Switch Theme:

Heroic intervention and fresh charges  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




McCragge

If a character is locked in combat can it HI into another unit and if yes dioes that count as a fresh charge?

Bow down to Guilliman for he is our new God Emperor!

Martel - "Custodes are terrible in 8th. Good luck with them. They take all the problems of marines and multiply them."

"Lol, classic martel. 'I know it was strong enough to podium in the biggest tournament in the world but I refuse to acknowledge space marines are good because I can't win with them and it can't possibly be ME'."

DakkaDakka is really the place where you need anti-tank guns to kill basic dudes, because anything less isn't durable enough. 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Primark G wrote:
If a character is locked in combat can it HI into another unit and if yes dioes that count as a fresh charge?
Depends what you mean by locked. If you mean in Base to Base contact, then no because HI has to end up closer to the nearest enemy model and you can't do that because you're already as close as you can be to the enemy.

HI never counts as a charge.

One scenario that could happen is your character is 0.9" away from the enemy at the start of the turn. After all charges a unit that has charged now somehow has a model 0.5" from the character. The Character may now Heroically intervene towards the model 0.5" away, which could theoretically move him further than 1" away from the original enemy. In any case, the Character will never count as charging due to an Intervention

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2018/03/10 01:59:47


 
   
Made in us
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




McCragge

Locked = already engaged

Thanks!

Bow down to Guilliman for he is our new God Emperor!

Martel - "Custodes are terrible in 8th. Good luck with them. They take all the problems of marines and multiply them."

"Lol, classic martel. 'I know it was strong enough to podium in the biggest tournament in the world but I refuse to acknowledge space marines are good because I can't win with them and it can't possibly be ME'."

DakkaDakka is really the place where you need anti-tank guns to kill basic dudes, because anything less isn't durable enough. 
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




Fun fact. You actually dont need to move closer for a HI

Heroic Intervention

After the enemy has completed all of their charge moves, any of your CHARACTERS that are within 3" of an enemy unit may perform a Heroic Intervention. Any that do so can move up to 3", so long as they end the move closer to the nearest enemy model.

note in the bold it says you CAN move up to, not MUST

just note that some thing work on a HI (Khorne daemons, Blood angels, apparently new necrons trait, Tau Warlord trait (Farsight says infinte re roll hits))

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2018/03/10 06:52:13


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

mchammadad wrote:
Fun fact. You actually dont need to move closer for a HI

Heroic Intervention

After the enemy has completed all of their charge moves, any of your CHARACTERS that are within 3" of an enemy unit may perform a Heroic Intervention. Any that do so can move up to 3", so long as they end the move closer to the nearest enemy model.

note in the bold it says you CAN move up to, not MUST

just note that some thing work on a HI (Khorne daemons, Blood angels, apparently new necrons trait, Tau Warlord trait (Farsight says infinte re roll hits))


I don't see your point here. If you Character is >1" away it cannot fight. If you HI but don't move closer you don't get to fight. What advantage are you outlining above? I can't see it. Are you claiming Characters already within 1" can HI? They're already involve in Fighting, so not much Intervening going on... can you explain?

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Some abilities trigger on heroic intervention aswell as charging I think is his point so it's worth doing to trigger the ability even if you never move the model. Its just a way to trigger the ability.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Ice_can wrote:
Some abilities trigger on heroic intervention aswell as charging I think is his point so it's worth doing to trigger the ability even if you never move the model. Its just a way to trigger the ability.


Gotcha, thanks.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: