Switch Theme:

Weapons that hit automatically generating extra shots on a 6+ to-hit roll  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 doctortom wrote:
You can't infer the opposite at all. Immobile specifies that you do not roll. Heavy flamers do not specify. Immobile does establish a precedent that they would state you do not roll if you don't need to roll; since Heavy flamers don't then you can still roll for them by RAW.

You can infer that hitting automatically means no dice are rolled. The Auto Hit rule is clarified in the rule for immobile units, and since Heavy Flamers auto hit, we can see that we dont need to roll since the clarification is there for immobile.

Immobile does establish a precedent for not rolling, so RAW you do not rll for auto hit weapons.
 doctortom wrote:


With that logic, they would have updated flamers in Chapter Approved or in FAQs since there had been the hypothetical questions about Heavy Flamers. They didn't updeate them with either a Chapter Approved mention or a FAQ update

Maybe they missed the edit date? Maybe they are saving it for a future FAQ?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/03/26 16:55:58


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

What other rules do you ignore because you don't like them?

I follow the rules. If I was to pop Dakka Dakka Dakka against something with a -1 to-hit, I get nothing, because that's how the rules work. Likewise, if I'm attacking a Culexus with a Power Fist, I miss. Them's the rules.

But I can't say the same for you, since you apparently ignore rules if they help your opponent but not you.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 DeathReaper wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
You can't infer the opposite at all. Immobile specifies that you do not roll. Heavy flamers do not specify. Immobile does establish a precedent that they would state you do not roll if you don't need to roll; since Heavy flamers don't then you can still roll for them by RAW.

You can infer that hitting automatically means no dice are rolled. The Auto Hit rule is clarified in the rule for immobile units, and since Heavy Flamers auto hit, we can see that we dont need to roll since the clarification is there for immobile.


You can infer all you want, but it's not an explicit statement. You can also infer that it hits no matter what you roll, and if there is something else that can also happen depending upon the result of the roll, you get to roll (in fact are still allowed by the statement that you roll for your attacks.

 DeathReaper wrote:
Immobile does establish a precedent for not rolling, so RAW you do not rll for auto hit weapons.


I agree that immobile does indeed establish a precedent for not rolling; it's a precedent that you don't roll if the rule specifies that you don't roll. It's not a precedent for saying you don't roll for something that doesn't specify that you don't roll. The mere fact that immobile specifies not rolling and other things don't shows that you are mistaken in saying it's a precedent, since precedents apply to things with similar wording. You don't have that here.

 doctortom wrote:


 DeathReaper wrote:
[With that logic, they would have updated flamers in Chapter Approved or in FAQs since there had been the hypothetical questions about Heavy Flamers. They didn't updeate them with either a Chapter Approved mention or a FAQ update

Maybe they missed the edit date? Maybe they are saving it for a future FAQ?


And maybe the Purple Space Unicorns chapter of the Space marines accidentally destroyed their files on it with hurricane bolter fire. I give that just about the same probability of what you're suggesting.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/03/26 17:24:59


 
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






 DeathReaper wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
You can't infer the opposite at all. Immobile specifies that you do not roll. Heavy flamers do not specify. Immobile does establish a precedent that they would state you do not roll if you don't need to roll; since Heavy flamers don't then you can still roll for them by RAW.

You can infer that hitting automatically means no dice are rolled. The Auto Hit rule is clarified in the rule for immobile units, and since Heavy Flamers auto hit, we can see that we dont need to roll since the clarification is there for immobile.

Immobile does establish a precedent for not rolling, so RAW you do not rll for auto hit weapons.

In the same line of logic, it can be inferred that "hitting automatically" means "no dice rolls are REQUIRED" - the phrase "this weapon automatically hits" can also, just as much as your claim of meaning 'do not roll dice', mean that "this weapon automatically hits (regardless of the outcome of the to-hit roll)." In such case, any to-hit rolls are made redundant, therefore skipped to save time.

Please show us how the English CANNOT be interpreted the way I've written above unless specifically and explicitly stated as for the Immobile rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/03/26 18:18:08


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 doctortom wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
You can't infer the opposite at all. Immobile specifies that you do not roll. Heavy flamers do not specify. Immobile does establish a precedent that they would state you do not roll if you don't need to roll; since Heavy flamers don't then you can still roll for them by RAW.

You can infer that hitting automatically means no dice are rolled. The Auto Hit rule is clarified in the rule for immobile units, and since Heavy Flamers auto hit, we can see that we dont need to roll since the clarification is there for immobile.


You can infer all you want, but it's not an explicit statement. You can also infer that it hits no matter what you roll, and if there is something else that can also happen depending upon the result of the roll, you get to roll (in fact are still allowed by the statement that you roll for your attacks.

It is implicit though, that there is not a roll, through the use of hits automatically.

If you think you are allowed to roll to hit then you would still miss on a 1. Unless auto hit overrides that, then it would also over ride the rule about rolling a die for each shot rule as well.

You cant have it both ways.


I agree that immobile does indeed establish a precedent for not rolling; it's a precedent that you don't roll if the rule specifies that you don't roll. It's not a precedent for saying you don't roll for something that doesn't specify that you don't roll. The mere fact that immobile specifies not rolling and other things don't shows that you are mistaken in saying it's a precedent, since precedents apply to things with similar wording. You don't have that here.
The part about not rolling is just clarification on the auto hit rules.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

So general overrides specific?

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 JNAProductions wrote:
So general overrides specific?

No, Specific (Auto hit) over-rides general (Rolls of 1 miss and roll a die for each shot).

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

 DeathReaper wrote:
 JNAProductions wrote:
So general overrides specific?

No, Specific (Auto hit) over-rides general (Rolls of 1 miss and roll a die for each shot).


Provide an explanation for the bolded bit.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 JNAProductions wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 JNAProductions wrote:
So general overrides specific?

No, Specific (Auto hit) over-rides general (Rolls of 1 miss and roll a die for each shot).


Provide an explanation for the bolded bit.

That is a general rule right? just like 1's always miss?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 DeathReaper wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
You can't infer the opposite at all. Immobile specifies that you do not roll. Heavy flamers do not specify. Immobile does establish a precedent that they would state you do not roll if you don't need to roll; since Heavy flamers don't then you can still roll for them by RAW.

You can infer that hitting automatically means no dice are rolled. The Auto Hit rule is clarified in the rule for immobile units, and since Heavy Flamers auto hit, we can see that we dont need to roll since the clarification is there for immobile.


You can infer all you want, but it's not an explicit statement. You can also infer that it hits no matter what you roll, and if there is something else that can also happen depending upon the result of the roll, you get to roll (in fact are still allowed by the statement that you roll for your attacks.

It is implicit though, that there is not a roll, through the use of hits automatically.


Please address skschsan's comments about how it can be interpreted as a dice roll is not required as opposed to your insistance that you do not roll.




 DeathReaper wrote:
[If you think you are allowed to roll to hit then you would still miss on a 1. Unless auto hit overrides that, then it would also over ride the rule about rolling a die for each shot rule as well.


Not at all. If it means that a dice roll is not required, then you always hit regardless of the roll. Other effects, however, are dependent upon the result of the roll.

 DeathReaper wrote:
You cant have it both ways.


You can't have it that way, sorry.


 DeathReaper wrote:

I agree that immobile does indeed establish a precedent for not rolling; it's a precedent that you don't roll if the rule specifies that you don't roll. It's not a precedent for saying you don't roll for something that doesn't specify that you don't roll. The mere fact that immobile specifies not rolling and other things don't shows that you are mistaken in saying it's a precedent, since precedents apply to things with similar wording. You don't have that here.
The part about not rolling is just clarification on the auto hit rules.


Sorry, that doesn't track. You haven't offered any legitimate evidence about how one case with an explicit statement on not rolling dice serves as a precedent for something that doesn't have an explicit statment. Precedence doesn't work that way. Something explicit like the immobile rule doesn't serve as precedence for something you're inferring about "automatic".


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 JNAProductions wrote:
So general overrides specific?

No, Specific (Auto hit) over-rides general (Rolls of 1 miss and roll a die for each shot).


You're half right. specific auto-hit overrides general rolls of 1 missing. And if someone chooses to roll for an ancillary effect, having 1's miss is actually general overriding specific.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/03/26 19:01:04


 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




If it overrides the general rule of 1's missing then it overrides the stratagem (general rule) that 6's generate extra benefits. The stratagem is for any weapon and therefore a general rule. That it is an optional rule is not germane to general vs specific.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Leo_the_Rat wrote:
If it overrides the general rule of 1's missing then it overrides the stratagem (general rule) that 6's generate extra benefits. The stratagem is for any weapon and therefore a general rule. That it is an optional rule is not germane to general vs specific.


Does it override the rule that pistols can shoot at enemies within 1", or that you make to wound rolls with weapons that have hit? Those are generals rule too, and are about as relevant to automatic hit as the stratagem.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/03/26 19:53:56


 
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

 doctortom wrote:


Not at all. If it means that a dice roll is not required, then you always hit regardless of the roll. Other effects, however, are dependent upon the result of the roll.


This. The only thing that is independent of the hit roll is whether you hit or not, the hit is still relevant for other effects.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in us
Clousseau





East Bay, Ca, US

You are already rolling a dice for each shot - it's to determine the number of hits.

Assault D6 = you roll 1 dice for the shot. This dictates your hits. Rolling again would be rolling to hit twice.

 Galas wrote:
I remember when Marmatag was a nooby, all shiney and full of joy. How playing the unbalanced mess of Warhammer40k in a ultra-competitive meta has changed you

Bharring wrote:
He'll actually *change his mind* in the presence of sufficient/sufficiently defended information. Heretic.
 
   
Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

 Marmatag wrote:
You are already rolling a dice for each shot - it's to determine the number of hits.

Assault D6 = you roll 1 dice for the shot. This dictates your hits. Rolling again would be rolling to hit twice.

That's not a to hit roll. It's a roll to determine the number of shots that the weapon gets this time. Otherwise eg Battle cannons wouldn't need a separate to hit roll for each shot.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/03/28 20:56:48


 
   
Made in us
Clousseau





East Bay, Ca, US

nekooni wrote:
 Marmatag wrote:
You are already rolling a dice for each shot - it's to determine the number of hits.

Assault D6 = you roll 1 dice for the shot. This dictates your hits. Rolling again would be rolling to hit twice.

That's not a to hit roll. It's a roll to determine the number of shots that the weapon gets this time. Otherwise eg Battle cannons wouldn't need a separate to hit roll for each shot.


In this case it does because the hits happen automatically

 Galas wrote:
I remember when Marmatag was a nooby, all shiney and full of joy. How playing the unbalanced mess of Warhammer40k in a ultra-competitive meta has changed you

Bharring wrote:
He'll actually *change his mind* in the presence of sufficient/sufficiently defended information. Heretic.
 
   
Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

 Marmatag wrote:
nekooni wrote:
 Marmatag wrote:
You are already rolling a dice for each shot - it's to determine the number of hits.

Assault D6 = you roll 1 dice for the shot. This dictates your hits. Rolling again would be rolling to hit twice.

That's not a to hit roll. It's a roll to determine the number of shots that the weapon gets this time. Otherwise eg Battle cannons wouldn't need a separate to hit roll for each shot.


In this case it does because the hits happen automatically


Sure. And if the weapon that auto hits is Assault 3 we'll just call the last roll we did the tohit roll? Its not a to hit roll, period.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





You fire a flamer and hit automatically, you fire a bolter and hit - however this strategem and others add degrees of how well you hit (or missed in some case).

Clearly a '1' is not always a failure as you can reroll it or modify it, in which case it wasn't that bad as a '1'. So a failure isn't always as bad a fail as the first dice result says.

So if a '1' that always fails, can be changed to not trigger penalties that happen on a '1' via modifiers or rerolls - surely bonuses are treated the same. Roll the dice - it's a "2", but if I had a reroll I could reroll it try for a "6". I end up getting a "1" - flamer rules kick in and say that it hits anyway, just not the same as if I had a "6".

I definitely err on the save time but technically you should roll for flamers like you do(n't) do squads in individual order. Nothing says don't roll, and things will effect the roll - some things then add additional effects to the final role (turn 1 into hits, make 6's explode), then continue.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/03/29 01:56:53


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Well whaddya know:

BRB FAQ 1.2

Q: Some abilities and Stratagems confer extra bonuses each time a hit roll of, for example, 6+ is rolled. If a weapon has an ability that says ‘this weapon automatically hits its target’, do I still roll the hit rolls for those attacks in the hope of gaining such a bonus?

A: No, no hit rolls are made when resolving attacks with such weapons (and so they will never benefit from such
a bonus).

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta






 JohnnyHell wrote:
Well whaddya know:

BRB FAQ 1.2

Q: Some abilities and Stratagems confer extra bonuses each time a hit roll of, for example, 6+ is rolled. If a weapon has an ability that says ‘this weapon automatically hits its target’, do I still roll the hit rolls for those attacks in the hope of gaining such a bonus?

A: No, no hit rolls are made when resolving attacks with such weapons (and so they will never benefit from such
a bonus).

Lol I was thinking exactly the same thing. You seen the "end of phase/during phase" thing?
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Feels good, man.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: