It doesn't make grammatical sense for it to be a plural in that sentence and they is the pronoun for none gender specific singular as well as plural.

Must thought I'd point that out as it may be relevant in other rules discussions.


It is however they [THE UNIT] however which inludes 1+ models.


These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






These units say in the rules "this unit manifest X power" meaning all models in that unit just manifested that power, so it doesnt matter if later int he rule that they say "they", it already established that it was the "unit" manifesting it.

   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User






You have a warlock conclave. The conclave has a special rule that restricts how it may act in the psychic phase depending on how many models are in the unit. Manifesting is now done via this rule instead of the normal rules on the warlocks datasheet.

According to conclave, before manifesting you must pick a model (say I have 4 warlocks and I pick warlock A) RAW you can smite with model A, then because you have enough to cast a second power, you can select warlock B and manifest smite again as it is a different model.

Not sure if they FAQ'd it though.
   
Made in de
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge






ParadoxGaming wrote:


You have a warlock conclave. The conclave has a special rule that restricts how it may act in the psychic phase depending on how many models are in the unit. Manifesting is now done via this rule instead of the normal rules on the warlocks datasheet.

According to conclave, before manifesting you must pick a model (say I have 4 warlocks and I pick warlock A) RAW you can smite with model A, then because you have enough to cast a second power, you can select warlock B and manifest smite again as it is a different model.

Not sure if they FAQ'd it though.


You can not Smite twice with the same psyker in the same phase (in this case the whole Warlock Conclave is the psyker). Selecting a model in the unit is only for determining line of sight, range, Perils of the Warp etc..

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/25 03:29:58


If Khorne needs blood, will drown him in his own blood!
If Slaanesh wants pleasure, then we´ll give him DEATH, the greatest pleasure known to man!
If Tzeentch asks for forbidden knowledge, then we will enlighten him with fear of The God Machine!
If Nurgle wants us to embrace rebirth, then to hell with that, the Guard embrace Death, we live to DIE! 
   
Made in us
Norn Queen






ParadoxGaming wrote:


You have a warlock conclave. The conclave has a special rule that restricts how it may act in the psychic phase depending on how many models are in the unit. Manifesting is now done via this rule instead of the normal rules on the warlocks datasheet.

According to conclave, before manifesting you must pick a model (say I have 4 warlocks and I pick warlock A) RAW you can smite with model A, then because you have enough to cast a second power, you can select warlock B and manifest smite again as it is a different model.

Not sure if they FAQ'd it though.


False. Zoanthropes have the same thing. You pick the one model to determine line of sight, range, closest unit, etcetc... But its still the unit that manifests. The unit can only cast each power once.


These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: