| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/03/18 23:03:11
Subject: Orks leaked strategem "combine units"
|
 |
Malicious Mutant Scum
|
So, I was playing a game against orks using some apparent leaked rules, one of which was a strategem allowing two units of boys to be combined as long as they are within 2".
The situation came up where he had 1 unit in combat, withdrew then combined with another, larger unit then charged because the larger unit was not in combat.
I realise as these rules are "leaked" and not from the official codex then a pitch of salt should be applied but what say you?
I'm no expert on orks and it was just a friendly game but curious on what others think.
|
4000
2000 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/03/18 23:09:08
Subject: Orks leaked strategem "combine units"
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
I think that's impossible to rule without seeing the wording of the rule I'm afraid.
Balance wise, it probably shouldn't be allowed I guess?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/03/18 23:16:19
Subject: Orks leaked strategem "combine units"
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
grr wrote:So, I was playing a game against orks using some apparent leaked rules, one of which was a strategem allowing two units of boys to be combined as long as they are within 2". The situation came up where he had 1 unit in combat, withdrew then combined with another, larger unit then charged because the larger unit was not in combat. I realise as these rules are "leaked" and not from the official codex then a pitch of salt should be applied but what say you? I'm no expert on orks and it was just a friendly game but curious on what others think.
Your opponent was telling porkies, to use an English Idiom. "Mob Up" is a stratagem found in Chapter Approved. It's not a leaked anything. As for what he did, the rules simply don't cover whether restrictions (such as being unable to charge after Falling back) or modifiers or anything of that sort carry over to merged squads or not. We need a Word of God FAQ. This also applies to the Astra Copywritum stratagem 'Consolidate Squads' that does the same.
|
|
This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2018/03/18 23:18:31
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/03/19 00:01:13
Subject: Orks leaked strategem "combine units"
|
 |
Malicious Mutant Scum
|
BaconCatBug wrote:grr wrote:So, I was playing a game against orks using some apparent leaked rules, one of which was a strategem allowing two units of boys to be combined as long as they are within 2".
The situation came up where he had 1 unit in combat, withdrew then combined with another, larger unit then charged because the larger unit was not in combat.
I realise as these rules are "leaked" and not from the official codex then a pitch of salt should be applied but what say you?
I'm no expert on orks and it was just a friendly game but curious on what others think.
Your opponent was telling porkies, to use an English Idiom.
"Mob Up" is a stratagem found in Chapter Approved. It's not a leaked anything.
As for what he did, the rules simply don't cover whether restrictions (such as being unable to charge after Falling back) or modifiers or anything of that sort carry over to merged squads or not. We need a Word of God FAQ. This also applies to the Astra Copywritum stratagem 'Consolidate Squads' that does the same.
Yeah just found it, the wording says they "merge" and "count as a single unit for all rules purposes". To me that would imply that all positive and negative rules would apply (more than 20 =+1A, fell back from combat =can't charge) . It was just a friendly and in this instance never made a difference but I don't like setting a precedent.
|
4000
2000 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/03/19 08:51:29
Subject: Orks leaked strategem "combine units"
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
That is how I would play it. If some models fell back, then the new unit fell back, etc.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/03/19 10:30:25
Subject: Orks leaked strategem "combine units"
|
 |
Waaagh! Ork Warboss
Italy
|
To quote the book the rule says: "Use this stratagem at the end of your movement phase. Select two ORK INFANTRY units from your army that are within 2'' of each other that have the same datasheet (e.g. chose two boyz units, or two stormboyz units). If one of the units has 10 or more models and other has 10 or fewer, the two units merge and, for the rest of the battle, they are counted as a single unit for all rules purposes.
The problem with merging a unit that is locked in combat with another one that is not is to consider the new unit locked or not. He may not even have to charge with his bigger unit merged to the smaller one in a scenario like that.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/03/19 10:42:28
Subject: Orks leaked strategem "combine units"
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
That one seems much simpler than the OP's question to be honest. If the new unit has a model within 1" of an enemy, then the new unit is locked in combat. No two ways about that. They won't need to charge, but they won't get the benefit of charging (fighting first) either.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|