Switch Theme:

Infiltration deepstrike and first turn  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in it
Stalwart Ultramarine Tactical Marine






Hello,

I've read the rules and searched the web, but I've found different interpretations so it's basic but here it goes:

-say you have 6 units, can you deepstrike 3 and infiltrate 2?
-do infiltrated units count against who finishes deploying first? In the scenario above, does it mean that you deploy one unit and then if the other player has 2 units to deploy you choose who goes first?

Thanks!!
Yours forever noob, Fin

   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




You'll have to be more precise on infiltrate, different units work in different ways.

I matched play, 50% of your units must be deployed on the table.
Deepstrike/infiltrate abilities usually state you deploy somewhere else. This counts as a deployment choice.

DFTT 
   
Made in it
Stalwart Ultramarine Tactical Marine






Captyn_Bob wrote:
You'll have to be more precise on infiltrate, different units work in different ways.

I matched play, 50% of your units must be deployed on the table.
Deepstrike/infiltrate abilities usually state you deploy somewhere else. This counts as a deployment choice.


Thanks, in the scenario the infiltrated units were 2 aeldari rangers, which emerge from the webways.. no idea what that means!

Anyways, if player A has 6 units (1 on the table, 2 infiltrated, 3 deepstrike) and player B has 5 units all together j the table, is player B deciding who go first?

   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




Yes, regardless of where the units start each drop has the same value. Please note however that transports and their passengers only count as 1 drop regardless of how many units are inside the transport.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




It looks like your eldar opponent made a mistake.
With only one unit deployed on the table, he broke the matched play restriction.

Easily done. Other scouts like nurglings and space marine scouts deploy on the table, but as you say, rangers deploy in the Webway, so won't count towards your 50% limit.

DFTT 
   
Made in us
Steadfast Grey Hunter




 Findarfin wrote:
Captyn_Bob wrote:
You'll have to be more precise on infiltrate, different units work in different ways.

I matched play, 50% of your units must be deployed on the table.
Deepstrike/infiltrate abilities usually state you deploy somewhere else. This counts as a deployment choice.


Thanks, in the scenario the infiltrated units were 2 aeldari rangers, which emerge from the webways.. no idea what that means!

Anyways, if player A has 6 units (1 on the table, 2 infiltrated, 3 deepstrike) and player B has 5 units all together j the table, is player B deciding who go first?


In Match Play - player A is breaking the Tactical Reserves rule. 3 of their 6 units must be deployed on the battlefield (at least 50% of his units) during deployment.

Aeldari Rangers have Appear Unbidden (AU) which allows them to setup 'off table' during deployment and then be placed on the table at the start of the first battle round (a bit more to it that is not relevant to this conversation, ask to look at the codex if you want the full rule). Each time you use AU to setup a ranger unit, that counts as a deployment choice.

Assuming there are no vehicles with units to accelerate deployment, depending on the scenario, Player B is either getting the +1 or going first.
   
Made in it
Stalwart Ultramarine Tactical Marine






Leo_the_Rat wrote:Yes, regardless of where the units start each drop has the same value. Please note however that transports and their passengers only count as 1 drop regardless of how many units are inside the transport.


Captyn_Bob wrote:It looks like your eldar opponent made a mistake.
With only one unit deployed on the table, he broke the matched play restriction.

Easily done. Other scouts like nurglings and space marine scouts deploy on the table, but as you say, rangers deploy in the Webway, so won't count towards your 50% limit.


Ulfhednar_42 wrote:
 Findarfin wrote:
Captyn_Bob wrote:
You'll have to be more precise on infiltrate, different units work in different ways.

I matched play, 50% of your units must be deployed on the table.
Deepstrike/infiltrate abilities usually state you deploy somewhere else. This counts as a deployment choice.


Thanks, in the scenario the infiltrated units were 2 aeldari rangers, which emerge from the webways.. no idea what that means!

Anyways, if player A has 6 units (1 on the table, 2 infiltrated, 3 deepstrike) and player B has 5 units all together j the table, is player B deciding who go first?


In Match Play - player A is breaking the Tactical Reserves rule. 3 of their 6 units must be deployed on the battlefield (at least 50% of his units) during deployment.

Aeldari Rangers have Appear Unbidden (AU) which allows them to setup 'off table' during deployment and then be placed on the table at the start of the first battle round (a bit more to it that is not relevant to this conversation, ask to look at the codex if you want the full rule). Each time you use AU to setup a ranger unit, that counts as a deployment choice.

Assuming there are no vehicles with units to accelerate deployment, depending on the scenario, Player B is either getting the +1 or going first.



Thanks, it's clear! Gnarly aeldari...

   
Made in pl
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Findarfin wrote:
which emerge from the webways.. no idea what that means!

It's just flavor text meaning 'reserves'. SM for example have 'emerge from teleportarium/thunderhawk', regardless of wording it's old reserve setup.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Yep. They key difference to look for here is abilities which let a unit deploy somewhere that isn't on the table vs. abilities which let a unit deploy on the table outside of the deployment zone.

The first one is not deployed on the battlefield for the tactical reserves rule, the second one is.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: