Switch Theme:

Brimstones  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Been Around the Block




Hello

If a unit of horrors assault and I overwatch and wipe the squad, the unit splits and creates new units.

First question

Do they still complete the charge?

Second

Say there is only 2 horrors left and I cause 5 wounds to the unit, when the 2 horrors are removed do the wounds spill over on the new horrors?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Ozeo wrote:
Hello

If a unit of horrors assault and I overwatch and wipe the squad, the unit splits and creates new units.

First question

Do they still complete the charge?

Second

Say there is only 2 horrors left and I cause 5 wounds to the unit, when the 2 horrors are removed do the wounds spill over on the new horrors?
1. The charge move happens after overwatch is completed, so the new horrors will attempt to make it in (though ofc they might have been placed out of range and fail). In fact you're not supposed to roll for the distance until overwatch is completed. The new horrors are still part of the same unit, so your declaration that the unit is attempting to charge still holds.

2. It depends what the damage of the weapons are if they "spill over". If they are five 1 damage wounds, then they will have a chance to hurt the new ones since you have to resolve saves one at a time, and when one dies, another model spawns and is a legitimate model to assign a wound to. If it was two wounds that do 5 damage each, then you'd be capped at 2 dead models, whether they were the original horrors or a newly split horror after the first died.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2018/01/25 07:47:43


 
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




Just remember, mortal wounds roll over to other models in the unit, not any others.

Just like to point that out. Never know when it might come to play
   
Made in us
Pious Palatine





Tacoma, WA, USA

Ozeo wrote:
Hello

If a unit of horrors assault and I overwatch and wipe the squad, the unit splits and creates new units.

First question

Do they still complete the charge?

Second

Say there is only 2 horrors left and I cause 5 wounds to the unit, when the 2 horrors are removed do the wounds spill over on the new horrors?


Note that the Split rule has each Horror replaced before you remove a slain Horror model. This means the replacement Horror is in the same unit and as BaconCatBug notes are eligible targets for wounds inflicted on the unit by your attack. In fact, it appears perfectly legal to have a Pink Horror fail it's save, replace it with two Blue Horrors, assign the next wound to a Blue Horror who fails it's save, replace it with a Brimstone Horror, and then assign the next wound to the Brimstone Horror.

So the unit either still exist and continues the charge or is gone and naturally can't.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 BaconCatBug wrote:
1. The charge move happens after overwatch is completed, so the new horrors will attempt to make it in (though ofc they might have been placed out of range and fail). In fact you're not supposed to roll for the distance until overwatch is completed. The new horrors are still part of the same unit, so your declaration that the unit is attempting to charge still holds.


Not a good idea to overwatch horrors. If a pink horror is slain, two new blue horrors can be added before the pink one is removed. This can shorten the charge distance a lot, because the blue ones can be placed up to 1" from enemy models.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: