Switch Theme:

Harlequin flip belts, buildings and charge distance.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




"Move across models and terrain"

So here is a scenario, you have a troupe on side "A" and target on side "B" of building. For clarity sake, this building blocks all line of sight between two sides. 8 inches direct through building- as if it were not here.

8"
|----->|
A |||| B

I would need a natural 7 to be within 1". That would place me "technically" on top of said building..

1) can I charge B,
2) what do i need to charge B. Do I need an extra inch to allow me to land on the right side of "B"?
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






They are treated like Fly, its in the faqs, you would need to end within 1" btb measuring, if you can place the models On the terrain and still be within 1" (1" from btb then your, good otherwise you need to roll higher to be to the side or behind the enemy.

Edit: Spelling

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/24 21:12:41


   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




 Amishprn86 wrote:
They are treated like Fly, its in the faqs, you would need to end within 1" btb measuring, if you can place the models On the terrain and still be within 1" (1" from btb then your, good otherwise you need to roll higher to be to the side or behind the enemy.

Edit: Spelling



So, If the building is 3" high, other measures as stated I would need an 11" to get base to base? 8" from A to B, and 3" down from top of building?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wouldn't you have to add the 3" to go up the one side if you have to add the 3" down from the top of the building on the other side?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/24 21:44:06


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






If you cant be placed in coherency and not within 1" then you cant make the charge.

When landing on terrain you move at a diagonal, if you did that and landed on terrain and are not within 1" its not a legal move.

If the building is 3" high and your 3" away that will add a total of 1.25" to your movement (the diagonal distance of a square that is 3x3 is 4.25, you are moving already 3" horizontal so it would only add a1.25")

If you can get just 1 model into 1" without needed to gp "up" terrain then that model can completely ignore the terrain, you ONLY measure the diagonal distance for models that land on it, as long as your with in coherency at the end of the charge that is (2" horizontal 6" vertical) so that 3" up and down wouldnt be a problem b.c you can have 6" vertical coherency.

Harlequins basically, if you can get 1 guy there, 99% the time all can get there if there are multi levels do to the 6" coherency rule on page176.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
PS this was a Facebook response to Flip Belt question. They dont want you to Ignore terrain fully, some were using that to go into terrain and be out of LoS and get into melee with literally everything.

You still have to land on terrain and when you land on terrain then you measure the angle otherwise you ignore it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/24 22:15:15


   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Amishprn86 wrote:
If you cant be placed in coherency and not within 1" then you cant make the charge.

When landing on terrain you move at a diagonal, if you did that and landed on terrain and are not within 1" its not a legal move.

If the building is 3" high and your 3" away that will add a total of 1.25" to your movement (the diagonal distance of a square that is 3x3 is 4.25, you are moving already 3" horizontal so it would only add a1.25")

If you can get just 1 model into 1" without needed to gp "up" terrain then that model can completely ignore the terrain, you ONLY measure the diagonal distance for models that land on it, as long as your with in coherency at the end of the charge that is (2" horizontal 6" vertical) so that 3" up and down wouldnt be a problem b.c you can have 6" vertical coherency.

Harlequins basically, if you can get 1 guy there, 99% the time all can get there if there are multi levels do to the 6" coherency rule on page176.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
PS this was a Facebook response to Flip Belt question. They dont want you to Ignore terrain fully, some were using that to go into terrain and be out of LoS and get into melee with literally everything.

You still have to land on terrain and when you land on terrain then you measure the angle otherwise you ignore it.


That's fine for going into terrain, but in this example they're next to the building on opposite sides. You can't move diagonally (vertically) toward the opponent without going through the building, which they can't do. You don't get to fly through a solid object like a building. If it were a smaller building and they weren't next to it then the diagonal distance would enter in, but as shown in the OP's example you pretty much have to go straight up because of the building, then across and then down again.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/25 21:43:44


 
   
Made in us
Tough Tyrant Guard






They move across it as if it wasn't there because of flip belts. No vertical movement in this situation. You measure straight between the two bases.

If you don't have room to fit, you can't place the model.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: