| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/05 19:14:03
Subject: Using pile-in as charge
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Got a question about the credibility of a certain charge move, so here is the situation:
Let's say we have an infantry unit and behind it a character, like 2 inches behind, and slightly diagonal to one side. Is it within rules for the following to happen - an enemy unit declares charge against both the unit and the character ( both are within 12" ) so the charging unit can theoretically make the charge. After overwatch from both the charged unit and the character, the charge roll is just enough for the charging unit to reach the front unit, but not the character behind.
So onto the fight phase, when selected to fight, can the charging unit use the pile-in 3" to put itself within 1" of the character ( the first charging model is in base contact with the enemy unit, and this 3" move would just see it kinda rotate around the border of the assaulted unit, so it would remain at the same base-to-base distance, albeit in a different position ), so that it can now choose the character as a target as well?
Oooooor - it can't move within 1" of the character, even though it was a declared target, on the basis that its charge roll wasn't enough to reach the character during the charge move itself?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/05 19:16:35
Subject: Using pile-in as charge
|
 |
Omnipotent Necron Overlord
|
As far as I know the only requirement for being able to fight in the fight phase was that the unit has to be declared as a charge target. I see no reason why the total distance rolled would affect your ability to fight a unit with a pile in.
|
If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/05 19:25:04
Subject: Re:Using pile-in as charge
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Perfectly acceptable.
Fight Phase Step 3 wrote:"To target an enemy unit, the attacking model must either be within 1" of that unit, or within 1" of another model from its own unit that is itself within 1" of that enemy unit. This represents the unit fighting in two ranks. Models that charged this turn can only target enemy units that they charged in the previous phase."
You declared a charge against the character, and you piled in in Step 2, so now in Step 3 you can hit the character no problem.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/05 21:00:23
Subject: Using pile-in as charge
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
I believe that's all legit.
You must have a declared Charge to attack it (check).
You must be within 12" to declare a Charge (check).
You accept Overwatch from every unit you declare a Charge against (check).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/06 02:12:56
Subject: Using pile-in as charge
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
The only issue I see is that the pile in needs to be towards the nearest enemy model. I would question how you didn't make it to the character behind on original charge but then it is the nearest unit for pile?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/06 02:19:07
Subject: Using pile-in as charge
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Nemesis234 wrote:The only issue I see is that the pile in needs to be towards the nearest enemy model. I would question how you didn't make it to the character behind on original charge but then it is the nearest unit for pile?
That's super easy to do. Only the first model that moves in a charge has to move within 1". All the other models can go up, down, left, right, FURTHER AWAY all they want so long as you maintain coherency. You can easily set it up so you move 30 models in such a way that some get closer to the character than the target of the charge. "The first model you move must finish within 1" of an enemy model from one of the target units. No models in the charging unit can move within 1" of an enemy unit that was not a target of its charge." Also, it might have been the case the character ended up 1.1" away from your total move, in any case you can manipulate the movement during your charge to ensure it's closest.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/01/06 02:20:53
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/06 02:24:34
Subject: Using pile-in as charge
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Nemesis234 wrote:The only issue I see is that the pile in needs to be towards the nearest enemy model. I would question how you didn't make it to the character behind on original charge but then it is the nearest unit for pile?
Nowhere is the word “directly” used
If I’m 1” inch away from the closest, I can use 3” of movement as long as I finish less than 1” away.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/06 09:58:09
Subject: Using pile-in as charge
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Nemesis234 wrote:The only issue I see is that the pile in needs to be towards the nearest enemy model. I would question how you didn't make it to the character behind on original charge but then it is the nearest unit for pile?
Nowhere is the word “directly” used
If I’m 1” inch away from the closest, I can use 3” of movement as long as I finish less than 1” away.
Yes. You can use the 3" pile in to circle around the model ending your movement a little closer to it. You can't do that if you already are in base to base contact. There is no way to get closer than base to base contact. Avoid base to base contact if you want to pile in around an enemy model.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/06 10:07:38
Subject: Re:Using pile-in as charge
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Perfectly Legal to do.
The Pile in gets technical because of the closer to the nearest enemy model, but if they are equal distance from each other it's not a problem.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/01/06 10:10:27
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/07 08:19:13
Subject: Re:Using pile-in as charge
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
OK, thanks guys
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|