Switch Theme:

Ynnari activating in fight phase with no one to fight?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Boom! Leman Russ Commander








I've seen this happen....autarch charges a unit, kills it. Soulburst allows him to fight again? But with no one to fight, he says he can consolidate ( 3 inches towards closet opponent). Legal>?

.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut





Yes. The rule for fight phase are clear enough : choose a unit, pile-in 3" toward closest enemy. Make your attacks If there is a valid target within 1", then consolidate 3" toward closest enemy.

There is no mention that there needs to be a valid target to do all this. So you can actually soulburst 6" toward closest enemy unit.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

VoidSempai wrote:
Yes. The rule for fight phase are clear enough : choose a unit, pile-in 3" toward closest enemy. Make your attacks If there is a valid target within 1", then consolidate 3" toward closest enemy.

There is no mention that there needs to be a valid target to do all this. So you can actually soulburst 6" toward closest enemy unit.


That 'choose a unit' part of the Fight phase rules by itself requires a unit to either have charged or be within 1" of an enemy unit to be chosen.

I don't know that it's clear that Strength from Death allows you to do this even if the chosing unit didn't charge or has no enemy units within 1", as given if it were the Fight phase (which we're pretending for this Soulburst action) they would not be eligible to be chosen to fight.

In the OP's scenario though, given the Autarch charged it would be legitimate.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/02/25 23:23:39


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Except as he charged he is an unit that is eligible for activiation in the fight phase. No requirement to be within 1" if you charge and the unit is wiped before you activate. Might be a tad broken but it's 8th edition RAW.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

The FAQ says you can always consolidate if you charged, but doesn't mention being able to Pile In. Can they? (Genuine question)

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




I've always readed is being allowed as its befire the choosing a target step which is where it gets open to interpretation as to what to do if you can't pick a target. So yeah multi activation units can make some serious movement 18" in the fight phase
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Ice_can wrote:
Except as he charged he is an unit that is eligible for activiation in the fight phase. No requirement to be within 1" if you charge and the unit is wiped before you activate. Might be a tad broken but it's 8th edition RAW.


Sorry, I wasn't terribly clear in my reply - was focusing on the "no mention that there needs to be a valid target" bit. Will edit my post to clarify
   
Made in au
Flashy Flashgitz






Does the Strength from Death rule allow you to get around the limitation of only being able to fight units you have declared a charge on?
   
Made in us
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




McCragge

He can’t pile in.

Bow down to Guilliman for he is our new God Emperor!

Martel - "Custodes are terrible in 8th. Good luck with them. They take all the problems of marines and multiply them."

"Lol, classic martel. 'I know it was strong enough to podium in the biggest tournament in the world but I refuse to acknowledge space marines are good because I can't win with them and it can't possibly be ME'."

DakkaDakka is really the place where you need anti-tank guns to kill basic dudes, because anything less isn't durable enough. 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 Primark G wrote:
He can’t pile in.


That's what I thought. Consolidate only, right, as per FAQ?

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




 JohnnyHell wrote:
 Primark G wrote:
He can’t pile in.


That's what I thought. Consolidate only, right, as per FAQ?

Which FAQ? Not being sarcastic, I haven't seen/remembered it being covered
   
Made in us
Clousseau





East Bay, Ca, US

You get to pile in.

Consider the scenario where you multi-charge 2 units, but only get within 1" of one of those units. You could still pile into the second unit and fight it.

Now let's pretend that the first unit was removed before that unit gets to activate. It would still be nominated to fight, which includes a pile in. In this case it's a bit clearer because there is a legal target for it to fight afterwords, but the point is that whether or not that target exists is irrelevant.

If you are eligible to fight in the fight phase, during your activation, you get a pile in, and a consolidation move afterwords.

 Galas wrote:
I remember when Marmatag was a nooby, all shiney and full of joy. How playing the unbalanced mess of Warhammer40k in a ultra-competitive meta has changed you

Bharring wrote:
He'll actually *change his mind* in the presence of sufficient/sufficiently defended information. Heretic.
 
   
Made in us
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




McCragge

You can only pile into an enemy unit.

Bow down to Guilliman for he is our new God Emperor!

Martel - "Custodes are terrible in 8th. Good luck with them. They take all the problems of marines and multiply them."

"Lol, classic martel. 'I know it was strong enough to podium in the biggest tournament in the world but I refuse to acknowledge space marines are good because I can't win with them and it can't possibly be ME'."

DakkaDakka is really the place where you need anti-tank guns to kill basic dudes, because anything less isn't durable enough. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Primark G wrote:
You can only pile into an enemy unit.


Incorrect.

"Pile In

You may move each model in the unit up to 3" - this move can be in any direction so long as the model ends the move closer to the nearest enemy model."


You can pile in toward an enemy unit, but the only requirement is that you move closer to an enemy unit than you started, not that you must pile into the enemy unit. As long as you're closer to the nearest enemy model, you are free to move toward any other enemy units. With your pile in move, you could end up closer to a different unit than you the one that was closest when you started the pile in move. "Closer" doesn't mean "must move into close combat range", though. If you have some valid tactical reason, you aren't forced to move within an inch of the enemy unit (assuming you destroyed that first unit in the multicharge example given, and you're move than an inch away from the second unit)

The same applies for consolidate..

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/02/26 21:16:39


 
   
Made in us
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




McCragge

Okay I was wrong - thanks, I was thinking previous Edition. So potentially can pile in then later consolidate for 6"?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/02/27 01:43:09


Bow down to Guilliman for he is our new God Emperor!

Martel - "Custodes are terrible in 8th. Good luck with them. They take all the problems of marines and multiply them."

"Lol, classic martel. 'I know it was strong enough to podium in the biggest tournament in the world but I refuse to acknowledge space marines are good because I can't win with them and it can't possibly be ME'."

DakkaDakka is really the place where you need anti-tank guns to kill basic dudes, because anything less isn't durable enough. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Yes.

An interesting thing is that if you manage the pile in move so that, even though you move closer to what was the closest enemy model you end the pile in move closer to an enemy model in a unit other than the one you're piling in on, you would make your consolidation move based on having to get closer to the enemy model in the second unit.

It might be that you want to lock that second unit in combat after the fight phase is over, and just used the first unit as a way to get to the second unit.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: