Switch Theme:

Using warlord traits from within vehicles  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Leo_the_Rat wrote:
The key is "unit specific". The ability to grab CPs is not unit specific it just affects a generic part of the game.

I disagree, it your warlord is an adeptus astartes character you can pick thier warlord trait. Its model specific, otherwise you could keep using the warlord trait after the warlord has been slain.

However specific overrides general, and the transport rule is generic and the warlord trait is model specific.

Adept of the Codex (ultramarine warlord trait), Marine captains do not have grand strategist as a warlord trait, hence the wording of grand stratigiest is not relevant.

Whilst your warlord is alive, roll a dice each time you spend a Command Point to use a stratagem; on a 5+ that CP is immediately refunded.

He is alive while within the transport so the trait still works, his reroll to hit aura doesn't though.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Brilliant Stratagist, however, does not state "while the warlord is alive" It gives no indication that it overrides the transport rule. Also, I agree with BCB that Brilliant Strategist can be read both ways; since the transport rules still apply reading it that the 'while the warlord is on the battlefield" applies to the "in addition" part merely buttresses the transport rule for it not being able to be used while the warlord is in a transport.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Hankster_de wrote:
In our game yesterday it happened that a SM captain rode in a rhino and was using his "Brillant strategist" warlord trait to regain his CP.

The OP says its a marine captain warlord, so its a marine warlord trait, the only earlord trait it can be is the exact wording above.
I don't understand why this turned into a discussion of a guard warlord trait wording?

But as it has, Grand strategist can not be used as its worded as when you warlord is on the battlefield, in a transport isn't on the battlefield.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 JohnnyHell wrote:
That's not wording of any rule though, that's my sum-up. As quoted in the post above mine "Embarked units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any way whilst they are embarked." Unless a rule says it works while embarked this seems a blanket "nuh-uh".


The Warlord is not doing anything (or taking any kind of action), and the Warlord is not being affected whilst they are embarked.

Therefore since the army is battle forged you roll a 5+ when you use a stratagem and you then gain a command point.
Ice_can wrote:
Hankster_de wrote:
In our game yesterday it happened that a SM captain rode in a rhino and was using his "Brillant strategist" warlord trait to regain his CP.

The OP says its a marine captain warlord, so its a marine warlord trait, the only earlord trait it can be is the exact wording above.
I don't understand why this turned into a discussion of a guard warlord trait wording?

But as it has, Grand strategist can not be used as its worded as when you warlord is on the battlefield, in a transport isn't on the battlefield.


The OP said
Hankster_de wrote:
...a SM captain rode in a rhino and was using his "Brillant strategist" warlord trait to regain his CP. ...

He mentions something called "Brillant strategist" which I assume he means Brilliant Strategist which is a Dark Angels Warlord trait Nothing in the SM book comes close to that wording so I am going to assume he meant the Dark Angel trait which specifically states that if your army is Battle-Forged you can roll a die every time you use a stratagem and gain a CP on a certain number or higher. RAW the Warlord does not need to be on the table for you to utilize the last part of Brilliant Strategist

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/03/23 16:29:21


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 DeathReaper wrote:
 JohnnyHell wrote:
That's not wording of any rule though, that's my sum-up. As quoted in the post above mine "Embarked units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any way whilst they are embarked." Unless a rule says it works while embarked this seems a blanket "nuh-uh".


The Warlord is not doing anything (or taking any kind of action), and the Warlord is not being affected whilst they are embarked.



The warlord doesn't have to do anything for his aura ability either. While embarked he can't use it. Same applies for his warlord trait.
   
Made in us
Norn Queen






Leo_the_Rat wrote:
The key is "unit specific". The ability to grab CPs is not unit specific it just affects a generic part of the game.


As above. "Unit Specific" isn't actually in any of the rules. The unit basically doesn't exist as far as the rules go unless specifically stated otherwise.


These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 p5freak wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 JohnnyHell wrote:
That's not wording of any rule though, that's my sum-up. As quoted in the post above mine "Embarked units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any way whilst they are embarked." Unless a rule says it works while embarked this seems a blanket "nuh-uh".


The Warlord is not doing anything (or taking any kind of action), and the Warlord is not being affected whilst they are embarked.



The warlord doesn't have to do anything for his aura ability either. While embarked he can't use it. Same applies for his warlord trait.


With an aura, you have to measure to him to see if you are in range, so your statement is false.

He is not using the warlord trait.

It is just a rule that is in play if your army is battle-forged and you have a warlord with that trait.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/03/23 20:04:24


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Nope I copied the marine trait from the codex at the top of the page, he only has to be alive not on the battlefield.
Later codex's have different rules.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: