Switch Theme:

Does a roll of a 6 always hit?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Had this come up over the weekend match play. Opponent believed a roll of a 6 always hit even if you need a 7 to hit when shooting. We looked for any such rule and couldn't find any so we ruled he couldn't hit, but is that the right ruling? We know and found the rule that a 1 is always a miss, but couldn't find anything about a 6 always succeeding.

Situation was an interceptor with just 1 wound left (last bracket, BS 5+) had moved shooting a heavy weapon (-1 to hit) and targetting a tank which popped smoke during my turn (another -1 to hit). This meant he needed a 5 to hit but with a -2 to the roll it effectively becomes needing a 7 to hit. He had no other targets due to range and LOS.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

No. A roll of a 6 does not always hit.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Stubborn Prosecutor





GW is one of the few games that allow shots to become impossible like that. See Orks versus Alotric Eldar.

I suspect you'll have to wait for 9th edition before you'll see it fixed.

Bender wrote:* Realise that despite the way people talk, this is not a professional sport played by demi gods, but rather a game of toy soldiers played by tired, inebriated human beings.


https://www.victorwardbooks.com/ Home of Dark Days series 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




They used to have a chart for requiring more than 7+ to hit it was a 6 followed by a 4 for 7, 6 by 5 for 8, 6 by 6 for 9 and can't remember if it went to 10 or not but if it did it would have been a 6, 6, 4 consecutively so not exactlly reliable.
   
Made in gb
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut





UK

nope now in 8th a 6 can miss with modifiers (with a -1 mod you can effectively make units immune to over-watch (unless they have buffs them selves))

however a 1 does still always miss - even with modifiers

its not consistent but this is GW we're talkin bout

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/02/26 17:40:14


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Modifiers of any kind, + or -, are ignored for overwatch. You hit on a natural roll of 6.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Thanks for the confirmation. I know the new Necromunda has rules that have you roll again against your BS when you need a 7 or more to hit, I just couldn't find anything like that for 8th ed 40k.


 Latro_ wrote:
nope now in 8th a 6 can miss with modifiers (with a -1 mod you can effectively make units immune to over-watch (unless they have buffs them selves))

however a 1 does still always miss - even with modifiers

its not consistent but this is GW we're talkin bout



Overwatch doesn't allow any modifiers. Here is the text from the rulebook:
"uses all the normal rules except that a 6 is
always required for a successful hit roll, irrespective of the
firing model’s Ballistic Skill or any modifiers."

So you can't apply a -1 to hit to overwatch.
   
Made in gb
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut





UK

oh my lawd so it does!

i'v cheated at least twice! good to know.

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




roman2440 wrote:
Thanks for the confirmation. I know the new Necromunda has rules that have you roll again against your BS when you need a 7 or more to hit, I just couldn't find anything like that for 8th ed 40k.


 Latro_ wrote:
nope now in 8th a 6 can miss with modifiers (with a -1 mod you can effectively make units immune to over-watch (unless they have buffs them selves))

however a 1 does still always miss - even with modifiers

its not consistent but this is GW we're talkin bout



Overwatch doesn't allow any modifiers. Here is the text from the rulebook:
"uses all the normal rules except that a 6 is
always required for a successful hit roll, irrespective of the
firing model’s Ballistic Skill or any modifiers."

So you can't apply a -1 to hit to overwatch.


And yet, there are plenty of units with rules which effect Overwatch, Agripinaa and Mordians both hit on a 5+, for example...

si vis pacem, para bellum 
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

I'm pretty sure that if an attack needs a 7+ to hit, you can still hit if you roll a 6 followed by something else. I remember reading that in the BrB.
Edit : Or...not. I guess it was in necromunda or something.
Yeah, 7+ is impossible to hit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/03/01 12:43:10


What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 CthuluIsSpy wrote:
I'm pretty sure that if an attack needs a 7+ to hit, you can still hit if you roll a 6 followed by something else. I remember reading that in the BrB.
Edit : Or...not. I guess it was in necromunda or something.
Yeah, 7+ is impossible to hit.


That was in older editions - strasight-up impossible in 8th.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Pedroig wrote:


And yet, there are plenty of units with rules which effect Overwatch, Agripinaa and Mordians both hit on a 5+, for example...


RAW agripinaa works, because they hit on 5+. RAW mordians dont work, because they get +1 to overwatch, which is a modifier
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

 p5freak wrote:
Pedroig wrote:


And yet, there are plenty of units with rules which effect Overwatch, Agripinaa and Mordians both hit on a 5+, for example...


RAW agripinaa works, because they hit on 5+. RAW mordians dont work, because they get +1 to overwatch, which is a modifier


Wouldn't that override the core rules though as it specifically states that it modifies overwatch? That's how the rules usually work.

What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 p5freak wrote:
Pedroig wrote:


And yet, there are plenty of units with rules which effect Overwatch, Agripinaa and Mordians both hit on a 5+, for example...


RAW agripinaa works, because they hit on 5+. RAW mordians dont work, because they get +1 to overwatch, which is a modifier


RAW, the Mordian rule was FAQ'd to work, so this comment is out of date.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





And another example of people blatantly and intentionally ignoring the overwhelmingly obvious intent of the Mordian rule, poor writing or not.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 JohnnyHell wrote:

RAW, the Mordian rule was FAQ'd to work, so this comment is out of date.


True. My fault.

 Elbows wrote:
And another example of people blatantly and intentionally ignoring the overwhelmingly obvious intent of the Mordian rule, poor writing or not.


You dont know RAI, no one outside of GW knows it. It happened that "overwhelmingly obvious intent" was proven wrong by GW. And i'm sure it will happen again in the future.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: